We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbearably hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Standard Travelodge rooms but impossibly hot (in September). There is a punch-machine to register your car number plate so you don't get charged parking, it barely works and no-one is willing to help. Service without a smile. One night was plenty.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces away from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge St Austell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room Rachel H, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis. We expect our staff to provide high levels of service at all times and we will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the feedback you have left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

I would most certainly NOT recommend this Travelodge to anyone! We arrived back at our room on the Saturday evening after a full day out to find the door had been left open by the cleaning staff! When my husband tried to make a complaint to a manager he was told that no manager was available to speak to until the Tuesday the day after we checked out! This was confirmed when my husband enquired about seeing a manager when we checked out on the Monday morning. On top of this the close proximity and popularity of a KFC and McDonalds lead there being no parking spaces until later in the evening on two nights of our stay. Then when we finally tried to get some sleep the heat in the rooms meant we had have the window open. The presence of these two food outlets became a meeting place for the local youngsters with the generation of revving engines, wheelspins, horn blowing etc, etc, late into the night..

Room Tip: With a busy road on one side and the food outlets on the other I don't think there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge St Austell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Travelodge JRBristol. We do expect our housekeeping team to be diligent and to ensure doors are fully closed. Your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care and attention to detail. We are also sorry to learn your found your room to be too warm, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel as part of our brand standard however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Was rather concerned about staying here after reading previous reviews about the rooms being too hot. Luckily, the weather had cooled down by the time we stayed at the beginning of September. However, I was pleased that there was a fan in the room, which needed to be on all the time we were in occupation. I hope they get this heat problem sorted soon, as the rooms are fine. The bed was very comfy and by the look of it, recently renewed. They just need to replace the rather worn and well used sofa beds now.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawyers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the 7th October. We arrived and entered the room they had a small electric fan in the room going flat out and the window open. On the bed they had a heavy Doona . Sleeping at night was very difficult as it was just too hot. I don't think that I would recommend any one staying here especially in summer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elainetucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have again stayed at this Hotel for the third time. It is very Central for many visits to the seaside. Handy for the Eden project, at weekends you will find an excellent Cornish Market not far away. The area itself offers something for everyone. All the staff at this Hotel are first class in trying to make your visit a special one. The rooms are spotless and have now been refurbished to a very high standard. Breakfast is a help yourself and this can set you up for the day. Evening meals give you a large variety. In fact without hesitation I would recommend a stay at this Hotel to anyone. First class.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but it depends which floors from three that you want to stay on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birminghambilluk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 3 night and on the whole the rooms where OK. They were clean but the heat that greeted us as we entered was unbearable. A fan was blowing away at full pelt but not making much difference. Tried opening windows but these only allowed a small opening so not much good. Airconditioning would have helped but not Travelodge policy!!. Breakfast was good. TV did not receive subtitles so were no good for the deaf. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaBee145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights. Overall we were satisfied with the accommodation. Rooms were generally clean, yes the room was a bit warm and when opening window you noticed some traffic noise, same with any type of this accommodation as usually all roadside. Room had TV and kettle etc and all fine, plenty of hot water for shower or bath.
Did not have breakfast as price tag was in our opinion excessive.
location of Travelodge was quite central to Cornwall with a number of key attractions close by. Staff in general pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnhalifax20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#3 of 9 in St Austell
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
572 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
263 reviews
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Bodmin Roche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge St Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL25 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range: £34 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge St Austell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge St Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St Austell
Travel Lodge St Austell
Travelodge St Austell Hotel Cornwall
St Austell Travelodge
St Austell Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing