We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant room/staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant room/staff”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Central location to visit Cornwall attractions, Eden Project, Polperro etc. Nice clean rooms, pleasant staff, evening meal/drinks available but did not try. Had breakfast there, quality not the best but adequate. Rooms were very, very hot but they did have a fan, thankfully or would not have been able to sleep. Rooms nice and quiet, right next to a Costa Coffee, KFC and McDonalds, handy if you have kids in your party.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bev703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    155
    130
    84
    67
See reviews for
227
221
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location. The rooms are a good size, clean and well maintained and the bed is comfortable. However, it is like an oven in the room. It is so unbearably hot that the window has to be constantly open which, in itself, causes problems. We barely slept due to a noisy main road and deliveries being made at 4.00 am to KFC and McDonalds. None of this would be a problem if the room was cool and you could have the window shut, as you could not hear any noise when the window was closed, the Catch 22 was that you could not close the window because the room was boiling hot, stuffy and airless with it closed, it wasn't much better with it open. This is a shame because if the room had been cool it would have been excellent. We have often stayed at Travelodges and never encountered this problem before. The staff were lovely and very helpful, particularly Hannah, but they are in a difficult position as they have to deal with these problems (which they do with great humour and grace), but Travelodge need to sort out this problem, for both the clients and staff's sake. We left a day early to get a cool, quiet nights sleep!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Juliec44Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my first travelodge experience and it was a pleasant one. The hotel is located in a central and urban setting which suited our purpose on this trip. The hotel is recently refurbished and it showed. The room was a decent size, quiet, very clean, with an extremely comfortable bed with quality sheets and a power shower. The staff were smart, friendly and helpful. The bar/ lounge/ dining area is not luxurious but is a comfortable size and, in fact, we spent a couple of hours there with our friends. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This travelodge had good communications. There were a few things as far as access that could have been a little better. On the inside of the hotel there is a disabled punch button, the hotel could also do with one of these on the outside as getting back into the hotel was a little more tricky. In retrospect I should have asked for a room with a shower when I phoned to check the disabled access. I had very swollen feet one evening after I had a very busy day, the bar staff allowed me a bag of ice to help bring the swelling down, which was most appreciated. I would use this travelodge again.

Room Tip: If you have a wheelchair ask for a shower rather than a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the February half term. We wanted a base with free parking so we could visit other areas of Cornwall during the day. Our room and ensuite were large and clean. There is a bar/restaurant here which is really handy. We had the breakfast buffet deal which worked out well for us; free child breakfast with each paying adult. This gave us a good start to the day, and there was plenty of choice including the usual English breakfast. The location is excellent, and a short walk into St Austell itself. You can pick up some great deals on Travelodges which means a stay for a family of 4 doesn't break the bank. I would be very happy to stay here again, and recommend it for their family rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights, good location for Eden and Heligan.
The room was clean and the staff very helpful and welcoming.
The breakfast was good value, we had no complaints at all, always plenty of choice with nice coffee.
I would definitely dtay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Decent price for the night and the location excellent.
Room spacious but too much empty floor space - no sofa to sit on and only one chair !!
Room very warm at night even though the fan provided was on full blast.
TV good & WiFi provided

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge St Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Property: Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL25 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge St Austell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge St Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St Austell
Travel Lodge St Austell
Travelodge St Austell Hotel Cornwall
St Austell Travel Lodge
St Austell Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing