We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent service. All staff were very polite and helpful. The room was well ventilated, and very clean. It had enough facilities, such as mugs, towels, pillows and bed space, for the family it was booked for.

I would recommend this Travelodge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 67Peter59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    158
    132
    87
    69
See reviews for
233
223
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is your normal travelodge apart from the heat , if this building was on the surface of the sun the rooms and hallways wouldn't be any cooler . We went during the cooler months and we still needed 3 fans and had to sleep above the bed covers as it was that hot .
When we asked why it was so hot we got told it was down to the design of the building .
This would be a 1 star review but for the staff who were friendly and very helpful .
All i can say is to travelodge please sirt this building out before someone becomes seriously ill due to the heat .

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Austell hotels

UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business. The food was microwaved not 'stone cooked' as it stated on the menu. The hotel was unbelievably hot, it seems the hotel are more than aware of it as they apologised before I had even checked in! The bed had springs poking into my back and was not comfortable. My university halls accommodation was better!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Oliwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We used this 'lodge for a one night stay and as it had been refurbished it was as good as they come.

Reception was excellent, and at the time the weather was hot, and the corridors had temporary a/c in place and the rooms had small fans for our use. This just about saved the day, but it would be pushing it to say it was comfortable in terms of the heat.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is north facing during the summer if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived to a very friendly greeting from the hotel staff which continued the duration of our stay. However, the newly 'refurbished ' rooms had new rock hard pull out beds which gave me back pain every morning of our stay. Also the breakfast is all dotted around the room as after making your tea you have to walk around to the bar to get some milk! The heat was at some points simply unbearable so opening the windows was essential though the night you continuously heard noise whether it be seagulls or cars. Nice staff but MORE LIKE A MOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We checked in 24/07/2014 and checked back out by 10pm the same day. The rooms are way too hot! It was unbearable. we were refunded for the room and managed to book in to the best western in St Austell, which was a lot cooler and very nice The price was a little more but well worth as it included a lovely cooked breakfast and outdoor pool,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We used this hotel as a base to spend a day at the Eden Project, staying 2 nights (2 adults and one child). The service was great, but we were unlucky to be there in some of the hottest days in summer and even with the 2 fans in the room and the industrial fans in the hallway during the day it was hot. Air conditioning was non existent in the rooms, although great in the reception/bar area. There was also no extractor fan in the bathroom, making the humidity in the room worse and the windows would only open a few inches. It was hard to sleep.

One morning the fire alarm went off, we started out of the room (luckily we were dressed but other people coming out of their rooms weren't) but it stopped... if it was a regular test we were not told, there was no explanation, no staff coming up to reassure us. That should have been handled better. Once the lift told me it was out of service. It was 4 flights to our room on the top floor... I am mid physio treatment for knee problems, my mother had her second knee replaced in the last year, that would have been tough getting up and down the stairs, but by the time I climbed 1 flight and pressed the button again it was working... it probably needs more regular servicing.

Not a fan of KFC or McDonalds, it was a 5-10 minute walk up the hill into town (across very busy roads with no zebra crossings or lights) to Frankie and Benny's, where we enjoyed a meal on the first night. (Note: there is also a Prezzo's and cinema in the same shopping complex but everything else there was closed even by 7pm). We ate in the hotel the second night, but I was not impressed: the nachos used standard bottled guacamole and sour cream, I make much better at home. I'd give dinner a miss in future. We didn't have breakfast there, but I am told it is nice and good value (even better value with children as they are free).

Overall an average experience but good value considering we were travelling in school holidays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
475 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge St Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge St Austell Hotel

Property: Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL25 5BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge St Austell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge St Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St Austell
Travel Lodge St Austell
Travelodge St Austell Hotel Cornwall
St Austell Travel Lodge
St Austell Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing