We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tardis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Topos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Great Breakfast. Really comfortable bed. Not to far from town but in a quiet area. Would definitely come back again. We stayed for two nights to see Elbow at Eden. Greg and Linda really helpful and friendly. Thanks again guys.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Really nice guest house. Good facilities, clean and comfortable. Full English breakfast served by your host who is also a great source of local information, you are advised to follow Greg's recommendations on places to eat and visit!
Generous guest lounge and outside seating area.
Best if you are travelling by car as it is has rather steep surroundings, also don't be allergic to cats!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms. Ours, #2, had an en-suite I'm not sure if the other rooms did - best to check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank InkiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Excellent:
Greg really went out of his way to make us feel welcomed and make our stay as pleasant as possible - examples of this are putting some milk in the fridge behnd the bar in case we ran out of milk in the room. Also, Greg's local knowledge really helped with finding both local and drivable places of interest. They even marked my Birthday with chocolates and card - most welcome.

Breakfast ingredients are locally sourced for the most-part and well prepared.

The Good/Great:
We found St Austell - and therefore the Topos - an excellent base for driving to many of Cornwall's attractions. The major ones, in my view, being The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Helligan.

The Not So Good:
A bit of an admin issue which made for interesting times. We searched based upon en-suite rooms and the one at the Topos was returned in error. This meant that we expected the room to be en-suite but what was offered (and the only one available) was one with a private bathroom requiring a walk through public areas to reach. There are a couple of issues here: 1/. Privacy - the things that we would normally leave in a bathroom we would prefer that only we and upon limited need e.g. to access to clean, would have access - The bathroom was open to access to all within the premise; and 2/. In order to traverse to the bathroom we would need to be dressed - so that if a visit were needed at night we would have to ensure that we were dressed appropriately - which takes extra thought and planning and detracts from an otrherwise relaxing break.

Parking: In the space available, parking can be challenging - all three car spots need to be placed precisely by smaller vehicles to allow any one of these to leave without asking another to move first.

Overall, a great stay that was let down by a few relatively minor issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If u are looking for perfection , this is it this bed and breakfast was fab , room spotless , loads of tea etc. bathroom clean , great views , breakfast perfect , a great four nights we had both hosts were lovely , can't recommend it highly , perfect place to explore , thank you for a lovely few days , we stayed 29 th of June 4 nights our room had lovely big patio doors out to garden

Room Tip: Find sum where better in st Austell let me know I doubt you will
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A warm welcome awaits you at Topos.Stayed at a few B&B's, but enjoyed this one the most. Greg the owner was great, nothing was to much trouble, excellent breakfast, spacious rooms, guest lounge was massive with a huge tv. no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A lovely place to stay. Different - more like a home-host B & B (ala airbnb) and that is a great thing. St Austell is very central for everything in Cornwall, even if the town itself is nothing special. A great stay and if we come to Cornwall again it will certainly be somewhere we would check for availability.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acescribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Situated in the most unlikely of places, we found this B&B. A warm welcome from Gregg, Jo and Lynne, we stayed 4 nights and wanted for nothing. We used all of the facilities (exc. Sauna), including sunbathing on the decking area, BBQ one evening and lit the outdoor fire in the evening, we had music playing whilst sunbathing and just totally relaxed with drinks and plenty of ice! Gregg cooks a mean breakfast and as people mention, he is a font of knowledge of places to eat and enjoy the views.

Thank for making a much needed break, perfect!

Room Tip: Kings size room is ideal and nipping across the hall to the bathroom, is no hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#11 of 97 in St Austell
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topos Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Sparnon Close, St Austell PL25 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: £52 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topos Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large detached house offering 2 lounges, 2 outside decking areas where you can BBQ. We also offer free Wifi. We are only a 12 minute walk to the town where you will find plenty of places to eat, cinema and bowling alley. The Eden project is only 15 minutes away and Lost Gardens of Heligan 20 minutes. If you come by train we will pick you up from St Austell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Topos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topos Bed & Breakfast Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing