We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant good quality hotel in central location with friendly staff, though the manager conveys an attitude difficullty.”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Pleasant good quality hotel in central location with friendly staff, though the manager conveys an attitude difficullty.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I turned up in St Austell out of the blue and needed somwehere to stay, coming in from the street. I was lucky to find a room free here at the White Hart which is very well placed in the centre of St Austell.. I paid £75 for one night for a double room (their singles when free, which I did not see are only five pounds cheaper. Along with many other hotels they do not provide well for the single traveller in this respect) The room I had was big enough for one, though for two it would have been rather a tight fit. Generally the room was quite well furbished, comfortable bed though the wardrobe was huge though strangely there was no drawers for clothes. The TV worked okay though had a very strange wall attachment, and gave the impression it might fall off though it was probably quite secure. The ensuite was bigger than many you find and had a bath as well as an overhead shower which worked well. Other travellers have complained about noise, I heard no disturbance which was probably due to my room (room no 13) being on the side of the hotel facing the side which is not direct to the street. I was on the second floor and as there is no lift it is a bit of a pain getting one's luggage up, especially as the layout of the hotel is rather all over the place. What makes the hotel in my opinion is the ground floor which has a pleasant bar and lounge area, where I found it easy to relax and enjoy a drink while I was doing some work. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful and were kind in agreeing to extend my check out time from 10am to 11am which made my morning more relaxed. The breakfast has the potential to be good there is a good selection of choice including super looking pancakes and , but mine was slightly marred as they got my order wrong. The staff seemed very disorganised. It would be nice to have a pot of coffee instead of just a measly cup which can take ages to get a refill. It would also be good to have a menu which made it clear that residents are not expected to pay the prices on it!!!! There is a restaurant serving food throughout the day but I decided not to eat my evening meal there as the prices seemed a bit on the steep side and I was put off by the empty dining room. The carpark for the hotel is over the other side of the road and one has to cross a main road to get there which can be a right pain if carrying a lot of luggage. The manager did agree to help me when I was leaving, but he appeared to do this without any enthusiasm and made no goodbyes or wishing me a good journey. A pity as the rest of the staff seemed to have a nice attitude

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    130
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
62
180
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Such a pity has the potential to be a really nice hotel.
Rooms are nice very clean. Great location
Food. The crab cakes although were very nicely presented were not fresh we told the waitress, and she brought a some more which were exactly the same we told her, but was not offered anything else even our salad was removed with the first plate and not replaced. I did not want to make a fuss so paid and didn't eat there again.
Mentioned to the Manager on the 3rd day .
Stayed for 3 nights with no Wifi at all during that time, asked everyday but was told something different each time. The manager was there on the 3rd day with no apology said that it had been like that for a while. No good if you picked the hotel on that basis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterPark66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We called at The White Hart for breakfast where we were greeted by Aimee and served by Scott both of whom clearly enjoyed their work, had great interpersonal skills and were great advocates for The White Hart. The standard of food, presentation and cleanliness of The White Hart were all noteworthy.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great location for Eden Project. Room was disappointing as was very small and inadequate storage space - also very noisy from street and room above. On the plus side the breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25ahowbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights, it was a great base for exploring cornwall, very near Eden project and the beautiful gardens of heligan! Room was fine, nice bathroom and view of the church, which donged fairly regularly but we quite liked that! Only problem were the late night revellers in the town, student night on a monday was particularly noisy, didn't get to sleep unitl 4am, not a good night! If you want total peace and quiet then don't stay there, but overall we were happy. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waters2752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Recently stayed here with my husband for four nights and had a brilliant time. The room was comfortable with a bath and shower which was really appreciated. Plenty of hot water as well which didn't go amiss! Breakfast everyday was lovely with lots of choice and the service was always efficient and polite. We also ate at the hotel restaurant one night and were also happy with the meal.
A few other reviews have mentioned excessive noise - no idea what that is all about, the only disturbance were crazy seagulls but seeing as we were in Cornwall that is to be expected!
All the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful (special shout out to the bar tender Scott/Steve) and we really enjoyed our stay.
A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsharris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our second visit this year. Stayed for three nights in March, with some gripes. This visit was for just one night and we didn't really have any issues, other than the outlook from our room was just onto the building next door, which was only about 10 feet away - rather gloomy windows opposite - possibly offices or storerooms. Not very exciting to look at, but for one night it was ok - not as good as the suite of rooms we had overlooking the church in March, but not worth making a complaint about.

The staff are as welcoming and pleasant as before. Dinner was lovely this time, as was breakfast. I still consider the Management of this hotel to be remote - seem to stick in the bar if anywhere and do not appear to interact with guests - no rapport as far as we can see with guests, which is a pity as it is a lovely, quirky hotel. Perhaps Management could think about improving their 'people skills' - even if occasionally to ask guests if everything is ok - or just introduce themselves and say "hello" occasionally.

Room Tip: Not room 12 if can be avoided - rather small and only outlook onto adjacent building, which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyOrbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Property: The White Hart
Address: 2-3 Church Street, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing