We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Austell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“St Austell”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Having just returned from a 2night stay in mid-Feb 2014, we could not fault the staff at this Travelodge. They were very helpful from start to finish. Didn't use their café, so can't comment. The room was very clean and our mid-week stay was very quiet. However, our main problems were: the bathwater. It was dark yellow. Basin and loo were crystal clear. Staff said it was an on-going problem(!!) and that plumber was looking at all rooms that day. Told that night that problem was fixed. Sadly not. Water colour the same. Did not use bath for rest of stay. Other main problem, was that beds were like Japanese sleeping blocks. Exceptionally hard. Asked for extra duvet to sleep on to soften mattress. Made no difference. Staff said mattresses were very new and hadn't been broken in. Shouldn't have to wait for mattresses to be broken in before being reasonably comfortable. Just need quality mattresses. Looked at local Premier Inn on way home. Checked their water and beds. Clear water and mattresses with built-in toppers (just like the ones you would buy for your own home). Sorry Travelodge but will be trying the Inn next time. Am giving the room a high cleanliness rating based on the overall cleanliness of the room - NOT based on the suspect plumbing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    158
    131
    87
    69
See reviews for
233
222
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently took advantage of a £39.00 half-term deal for a family room for a couple of days away with kids who wanted to return to the Eden Project with the annual passes you get once you've paid to enter - now that's something else that's good value!!

Keeping it short - there was only a double bed in our family room. The poor guy on reception was left for the evening being informed everything was sorted and the day staff had not made the rooms up. He said he would sort it out if we gave him 10-15 mins... 15 mins passed so we said we'll pop over to McDonalds to grab a quick bite to eat. When we returned it still wasn't sorted and we were asked to move rooms, not the most joyous of tasks with a very tired family!
The room we were moved to was extraordinarliy hot so we left the window open, there is a heater but no AC.
For a recently refurbished hotel I felt a little let down, the TVs in each room were well past their time and the hotel looked well used, but was presentable.
We chose not to eat there for our evening meal but the breakfast was excellent! Everyone was well filled!!

I'm sure the bedroom issues were a one off, but when you book a family room for 2+2 you expect for beds!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank JonfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for a few nights at the St Austell Travelodge. The room was clean and had a king size bed. The bath was not full size, we were in a family room. Please note Travelodge only provide 1 bar of soap, so make sure you bring your own shampoo and shower gel. The room was very warm, open the window and the sea gulls are very loud!

The Travelodge is part of a small retail park, with a KFC, a Costa Coffee and a McDonalds. So if you don't want to eat in the Travelodge you can eat elsewhere. There is a Wetherspoons 10 minute walk away, well hidden though!

If you need petrol or snacks there is a large Asda not far away, drive towards Charlestown and it is next to Homebase.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vfrphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A lovely place for a night. Clean and comfy. Usually go to a premier inn but this was more than adequate.
Staff are a real credit to the company, friendly welcoming and helpful. Would stay here any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janbags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had to go to Cornwall for a funeral,so we were looking for something cheap for a couple of nights only.We travel to Cornwall a lot and this is the first time we have stayed here.I have to say we were not disappointed.The location was great for where we were going,the room clean and the reception staff friendly.The only 2 bug bearers were we only had 1 hand and bath towel this wouldn't normally be a problem but it rained every day we were there,I didn't want to have to pay any extra so we didn't complain thought there were not any more added by the maid.We had some food to take to our room which I thought a tad expensive for what it was.On the whole the room was lovely and big and clean,will stay there again on short visits

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We decided on a last minute getaway to visit family who had recently moved to St Austell. The hotel was clean and modern and the room nicely presented. It was within easy reach of our family and St Austell town and had amenities close by - cant fault it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Good price for the location! It's about a ten minute walk to the town and it's near food restaurants and a supermarket. What was not so good was the heat in the room! We stayed in a family room on the second floor and spent the entire time with the window open sweating! Also if we didn't use the water from the bath frequently it would when we turned it on run brown as would the sink! Also we had to keep going down to reception to get items such as complimentary soap, tea and coffee and towels as when they cleaned our room they failed to restock!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge St Austell Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are sorry to learn you were unhappy with the temperatures in your room Teresa L, we do hope our guests have a comfortable night sleep with us and can confirm we do provide fans at reception on a first come first serve basis. We would also expect our housekeeping staff to fully service your room and replenish all essentials so it is regrettable to learn this did not happen. We are quite concerned to learn of the problems you had with the water in the bath and sink and we would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge St Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Property: Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL25 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge St Austell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge St Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St Austell
Travel Lodge St Austell
Travelodge St Austell Hotel Cornwall
St Austell Travel Lodge
St Austell Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing