We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top Spot”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during September 2012 and could not have chosen better. Room and bed were very comfortable. The guests' lounge and bar area, and the very warm welcome, made it a real home from home. So much so that I didn't want to leave on the last day - it felt like this was MY home and what were Greg & Lynda doing there??!
St Austell itself is not particularly picturesque (apart from the wonderful Charlestown area) but it is very central for exploring other places. We enjoyed visits to Eden, Lost Gardens, Mevagissey, Fowey, Padstow and St Ives. Preferred The Lost Gardens to Eden - far more natural, historical and romantic but the real winner was the gorgeous St Ives. Didn't realise holidaying in Britain could be so good and that was due, in no small measure, to staying at this excellent B & B. Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenDa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    36
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
189
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Not your traditional B&B

Great stay, Great Price, Fabulous Breakfast, Wonderful hosts Greg & Lynda.

Little surprises everywhere....complementary soap, shampoo in the bathroom, chocolates, cookies on tea/coffee tray. Ice cold water in a carafe on bedside table.

On arrival you wonder where you'll fit in, the hill approach is unnerving... but welcomed in Greg takes you on a tour of all facilities....Sauna, Guest bar, Wood burner in guest lounge, with with two decking areas one for barbecues, with garden and pool views for smokers.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very peaceful. Clean, big fluffy towels, our room the small ensuite, with flatscreen Tv...off the entrance foyer was more than adequate. Spiral staircase is a wonderful way to head downstairs. Feature lighting all very fitting.

The house is split level.

Staggered breakfasts, cereal, full cooked, fresh fruit and warm croissants, lots and lots of hints and suggestions about local area.

After one night Hubby wanted to stay .. Move in .... He was prepared to stay forever.

We will be back and have told those who deserve a lovely treat about this place and its fabulous hosts.

Made welcome from moment of contact.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clairew71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a relaxed, friendly and spacious B&B with a unique interior that will make you feel like you've discovered a well hidden secret.

The rooms are spotless and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are fresh & clean and as others have remarked, the towels are huge. The entire interior is enhanced with artwork and you have to see the main sitting area to believe it. Just flop onto one of the sofas and gaze around the room. Then grab one of the many DVDs on offer and watch a film of your choice on a huge flat screen TV.
..and there's a sauna.

Breakfast is served by the wondefully laid back Greg, who makes sure that you have all you need throughout your entire stay.

All for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here for one night and wished we were staying longer! This B&B is excellent. The room was immaculate and the owners were really friendly - providing a lift from the train station (though you can walk the distance in 5-10mins) and pointing out restaurants etc. The breakfast was yummy after an extremely comfy nights sleep! Not to mention the pleasure of meeting lovely Frankie the cat! We cant wait to come back please! Really handy spot for anyone visiting The Eden Project.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annonymous7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review it is always lovely when guests have a good time and especially when they want to come back! Lynda & Greg look forward to seeing you next Season along with Frankie of course and we will always come and pick you up from the station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

A wonderful B&B. Greg bent over backwards to ensure everything was in order! The room was very spacious, great bed... HUGE towels in the bathroom.... chocolates and ice water! Doesn't get much better (well, , maybe if they had more stable internet access). Excellent breakfast! Overall.... 5 stars!
Note... .they only do accept cash.... no credit cards.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights at Topos in St Austell (Sept '12) as we wanted to visit the Eden Project after spending time in St Ives. Greg was a great help - he picked us up from the station as we had no car and provided a hand-drawn map of the area, pointing out places to eat and where you can get buses to attractions around St Austell.

The B&B is a short walk from town, past a beautiful view of the remains of the old and the newer stone viaduct across St Austell (many pictures were taken). Greg was very kind to offer us a lift to the Eden Project, which we accepted!! Breakfasts were very tasty/filling and of course very well cooked by Greg, kept us going on our trips around St Austell. We managed to fit in the Eden Project, the Lost Gardens of Heligan and Charlestown during our stay, using the local buses (and a lift from Greg!).

The room was a great size, clean with a good sized ensuite so no concerns from us during our stay! We had access to a communal lounge which had a large TV with Sky (we also had access to their large DVD collection during our stay).

All in all, a very relaxing environment, with Greg and Linda being perfect hosts. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbealeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and would have liked to stay for more. The rooms food and hosts were fantastic. Greg gave us a map of the area with places of interest and places to eat.
There is a huge lounge to relax in and outside space should the weather be kind.
We would certainly recommend and go again if in the area.
All in all excellent value for money.
Jill and Mike

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
371 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.2 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 96 in St Austell
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterwheel Inn
The Waterwheel Inn
#4 of 96 in St Austell
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topos Bed & Breakfast

Property: Topos Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Sparnon Close, St Austell PL25 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topos Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large detached house offering 2 lounges, 2 outside decking areas where you can BBQ. We also offer free Wifi. We are only a 12 minute walk to the town where you will find plenty of places to eat, cinema and bowling alley. The Eden project is only 15 minutes away and Lost Gardens of Heligan 20 minutes. If you come by train we will pick you up from St Austell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Topos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topos Bed & Breakfast Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing