We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is excellent value and well located for nearby amenities. Town centre just a 5 min walk and there are plenty of shops right by the hotel. Great location for visiting other areas of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

went for Easter weekend break lovely and clean hotel and the team certainly make you feel welcome Hannah on reception was excellent very bubbly and was very experienced would definatley go back well done

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank mikey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were a bit intimidated at first by the ultra-hard mattresses but all 3 of us slept well over 2 nights, so they can't have been a problem. The room was way too warm on the first night but much better on the second. The staff were all excellent & I make special reference to the blonde-haired lady on reception, who was the person we saw the most. The "all-you-can-eat" breakfast was superb value & the food very good. The car park was a bit of a dump, with detritus from the nearby fast food outlets floating around & some broken bottle glass, but I realise this isn't caused by the Travelodge. All round, a most pleasant place to be based as we travelled around the area. We would definitely stay here again - but please, Travelodge, go easy on the temperatures in the rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor & I think this helped to keep the room temperature down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel with friend and children. Very helpful. Check in easy great reception staff. They were very helpful Location great 10 min walk to train station. Very clean and tidy
Lovely clean windows which I do like!!
Would stay again at this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kailan1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for one night in April and had an average stay. The room was clean as was the hotel however the same could not be said for the carpark which was strewnwith litter.Our room was next to the staircase so we were disturbed with the sound of other guests trudging up and down the stairs which was a shame. We had not realised that this hotel was close to a MacDonalds and KFC. This could be advantageous but we foundit noisy and a disadvantage. The room was unbearably hot ( even my wife who is always cold felt uncomfortably hot) .Our only other gripe was the very poor breakfast. We previously have stayed in Premier Inn who provide an excellent breakfast and sadly this one did not compare. Such a shame as it has put us off staying at a Travelodge again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge St Austell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

It is regrettable to learn you did not have a great stay at our St Austell hotel Paul C. As well as our rooms we do expect all public areas around and outside of the hotel to be in an acceptable condition. We are sorry to learn you were unhappy with the temperatures in your room, we do want our guests to have a comfortable stay and we can confirm that we do provide a number of fans at reception should you need them. Our Bar Café staff are trained on preparing our food to great standards so it is regrettable to learn you found the standards of food to be poor. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they are able to look into the improvements which are needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After staying last year in the worse Travelodge ever ( Gateshead) I was asked to give the hotel chain another chance. Needing last minute overnight accommodation decided to try the one in Pentewan Road, St Austell. Looking on their website it stated the hotel had been recently refurbished, the family room seemed to meet our needs and at least looked clean and had a chair to sit down on. Booked on line ( very easy ) and printed off my reservation showing good sized family room with two beds and comfortable seat.
All good........ Arrived at hotel, and had difficulty finding somewhere to park due to KFC, McDonalds and Costa sharing the carpark . Hotel itself was very clean and the staff friendly and welcoming, asked if we needed breakfast and given the keys to our room, 212. Lift was working so told helpful staff we could manage our luggage. Found room very easily, keycard worked, opened door to find we had the normal very basic double room. Back to reception to ask to be moved to the family room we had booked only to be told the room shown on the website and the room on our booking reservation does not actually exist !!!!! So we were left with the bog standard double room with one very hard plastic chair and a room temperature that was unbearable even with the window open and the fan on and no internet connection. Finally fell asleep around 2 am (heat and noise ) only to be awoken by the fire alarm going off an hour later !!! When we returned to our room a little after 4am we decided we might as well pack and go, we packed and went........ I'm sorry Travelodge, I understand you are a budget chain BUT how much would it cost to bring back the soft chair, to have a bath sheet and hand towel each instead of having to share and surely internet connection in this day and age is an absolute basic need. Premier Inn here we come........

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papasmurf60170351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Brilliant value, clean and crisp room and fittings - stayed three nights and we were very impressed. The breakfast was good and had enough variety for our two children's demands! Reception were very friendly and had good ideas for places to visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 5looby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 9 in St Austell
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Bodmin Roche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
527 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge St Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL25 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range: £36 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge St Austell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge St Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St Austell
Travel Lodge St Austell
Travelodge St Austell Hotel Cornwall
St Austell Travel Lodge
St Austell Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing