We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porth Avallen Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful - offering us a free upgrade, giving us door to door instructions for how to get to the Eden Project and showing us a great place immediately across the road from the hotel to photograph the Bay.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, with an excellent cooked breakfast included in the price. Due to its location, it's also very quiet at night.

We would certainly choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: If your budget can stretch to it, go for a room with a Bay view - it's stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mediatwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    81
    44
    39
    24
See reviews for
53
128
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

A pleasant hotel with good views. The Bar and dining rooms have good views of the bay.
The restaurant menu looked good, however I found the meals generally a bit uninspiring. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The room was ok , decor a bit dated from my tastes. The breakfast was okay, but then that summed up my stay, everything was ok .

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Boardiesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We found this hotel via their brown hotel sign from the main road. It is a fairly large building overlooking the sea. The receptionist was friendly and even let me borrow her glasses to fill in the form. Tasty food in the restaurant and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

stunning views from our bedroom friendly staff lovely 3 night stay short walk done coastal path to charlestown well worth trip however dont leave it to late to walk back as it gets dark quick not to far from eden project which is worth a day out

Room Tip: go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

i stayed on 23rd - 26th August. my self with my wife & my elderly parents.
Our rooms was no28 & 29.
The smell of the damp was awfull. the air was stale. I woke up with terrible taste in my mouth.
We Complained but were told it is always damp in Cornwall.
£100.00 a night for this room was vastly overpriced.
I will never return here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nigel859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Austell hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Absolutely stunning location, and just quick walk down through the countryside to a lovely little port and nice pubs. Views incredible.
We were lucky to have a room overlooking these views, however the room was basic. Had everything that was needed but bed uncomfortable and pillows dreadful (I hate flat pancake pillows!!!! And this is what we got).
Breakfast was lovely, good selection and good service

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsamy2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We were in Cornwall, just had a miserable day at The Eden Project and my wife was not happy with the Hotel we were staying at, so she refused to eat there that night. It was a very stormy, cold wet night but we went in search of a restaurant close by. We followed a few signs to various places but they were either booked out or past serving food.
Then we stumbled upon this hotel down a private road overlooking the beautiful Carylon Bay. I ran inside to see if they could feed us and was warmly greeted by the manager, offered a menu as well as a table in the window overlooking the very stormy bay. The waiting staff were fantastic and the food was delicious. The house wine was good and reasonably priced. Fellow diners said they were very pleased with the accommodation, so we rather fancied having another drink and staying. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked so we had to go back to the sub standard place we were already booked into. Will check them first when we are next in the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,559 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
370 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Avallen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Avallen Hotel

Property: Porth Avallen Hotel
Address: 51 Sea Road | Carlyon Bay, St Austell PL25 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Avallen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porth Avallen Hotel is placed ideally to offer unbeatable views of the Cornish South Coast that will leave you breathless. With a warm and sea facing restaurant, a modern and sea facing bar as well as a tranquil garden area (also sea facing) you are offered a veritable feast for the eyes. The fantastic, talented chefs add to this by offering The Reflections Restaurant and Brasserie menus which are appetizing even on the page, with a wide variety of locally sourced dishes for you to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Porth Avallen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Avallen St Austell
Hotel Porth Avallen
Porth Avallen Hotel Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing