We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
swindon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

very helpful staff, good choice of food which was very hot, would stay there again. very good value for money you know what you are getting. Near to shops and beach ideal stop over . lovely comfortable beds

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swindon2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    152
    130
    82
    66
See reviews for
224
216
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

After two nights of no sleep in what I can only describe as a sauna and on our second visit to reception to complain we were refunded our stay & could not wait to leave. When we raised our issues the first time we were told that the problem was on the web site but try as I might I can find nothing to warn customers of what to expect. We were also told that the air conditioning units in the corridor were only allowed to be there during the day for health & safety reasons but this seems a pointless waste of money that could be spent sorting out what is clearly a serious design problem. My advice to anyone thinking of staying here before winter is well established would Don't Do It!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Austell hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Now I'll start by saying that I wasn't expecting 5 star standards from a budget hotel but sadly what could've been a good budget hotel was let down on a few points. Positives first though...

1. Good parking right outside which even on arriving back very late ws in plentiful supply
2. The room was a reasonable size and we had a double plust two 'camp' beds in it which while reducing floor space did not make it overly cramped
3. Good quality shower and nicely fitted out bathroom
4. Good supply of complimentary coffee in the room
5. The main bed was very comfortable
6. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming and couldn't be faulted. Top marks for them.
7. Food (very limited) is available 24/7 although a number of selections were sold out when we tried it.

The disappiontments
a. The biggest down side was the fact that the hotel was like a sauna! No heating was on and yet the corridor and room were both like a furnace which was immediately noticeable and which a number of people complained about.
b. The 'camp' beds were rock hard and not very comfortable at all.
c. While generally the cleaning was of a high standard there was a slug trail across the bedroom chair!
d. Very cheap sausage at breakfast which just tasted of old fat, the bacon is clearly cooked en masse from a catering size pack and possible microwaved or oven cooked so came across more steamed than grilled or fried! There is a good selection of cereal and some citrus fruits as well as yoghurt a toast machine and fresh fruit though which was a far better selection than I expected.

The location is pretty good and the hotel is easy to find. There is a Costa coffee downstairs and a McDonalds and KFC on the same site although none of these seemed to generate much noise.

Would I use it again, probably for if the above are corrected then this would be above average for the budget hotel category and possibly excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was the first time we have stayed in a Travelodge - but it won't be the last - the value for money is exceptional. The room and bathroom were both a good size - the bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. As previous reviewers have said, however, the room was very warm, even with the fan on all night and this is the only reason I have not given 5 stars.
We found all the staff very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. The buffet breakfast is fine - choice of fruit juice, cereals, yoghurts, bacon, scrambled eggs etc. and an excellent coffee choice from the machine.
The hotel is located 5 minutes walk - uphill- to the town centre where there are several places to eat and also a good pedestrianized shopping centre, but there is a KFC and a Macdonalds on site, as well as a Costa.
As a base to visit the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan, plus other Cornish resorts
this is a good choice - but be aware that this is not a beach holiday place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here as Premier Inn (which we favour) room was too high for an overnite stay. However, the bed was hard, and broken... it creaked when anyone breathed... my partner discovered that there was a crack underneath and tried to support it by wedging a pillow and towel underneath. There was no air conditioning and it was a humid night, so with the window open we endured traffic noise most of the night as it is a busy bypass. Otherwise it was clean and cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank CornwallDancer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn, it was central for our needs ie St. Austell, Eden, Mevagissy Charlestown et al! The hotel was warm, comfortable and welcoming, and the staff were nice, friendly helpful. It was a short drive to city centre which provided all the amenities you need, and had McD & Kentucky FCC & Costa on its door step. Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Philipco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Staff very helpful and friendly, you can check your vehicle reg. automatically in reception and thus no car parking charge. Room was very hot but a fan had been provided. Food was hot, unlike breakfast at Paigton. we were booked in for a stay on the way back and asked for a room out of the sunThis was provided and an explanation was given of what was being done to make the rooms more comfortable. The manager was exceptionally helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as much cooler there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge St Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Property: Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL25 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge St Austell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge St Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St Austell
Travel Lodge St Austell
Travelodge St Austell Hotel Cornwall
St Austell Travel Lodge
St Austell Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing