We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in St. Austell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This year we stayed here for 12 nights. After summer 2010 and 2012 it was our 3rd stay at this lovely B&B. The B&B is extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean throughout. Linda and Greg are most generous hosts. Nothing seemed too much trouble for Greg, who provided us with his lovely cooked breakfast, lots of information about regarding places to visit and where we could get good meals.
Topos is fantastic ! It should be the No. 1 in St. Austell !

We would definitely recommend this B&B for its warm welcome and excellent accommodation and will definitely come back (we hope next year - for our 4th stay in this beautyfull B&B!).

Thank you so much for the the lovely and great hospitality!
We can´t find enough words for all the things, you´ve done for us. Dagmar & Johann

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind review and it is a pleasure to have you to stay as you have become friends rather than guests and we always look forward to your return visits. You are always welcome and we look forward to seeing you in 2014. Best wishes Lynda &Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

I can't thing of anything negative to say about Topos B&B. We had a decent size double room with a larger than average ensuite, all tastefully decorated with lots of nice touches to make you feel you are getting luxury at a very reasonable price. The common areas just for guests' use are like nothing we have come across in any other B&B (in a good way!), its a pity the weather didn't let us make use of the outside areas. Breakfast was excellent, and the friendly help and advice from Greg ensured we made the most of our short stay. If you travel by train Greg will pick you up from the station and will also drop you off at the Eden Project, both of which offers we were glad to take advantage of. This charming B&B is in a quiet road and an easy walk to the centre of St Austell. We were not disappointed with our choice and would highly recommend a stay with Lynda, Greg and their lovely cats.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We arrived in St Austell and found Topos via trip advisor, gave them a call and they had a room available for 2 nights. First impressions - quirky :-) a deceptive house, a spacious entrance hall that has a spiral stairway down to the lower ground floor that is completely given over to the comfort of their guests. A large lounge with a vaulted ceiling, comfy sofas, a large flat screen TV with Sky and a huge choice of DVD's. Our room was beautifully clean, with lovely decor and furnishings, the bed was comfy with sumptuous bedding, the bathroom was also clean with a lovely power shower. French doors opened onto a decking veranda, it was lovely to open them in the morning and hear the birds singing, the weather didn't allow us to make full use of this though. Greg cooked a lovely breakfast at a time that suited us and his local knowledge, directions and recommendations for places to eat proved invaluable. 2 beautiful cats roaming around and Greg and Lynda made us feel very welcome in their home. Would highly recommend Topos as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahGeoffB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

If you like sumptuous bedding, ensuite facilities and a more than a filling breakfast then this is the place for you. I was re-directed here after experiencing a 'No more room at the Inn' in what actually was a B&B former home of a boyhood friend.

A short walk from the St. Austell town centre, I cannot recommend it enough. Lynda & Greg Rasdall were charming and welcoming hosts. Greg gave me a conducted tour and invited me to make use of the impressive lounge and huge Sky invested tv screen. If you want you are welcome to take back a take-away after an evening arrival. I was given a door-key so I could come back at a time of my choosing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHARLIE4841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed in topos b&b over the easter bank holiday weekend. Upon arrival you drive down possibly one of the steepest hills you will ever drive down, it feels like your driving off the end of the earth at the top.
Topos itself is outstanding, the rooms are very clean and tidy. The owners greg and lynda were extremely freindly and full of local knoweldge, which comes in handy when deciding where to eat. The breakfast is delicious and will quite easily kept us full until dinnet.
All I can say is topos is definately worth booking into of your thinking of staying in cornwall.
Oh and nearly forgot to mention the most amazing cat that katie was obsessed with called frankie!
Thanks
Mitchell and Katie

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGRroyston45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Hi Mitchell and Katie, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Topos, I just wish the weather could have been a bit kinder. I am trying to encourage Greg to take me to all the restaurants we haven't been too yet purely for business reasons of course!! Frankie is as we speak running around like a mad thing and I neeed to check our customers car boots when they leave as I am sure she is going to end up in Scotland one of these days as she is so nosy.
We hope to see you one day in the future. Kind regards
Lynda & Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We enjoyed a very comfortable 3 nights at Topos. A bit difficult to find, but we know St. Austell so followed our noses. At first sight, in winter, it was a bit offputting, as you are in effect staying in a private house. In winter the hanging baskets etc are dead - perhaps the owners should invest in some winter hanging baskets to brighten up the front, and make it look more hospitable. Having said that, once inside - magic! What a place! Like a filmset for 70s/80s movie - yet all pristine, new, spotlessly clean. And a huge house - the outside is very deceptive - the house is built on a hill, so has 3 floors, deckings, large gardens, and is enormous. The guests, just us in our house, have full use of the lower floor, down a spiral staircase, where there is a large sitting room with designer bar, and enormous lounge with dvds, books, widescreen tv. A media room in fact. But the bedroom, which was clean and perfect with a good ensuite, was perfectly warm and with two leather chairs and a good tv was enough for us on nights when it was cold. The woodburner in the large lounge was lit at the weekends. The owner Greg could not have been more helpful, or more friendly, without being intrusive. Good breakfast upstairs in a fashionable dining room. Worth staying here just to look at the house. And 10 minutes walk into st. austell. Two long-haired gorgeous cats were a bonus for cat-lovers. Recommended. Perhaps a bigger choice of cereals at breakfast would have been nice for us, as we are vegetarian wholefood eaters. Some weetabix, or All-Bran, box of seeds, dried apricots. These things are now standard in Premier Inns, and people expect them?? No other comments.

Room Tip: We liked out double en-suite, that looked out onto a garden, and was not at all overlooked. A large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer7, Owner at Topos Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you for your review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take your comments on board regarding the fruit for breakfast and it is sometimes a difficult one as it is the start of the Season and we have tried fresh and tinned fruit in the past but invariably just end up throwing it away but I think dried fruit is the way to go! Apologies for the hanging baskets, in the Springtime I normally spend copious hours planting so it looks nice outside but it was very early and I was caught out but they have now been removed and just waiting for my spring bulbs to be delivered.! Kind regards Lynda & Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during September 2012 and could not have chosen better. Room and bed were very comfortable. The guests' lounge and bar area, and the very warm welcome, made it a real home from home. So much so that I didn't want to leave on the last day - it felt like this was MY home and what were Greg & Lynda doing there??!
St Austell itself is not particularly picturesque (apart from the wonderful Charlestown area) but it is very central for exploring other places. We enjoyed visits to Eden, Lost Gardens, Mevagissey, Fowey, Padstow and St Ives. Preferred The Lost Gardens to Eden - far more natural, historical and romantic but the real winner was the gorgeous St Ives. Didn't realise holidaying in Britain could be so good and that was due, in no small measure, to staying at this excellent B & B. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenDa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,599 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 97 in St Austell
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topos Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Sparnon Close, St Austell PL25 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: £52 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topos Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large detached house offering 2 lounges, 2 outside decking areas where you can BBQ. We also offer free Wifi. We are only a 12 minute walk to the town where you will find plenty of places to eat, cinema and bowling alley. The Eden project is only 15 minutes away and Lost Gardens of Heligan 20 minutes. If you come by train we will pick you up from St Austell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Topos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topos Bed & Breakfast Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing