We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“What a fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed in topos b&b over the easter bank holiday weekend. Upon arrival you drive down possibly one of the steepest hills you will ever drive down, it feels like your driving off the end of the earth at the top.
Topos itself is outstanding, the rooms are very clean and tidy. The owners greg and lynda were extremely freindly and full of local knoweldge, which comes in handy when deciding where to eat. The breakfast is delicious and will quite easily kept us full until dinnet.
All I can say is topos is definately worth booking into of your thinking of staying in cornwall.
Oh and nearly forgot to mention the most amazing cat that katie was obsessed with called frankie!
Thanks
Mitchell and Katie

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGRroyston45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi Mitchell and Katie, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Topos, I just wish the weather could have been a bit kinder. I am trying to encourage Greg to take me to all the restaurants we haven't been too yet purely for business reasons of course!! Frankie is as we speak running around like a mad thing and I neeed to check our customers car boots when they leave as I am sure she is going to end up in Scotland one of these days as she is so nosy.
We hope to see you one day in the future. Kind regards
Lynda & Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
178
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We enjoyed a very comfortable 3 nights at Topos. A bit difficult to find, but we know St. Austell so followed our noses. At first sight, in winter, it was a bit offputting, as you are in effect staying in a private house. In winter the hanging baskets etc are dead - perhaps the owners should invest in some winter hanging baskets to brighten up the front, and make it look more hospitable. Having said that, once inside - magic! What a place! Like a filmset for 70s/80s movie - yet all pristine, new, spotlessly clean. And a huge house - the outside is very deceptive - the house is built on a hill, so has 3 floors, deckings, large gardens, and is enormous. The guests, just us in our house, have full use of the lower floor, down a spiral staircase, where there is a large sitting room with designer bar, and enormous lounge with dvds, books, widescreen tv. A media room in fact. But the bedroom, which was clean and perfect with a good ensuite, was perfectly warm and with two leather chairs and a good tv was enough for us on nights when it was cold. The woodburner in the large lounge was lit at the weekends. The owner Greg could not have been more helpful, or more friendly, without being intrusive. Good breakfast upstairs in a fashionable dining room. Worth staying here just to look at the house. And 10 minutes walk into st. austell. Two long-haired gorgeous cats were a bonus for cat-lovers. Recommended. Perhaps a bigger choice of cereals at breakfast would have been nice for us, as we are vegetarian wholefood eaters. Some weetabix, or All-Bran, box of seeds, dried apricots. These things are now standard in Premier Inns, and people expect them?? No other comments.

Room Tip: We liked out double en-suite, that looked out onto a garden, and was not at all overlooked. A large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for your review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take your comments on board regarding the fruit for breakfast and it is sometimes a difficult one as it is the start of the Season and we have tried fresh and tinned fruit in the past but invariably just end up throwing it away but I think dried fruit is the way to go! Apologies for the hanging baskets, in the Springtime I normally spend copious hours planting so it looks nice outside but it was very early and I was caught out but they have now been removed and just waiting for my spring bulbs to be delivered.! Kind regards Lynda & Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during September 2012 and could not have chosen better. Room and bed were very comfortable. The guests' lounge and bar area, and the very warm welcome, made it a real home from home. So much so that I didn't want to leave on the last day - it felt like this was MY home and what were Greg & Lynda doing there??!
St Austell itself is not particularly picturesque (apart from the wonderful Charlestown area) but it is very central for exploring other places. We enjoyed visits to Eden, Lost Gardens, Mevagissey, Fowey, Padstow and St Ives. Preferred The Lost Gardens to Eden - far more natural, historical and romantic but the real winner was the gorgeous St Ives. Didn't realise holidaying in Britain could be so good and that was due, in no small measure, to staying at this excellent B & B. Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenDa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Not your traditional B&B

Great stay, Great Price, Fabulous Breakfast, Wonderful hosts Greg & Lynda.

Little surprises everywhere....complementary soap, shampoo in the bathroom, chocolates, cookies on tea/coffee tray. Ice cold water in a carafe on bedside table.

On arrival you wonder where you'll fit in, the hill approach is unnerving... but welcomed in Greg takes you on a tour of all facilities....Sauna, Guest bar, Wood burner in guest lounge, with with two decking areas one for barbecues, with garden and pool views for smokers.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very peaceful. Clean, big fluffy towels, our room the small ensuite, with flatscreen Tv...off the entrance foyer was more than adequate. Spiral staircase is a wonderful way to head downstairs. Feature lighting all very fitting.

The house is split level.

Staggered breakfasts, cereal, full cooked, fresh fruit and warm croissants, lots and lots of hints and suggestions about local area.

After one night Hubby wanted to stay .. Move in .... He was prepared to stay forever.

We will be back and have told those who deserve a lovely treat about this place and its fabulous hosts.

Made welcome from moment of contact.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clairew71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a relaxed, friendly and spacious B&B with a unique interior that will make you feel like you've discovered a well hidden secret.

The rooms are spotless and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are fresh & clean and as others have remarked, the towels are huge. The entire interior is enhanced with artwork and you have to see the main sitting area to believe it. Just flop onto one of the sofas and gaze around the room. Then grab one of the many DVDs on offer and watch a film of your choice on a huge flat screen TV.
..and there's a sauna.

Breakfast is served by the wondefully laid back Greg, who makes sure that you have all you need throughout your entire stay.

All for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here for one night and wished we were staying longer! This B&B is excellent. The room was immaculate and the owners were really friendly - providing a lift from the train station (though you can walk the distance in 5-10mins) and pointing out restaurants etc. The breakfast was yummy after an extremely comfy nights sleep! Not to mention the pleasure of meeting lovely Frankie the cat! We cant wait to come back please! Really handy spot for anyone visiting The Eden Project.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annonymous7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review it is always lovely when guests have a good time and especially when they want to come back! Lynda & Greg look forward to seeing you next Season along with Frankie of course and we will always come and pick you up from the station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

A wonderful B&B. Greg bent over backwards to ensure everything was in order! The room was very spacious, great bed... HUGE towels in the bathroom.... chocolates and ice water! Doesn't get much better (well, , maybe if they had more stable internet access). Excellent breakfast! Overall.... 5 stars!
Note... .they only do accept cash.... no credit cards.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 97 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topos Bed & Breakfast

Property: Topos Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Sparnon Close, St Austell PL25 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topos Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large detached house offering 2 lounges, 2 outside decking areas where you can BBQ. We also offer free Wifi. We are only a 12 minute walk to the town where you will find plenty of places to eat, cinema and bowling alley. The Eden project is only 15 minutes away and Lost Gardens of Heligan 20 minutes. If you come by train we will pick you up from St Austell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topos Bed & Breakfast Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing