We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Superb food! Would highly recommend! Staff very efficient. Looking forward to eating here again. Excellent facilities and welcoming. The only
Disappointing part was we didn't get to stay longer as we were pushed for time. Extremely great value for money.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Cornwall1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for The White Hart
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

First impressions: car park opposite, exterior similar to a whether-spoons, check in prompt and friendly.

The room itself is of okay size however is looking fairly tatty and I can not trust bed covers which are not white! Room is cold down to the sash windows, toilet noisy when flushed and shower curtain causes the floor to leak.
If your looking for a quiet nights sleep, do not stay in room 4 as it opens onto the hallway which customers from the bar regularly use to get to the toilets which are opposite! Very noisy, can even hear the hand driers! This does stop by 1am but not great when your staying on business and need an early night.
Ate in the restaurant both evenings, food was prompt, generous and delicious - also well priced was pleasantly surprised!
Breakfast is a large choice of cooked to order Cornish favourites and is completely delicious!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank mylifeinhotels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

16 of us stayed here during our annual society golf tour and everyone agreed that the hotel was fantastic the rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable, food excellent with a great bar for relaxing in the evening and the staff were so helpful and friendly. We will definitely visiting again.

Room Tip: Room no 1 is a lovely big double room and a bathroom with a very powerful shower0
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank les b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at the white hart hotel over the weekend. Location wise this place is excellent considering it's a 2 minute walk to the train & bus station. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially since I had to use a store room in the back to keep my bicycle but they were always quick to help me with that. The room was in a good condition, clean and neat. TV options were quite limited but nonetheless decent. On Friday and Saturday there was live jazz at the bar which was great. The hotel breakfast and dinner I had were just alright, good taste but a bit too pricey and for my dinner I waited rather long - about an hour for it to arrive. The hotel wifi at the lobby wasn't too bad but the signal varied, so I basically couldn't use it in my room.

All in all, despite several issues faced during my stay, it was a pleasant time spent at St Austell with good service and accommodation at a reasonable cost. Would recommend it for future stays.

Shao Hao
Reviewed April 14

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ss-hao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here while on a business trip in the UK. Very friendly and helpful staff who were positive and made me feel very welcome.

However, room was cold and would not heat up. Toilet made a very loud noise every time it was flushed, and the bathroom was freezing. Don't stay here if you want a good night sleep, the hotel is very old and makes noises every time someone walks past or above you.

Breakfast was lovely and delicious. I had a full English breakfast and had lots of different options that I could choose from. Restaurant was also very comfortable and was a nice place to relax in.

Wifi in my room was awful, I could only get it downstairs in the restaurant, they did warn you of this when you arrived but I had no idea before I was at the place. One thing to be wary of is that they don't have someone at the front desk overnight and although they said that someone would be there from 7am onwards when I went down at 7:15 as I had a flight to catch nobody was there.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Only stayed for one night but very comfortable room with home comforts.

Well looked after by staff who we're welcoming and friendly.

Food was great in the bar and breakfast was good too.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We popped in to the White Hart for a valentines meal. Without the extra valentines menu I think the other choices would have looked like standard pub food for the area but the quality and proper Cornish portion control (VERY GENEROUS) really makes this one stand out. After an enormous mixed fishy starter (crayfish tails, prawns, scallops, smoked mackerel and salmon with very imaginative dips) we both went for filet steak, probably the largest fillets we have seen outside a butchers shop. The table service was also perfect leaving just the right times between courses. For a hotel, the price tag was less than some of the small pubs in the area with food of a much lesser quality.

The evening was finished perfectly with some really wonderful music performed by Nancy Finch, a lovely old school bluesey jazz voice that sounds just like Ella Fitzgerald - swonderful!!!

Room Tip: Can't help with rooms, we were purely there for an evening meal.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,582 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.3 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: 2-3 Church Street, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £65 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing