We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John & Maxine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“John & Maxine”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We only intended to stay one night at Topos, however as the standard and quality and the warm welcome we received were so good, we stayed an extra night. They gave us lots of advice on places to see and eat, and how to get there.
As an unplanned holiday we feel that we discovered a real gem and will definately stop there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    36
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
189
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riding Mill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have just spent 4 days in St. Austell staying at Topos. Right from the start our stay was made more special by our hosts. within minutes of us arriving Greg had given us instructions to the Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Helagon and a detailed map of the immediate area including shopping facilities and restaurants.

The B. & B is extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean throughout. Breakfasts are to die for and you could come home several pounds heavier with Gregs superb breakfast. Linda and Greg are most generous hosts and joined us with other guests to watch Andy Murray play in the final at Wimbledon where her served us with Strawberries and Cream. A really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We´re just returned from St Austell, where we stayed for one week at this wonderful B&B. We went back to Topos for the second time - what a fantastic place we found in Cornwall.
We had a very warm welcome from the hosts Greg and Lynda. Topos is an absolutely fantastic and lovely Guesthouse - very clean and comfortable.
The bedroom was very nice and had one of the most comfortable beds we had ever slept in. Every morning we were greeted with a delicious and fresh home cooked breakfast from our host Greg. Greg was an exceptional host, so helpful and his local knowledge made our stay much more enjoyable.
We would definitely recommend this B&B for its warm welcome and excellent accommodation and will be back.
Thank you Lynda and Greg for a wonderful time we had with you!
The best B&B ever! We can´t rate this place highly enough – it must have 5 Stars and more!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

My friends and I decided to take a trip to Cornwall, so we researched this B&B and all I have to say is WOW! The interior was so expansive it felt like we stayed in a mansion. Every morning we were greeted with a delicious home cooked breakfast from our Host/Chef Greg. The B&B features a grand deck that overlooks the lush countryside. The bathroom is connected to the room and features elegant fixtures and is always clean. The lounge has a large flat screen tv, comfy couches, and large windows featuring breath taking views. There is a fully stocked bar that allows guests to sit back and relax after a great day. Greg was extremely helpful in showing us great places to visit near the B&B, and gave us a personalized map highlighting them. If you don't stay here your missing out!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The accommodation was comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome by Greg and Lynda. Our room was a good size with a "bijou" shower room which was adequate for a short stay. The B&B was like a tardis, looked tiny from the outside frontage but inside the property just went on and on and was furnished in an indivdual style which very much suited the property. Nothing seemed too much trouble for Greg who provided us with a lovely cooked breakfast, lots of information regarding places to visit and where we could get a good meal locally. We were given an invitation to watch the Wimbledon final with Greg and Lynda, even though we would not be staying with them that evening. Very good value for the accommodation offered but the welcome and continued attention throughout our stay was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikkiDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We chose St Austell as a central point to accomplish the programme of visits we wanted to cram in during our 6 day stay as we would predominantly be using the train, buses, as well as a lot of walking to get around. Greg picked us up from the station and within 5 minutes we had arrived at TOPOS. We were impressed with the size of the house and comfort and facilities of our accommodation and Greg's cordial welcome. We were also shown the bar, lounge and outside areas which guests could use, if required, which was a bonus. We outlined our intended itinerary and Greg gave us sound advice on how to achieve it as well as recommending places to eat, such as the White Hart in St Austell and The Harbourside Inn in Charlestown, both of which were first class. Early morning saw the provision of a super breakfast spread with full english cooked to requirements and the scrambled eggs were heavenly. This would easily last us up to lunch time, and of course, wherever we visited there was no shortage of places to have a top up snack. Overall then, we had a great time in Cornwall, visiting all the places we planned to, using TOPOS as our central base. Lastly, we have to mention what great value for money this Guest House provided. Thanks again to Gregg and Lynda.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a short break to St Austell, where we stayed at this wonderful B&B.

We had a very warm welcome from the owners Greg and Lynda.

On arrival, Greg showed us around the fantastic house they have, showing us our lovely double bedroom (larger than many hotels we have stayed in and including tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits) and also showing us the guest bar, lounge and outside areas. The bar, lounge and outside areas are a great space for use by the guests and we enjoyed a drink on the deck on one particularly warm evening. Greg has a barbecue he is happy to fire up for you should you wish. There is an honesty bar should you decide to use it, where Greg just asks that you let him know what you have had so he can make a small charge. There is also a sauna for guests use, but we did not get a chance to use it. Maybe next time.

Greg brought us a cup of tea and a toasted teacake to our room, along with a map he had very helpfully prepared showing the local area and points of interest, restaurants, shops, etc.

We found ourselves visiting places we had not even heard of before (Fowey and Charlestown) on Greg's recommendations and they were all worth the visit. Greg's knowledge of the area was very helpful. Let him know where you are going each day and I am sure he will offer you the best advice on travel, parking, what to see, etc.

The bedroom was very well appointed and had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. There was a lovely, modern en-suite and the whole accommodation was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was lovely, with cereal, full English, toast, yoghurts, tea & coffee and juice. It filled us up until lunch-time.

We would definitely recommend this B&B for its warm welcome and excellent accommodation and will definitely be back when we next return to Cornwall.

Accommodation is about ten minutes walk or a two minute car drive to the centre and was a great central base for all we wanted to see in this area of Cornwall.

Thanks again Greg & Lynda (and two beautiful cats)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOTTSCO_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.2 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 96 in St Austell
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 96 in St Austell
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topos Bed & Breakfast

Property: Topos Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Sparnon Close, St Austell PL25 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topos Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large detached house offering 2 lounges, 2 outside decking areas where you can BBQ. We also offer free Wifi. We are only a 12 minute walk to the town where you will find plenty of places to eat, cinema and bowling alley. The Eden project is only 15 minutes away and Lost Gardens of Heligan 20 minutes. If you come by train we will pick you up from St Austell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Topos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topos Bed & Breakfast Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing