We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent base for visits to attractions.”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five days.Room was very comfortable and quiet,bed was lovely.Staff freindly and helpful.Food very good and plentiful. Not a lot to do in St.Austell,but shops,cinema and wetherspoons on doorstep.Short drive to Heligan,Eden project,China claypit attraction and woodland walk,and Lanydrock house and gardens,all wonderful.

Room Tip: Request a room on highest floor at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srobinson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed for s couple of nights on business. Given a large and comfortable room. Food was good. Staff were attentive and friendly. An excellent base for the local tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiandSteve5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

SERVICE

The service we received in the hotel was excellent. The staff was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. The bar staff were very helpfull and always greeted us with a smile. The food was greta value and was really good will a range to choose from on the menu.

The room we had was clean, the bed was very comfortable and extra bedding was provided. There was free Wifi and tea/coffee making facilities.

The hotel is in the centre of town so do expect some noise. The church bells directly across the road do chim on the hour and every quarter of an hour. The noise was acepptabke anbd even when the pubs were comign out we found we slept through it and were not woken up once.

The hotel is located perfectly for us and there was easy access to many places of interest i.e Eden Project, St Austell Brewery and many of the surrounding costal towns.

All in all teh hotel was perfect, food was really good and value for money and the staff were great. Well done to this hotel best place I have stayed in in a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Great staff team, helpful, friendly, with excellent knowledge of local area and attractions.
Rooms were only ok. A little tatty around the edges. Paintwork flaking in areas and our shower leaked a bit. I moved the bed away from the wall and it clearly had not been hoovered in a while.
Very basic ammenities in room. Tea and coffee making bits and bobs, hair dryer, tv.
Hotel food was lovely. Cooked breakfast was very nice, fresh, good quality food, excellent portion sizes. There was also a choice of 3 cereals,, yogurt (only some days), dried fruit and nuts. Apple, orange juice and fresh fruit.
The noise level was the biggest problem for us. I was travelling with my Baby and our room was directly over the courtyard, where bar guests drank late in to the evenings, and opposite the local pub, which hosted very noisy Karaoke on Friday and Sunday nights aswell as a very boisterous Saturday night. The noise from the adjacent road was also very intrusive. The Church (directly infront of the hotel) also had lengthy bell ringing practice on the Wednesday night and the bells chimed at every quarter of an hour at all other times!
This spoiled the stay for us and as a result we will not use this hotel again.
The hotel is situated in a great position for travel to all parts of Cornwall, the Eden Project was really close. The bus/train station is just a quick walk up the hill.
The town of St Austell is disappointing due to so many shops being closed down.

Best point - service/staff friendliness
Worst point - Noise!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

the hotel has a very friendly atmosphere. staff curteous and extremely pleasant and helpful. facilities clean and comfotable. excellent location to many tourist attractions and central location in St Austell town centre, very handy!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinGinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Stayed for one night, Previuos reviews of this hotel have mentioned the noise but apart from the church clock ( whihc stops chiming at 11pm and starts again at 7am) it was very quiet. The food in the evening and at breakfast was excellent and the room we had was lovely, very spacious. We stayed on a wednesday evening and joined in the free quiz in the bar which was great fun. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brimip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This hotel provided a very good overnight stay for my family, friendly and helpfull staff and good food in the restaurant. Breakfast very good, set us up for the day! The hotel is located in the centre of town, so a bit of noise must be expected, but over all had a great nights sleep. Would recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleybNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: 2-3 Church Street, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £85 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing