We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and lovely breakfast”
Review of Poltarrow Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poltarrow Farm
Reviewed 31 August 2010

For my mini honeymoon we went to Poltarrow Farm for 2 nights so we could explore Cornwall. The rest of the time we were in Devon. Anyway, the positioning of the farm is fabulous, its in a great place and thankfully there is a pizzahut etc nearby just incase you are starving...you're not in the middle of nowhere. We were put in a room next to their actual house and then 5 mins later another family came along and were in the next room to us. The best way to describe it was that we were put into a communal cottage attached to the main house. I had hoped that we wouldnt have a family next to us as the kids were running up and down shouting out loud. The room was pretty and it was 2 single beds pushed togther that were comfortable. The best feature of this place is the swiming pool, which you were almost always alone in and the activity barn. They provide free internet etc which is a good feature. The bed was comfy and the breakfast in the conservatory was really nice. The downsides to this place was that in the 'communal lounge' in our room was incredibly dusty and there were cobwebs all over the place that only a spider the size of a dog could have made...I hope the owner charges them rent!
This place would be fab for kids and I would definitely come back once I have kids that are old enough to enjoy the facilities. I also think it would be nice to rent out one of the cottages with a group of friends and kids.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WirralKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

This was possibly the best holiday we ever had, mostly because of the beautiful accommodation. Eleven of us stayed in two cottages, with three children, who absolutely loved it, and was perfect for the whole family! The swimming pool was fantastic, the games room great fun and the boating lake was simply beautiful! We have stayed there a number of times, in both B&B and self-catering, and we loved the welcoming feel about the whole place. We will definately be going back. As well as the stunning accommodation, there is so much to do around the location, with lovely little towns and lovely beaches, and we found a really great cycle route called the camel trail, which was brilliant for the whole family, as it is good for beginers and serious cyclists alike. We had absolutelt nothing bad to say at all about the lovely place and we will definately be going again! Thankyou so much for a lovely stay, it was the best holiday we could ever wish for!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaylover0096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Have stayed in all the cottages several times over the last ten years with friends and familly and we all love the place as do the visitors we've met there. If you go there like us you'll wonder how "Surrey Sally" could see things so differently!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EkimYrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We have just returned from a new year break at Poltarrow we had 2 cottages (Roebuck and Fallow) there were 12 of us altogether and childrens' ages range from 2-7yrs old. The cottages are fully equipped (even with washing machine and tumble dryer), very clean and comfortable. The weather was freezing and we were all very cosy and warm inside. There were so many nice touches that made such a difference to our visit, on arrival there were homemade mince pies and mulled wine, the fridge already stocked with bacon, sausages, eggs, juice, bread. Washing up liquid, washing powder, clingfilm, foil all provided even some toys for the little ones and games for us! And the floating lanterns for New Year which really made it special. The swimming pool was lovely and warm and although they were full for New Year I never saw anyone else in it. The sports hall is great too equipped with badminton, pool table and garden bowls. There are also come dvds you can take back to the cottages. We have had an excellent time here probably one of our best UK breaks.

The area is very central to a lot of great attractions obviously Eden, but some of the other places we visited were the Dairyland farm great for the kids on a cold rainy day! Mevagissey nice harbour town and lovely restuarants can recommend the Sharksfin and the Wheel house. Charlestown amazing galleon ships in the harbour then Porthpean beach, Falmouth lovely little town nice restuarants then take the ferry to St Mawes. Newquays Fistral beach worth visiting then have a cream tea in the magnificent Headland Hotel!

We have really enjoyed our stay in Cornwall, Poltarrow is an excellent base to explore as there really is so much to do especially with young children. Thanks to Judith and everyone who have really thought about their guest (and their children) needs will definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spidees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Poltarrow is excellently situated for exploring Cornwall, while being quietly secluded itself. Judith couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions and directions for excursions and walks. We were made to feel completely welcome. The room was comfortable and elegant and breakfast plentiful and delicious. Everything seems to have been thought of to make your stay more enjoyable and weatherproof, from plentiful information guides, internet connection, and a fridge for B&B guests, to the pool, sports hall and play room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maisy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Stayed in one of the cottages (Stag) with my wife and three young children. Cottage was very musty in places, with one room being almost too pungent to remain in. Cupboards in kitchen were similar, with sugar going damp within one day. Facilities of pool and sports hall were good, as was the scones / welcome etc on arrival. However, we felt very let down overall by standard of the accommodation which also included curtains you were concerned to brush against and windows that had obviously not been washed for a long time.

Great shame as the website gives such a good impression of the place.

Would definitely not go back again

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurreySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Lovely peaceful place to stay. Host Judith was lovely and welcoming. Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and the breakfast was super with a great choice. Poltarrow is situated near heligan and Eden , also near other attractions. We did not have to travel miles. We will definitly return as we enjoyed our stay so much.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillyk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
3.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,643 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
533 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
3.2 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poltarrow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poltarrow Farm

Address: St Mewan, St Austell PL26 7DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Speciality Lodging in St Austell
Price Range: £93 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poltarrow Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Poltarrow...The Nancarrow family have been welcoming guests to Poltarrow Farm for thirty years and are delighted to invite you to discover it for yourself...Ideally located, tucked away just inland on the south coast, all of Cornwall is easily reached.Choose to stay in the farmhouse for bed & breakfast or in one of the self catering cottages, surrounded by 45 acres of superb countryside, for a taste of country living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Poltarrow Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poltarrow Farm Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing