We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poltarrow Farm
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The White Hart(St Austell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carlyon Bay(St Austell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
75
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports hallred deerthe cottagesgames roomsconesswimming poolself cateringfishing lakeindoor bowlslovely drivebadminton courtcollecting eggson arrivalb bevery morningthe main housewashing machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had the pleasure of spending two nights at Poltarrow Farm in St Austell while visiting the area to visit nearby Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan.

The welcome we received was warm and genuine, we felt right at home and were treated to some tea and cake in the lounge which was greatly appreciated after a 5 hour drive.

Our room had a spectacular view across the surrounding countryside and was very large, clean and comfortable. The beds were nice and soft (a rare find - most B&B's tend to either have a too hard bed or an old saggy bed) and there was a good selection of pillows.

Breakfast options were great. You could choose from a Full Cornish Breakfast, Free Range Eggs (poached, scrambled or boiled) or Kippers as well as a Continental Breakfast consisting of croissants and thick cut bread with preserves or a selection of cheeses. There's also a decent buffet of cereals (included home made muesli), yoghurt and fruit compote. To top it off we were served with freshly brewed French press coffee.

The free wi-fi doens't really work in the bedrooms or at least it didn't in our room. It was just too far away we had to walk closer to the access point to use the internet. But hey, we weren't here for the internet!

We would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending Paltarrow Farm.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCloudberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We have just returned from a week in Sika at Poltarrow and it was lovely yet again. This time it was just my husband and me and the weather wasn't great but we had a good time. The cottage is perfect, it has everything you need and it is very comfortable (and warm). Judith and her family look after everything so well and leave you a great welcoming basket of goodies. The cottages are well placed close to lots of attractions and there is too much to see in one week. The restaurant at the Duchy of Cornwall nursery and the Tea bar at tregothnan were particular highlights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed in Poltarrow farm for five nights. You can choose to stay in the farmhouse for bed & breakfast or in one of the self catering cottages. We had a room in the farmhouse. Our room shared with the other room in our part of the house, a cosy sitting room with a wood fire. We looked forward every day to getting home, and sitting in pleasant chairs, in the comfortable warmth of the fire. Another thing to look forward was the breakfast. This stay was the first ever in Great Brittain that I could eat and enjoy the (full Cornish) breakfast without complaints during the rest of the day. By the way, a lunch was not neccesary.
The hosts were helpful, interested and one of the reasons to come back to Poltarrow farm. We did have a nice, rather large room, with an excelent bed. The bathroom was smallish but we don’t complain.
Poltarrow farm has a wonderful location in order to visit all the Cornwall tourist locations.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

As a family of 5 we have stayed at Poltarrow in the The stag and Roebuck, both lovely, wonderfully well equipped cottages, fantastic facilities (pool & sports hall with pool table, table tennis, badminton, bowls)...so much so that our 17yr old will still come on holiday with us. We have been going to Poltarrow each year for the last 7 years and have recommended it to many friends and family who have been equally thrilled. Judith and Libby make us so very welcome with Cornish cream tea and other goodies. The cottages are clean and luxurious and I can't find anywhere else in the county to match it...which is why we go back each year. Central to so many attractions and fantastic beaches....we would recommend Charlestown (good food at the Rashleigh arms) the beach at Caerhays, The lost gardens of Heligan, St Mawes, Wheel clay museum ....and to ease you into the beginning of what will be a holiday to remember why not order in groceries for the week.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenage boys aged 17 and 14 have just returned from a lovely week staying in the Red Deer Cottage. After a long journey the welcome was very warm. The cottage was very clean and very well equipped. Absolutely everything seemed to have been thought of. Scones, jam, clotted cream, bread, sausage, bacon and eggs eagerly awaited our arrival. A complimentary Sunday newspaper of our choice was ordered. Washing tablets/powder etc already present. Everything very clean and comfortable. There is a small swimming pool on site which was most welcoming. The boys though particularly liked the sports hall with its amenities for football/basketball/badminton/pool/ping-pong and others. The location of the cottages are an excellent base for Mevagissey, Eden Project, St. Mawes. We would highly recommend these cottages to anyone in need of a peaceful retreat in comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank superwhites_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews