We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbearably hot and impossible to sleep ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked a family room for Sat 26 July for myself, husband and two small children. It was a hot day that day, but not exceptionally so. When we checked in, the man on duty warned us that they were having "problems" with the heat in the hotel and that industrial fan units were located in the corridors (which had to be turned off at night due to their noise) and we would find a couple of electric desk fans in our room. I can only describe the heat as stifling in the room that night. We all slept on top of our beds and wheeled in one of the industrial fan units from the corridor in an attempt to cool the room, but the noise and smell from the unit meant that we had to turn it off after a time. My husband who slept very little that night even considered sleeping in a luke warm bath in an attempt to cool his body temperature down.

We had a full on day the next day at the Eden project, followed by a drive to Exeter and it was a struggle with two small children after little sleep the night before.

I think Travelodge need to clearly state on their website that the hotel is not air conditioned. Unfortunately a restful night was not had at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Froth1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great value for money, spotlessly clean - the housekeeping is of a very high standard - and pleasant, attentive staff. Breakfast plentiful and of good quality, great coffee too. Room very warm, the fan provided by reception was in constant use! I found only three power outlets inadequate for our family of three but we worked around that. We would stay again and would recommend Travelodge as affordable, good quality accommodation for any family on a budget. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank meimido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you want to have a sleepless night, sweat all night then this is the right place. Better still you might be lucky to get one of those cheap noisy fans to test how patience you are. Avoid this place at all cost, we went as a family of 4 and this place manage to ruin our weekend. The kids hardly add any sleep as they kept complaining how hot it was.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nrupino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel has no air conditioning and is obviously not considered important for the comfort of their guests. We stayed on the 3rd floor and as everyone knows, heat rises!. The room was provided with a portable fan which was operating when we arrived in the middle of the day. Sleep was impossible due to the heat, despite placing a case against the entrance door to keep it open in a vain effort to create a through draft to disperse the heat. On complaining we were moved the following day to a lower floor which was slightly better although we still had the fan operating. No more Travelodge for us!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Have stayed here many times before and been very happy with rooms and staff. Beds are king sized and really comfortable. This time however the inadequacies were plain to see. We stayed in room 313 on the top floor and first sight of industrial air conditioning units in the corridor didn't bode well. Room was unbearably hot and windows can only be opened about 2" so no air that way even if you ignore the road noise. Most guests on that floor wedged room doors open with chairs to get a bit of air circulating. Electric fans in the room helped fractionally but still spent 2 very uncomfortable nights.

Breakfast is normally OK but, particularly the second day, was woeful. Guests were queuing for 10 mins to be seated and orange juice and yoghurts had run out with no more expected until later that day. Wish now we hadn't prebooked and had gone down the road to Asda for breakfast.

Staff are normally very friendly and welcoming but when we checked out and pointed out that the temperature was too high and that breakfast items weren't available the response was to point to a sign on the bar which says not all items are guaranteed to be available at all items. This suggests a corporate wide business culture of managing for failure.

We may possibly return in the autumn as it's conveniently situated for visiting family in the area and reasonably priced but will avoid it at any cost during the summer holidays

Room Tip: Try to avoid a top floor room if the weather is hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annedee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Be warned this hotel is hot - the temperature outside was 26 degrees (hot but not exactly tropical!), the temperature in my room was 32 degrees. It was unbearable.

There were industrial sized air coolers in the hallway but they just seemed to move the hot air around.

On the plus side the hotel staff were excellent and despite the appalling conditions they were working in (sweaty and hot) they managed a smile and a really professional service.

I only had one meal while I was there which was average (at best).

So, if you want somewhere cheap to stay during the cooler months then go for it, if you are staying over the summer months then pay a bit extra and find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kachariw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for just one night, as we were going to a concert at the Eden Project. It does exactly what it says on the tin, providing reasonable, clean accommodation at a good price, especially if booked early. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel has been given a makeover since our last visit a couple of years ago and the king size bed provided a good nights sleep. It is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of town and there are only fast food outlets on the small estate on which it is situated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 446MikeE446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#3 of 9 in St Austell
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Bodmin Roche Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge St Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL25 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range: £28 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge St Austell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge St Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St Austell
Travel Lodge St Austell
Travelodge St Austell Hotel Cornwall
St Austell Travel Lodge
St Austell Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing