We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Napier
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

When we arrived late in the afternoon we were very concerned to see that we had booked a room at a "pub" and a jazz singer was in fill swing. Once settled in our room we realised we couldn't hear any noise at all from below. The room was large and airy, very clean and the beds comfortable. We had arrived just as the kitchen closed but they still managed to russle up some food for us. The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. Upon imspextion in the morning we realised the 'pub' was actually a modern, well presented bar.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    130
    36
    19
    9
See reviews for
60
178
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had the good fortune to stay at the White Hart last week and was delighted with the Hotel, Staff and Food.
I understand that the hotel has had a recent refurbishment and it has been very tastefully completed. All the public areas were clean and decorated to a high standard. The room I was in was lovely and very comfortable.
I stayed for evening meal and was impressed at the range of menu and the quality of the food. The waiting staff were engaging and went out of their way to make sure everything was to my liking.
I would recommend the White Hart to anyone wishing to explore the delights of Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMedhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have just spent a lovely weekend break here, and it's a great hotel! Our room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed, a little noisy late at night from outside revellers, but this was not a problem at all for us. Both breakfast and dinner were most enjoyable and very well presented, and don't miss the opportunity of trying one (or even two) of the cocktails.....the Smirnoff Raspberry Collins is to die for!!! The staff here are welcoming and eager to please, a real friendly bunch, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely return when we get chance, The White Hart is highly recommended by us!!!

Room Tip: Room 6 is a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janieb292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped off at the white heart after a day in fowey for a meal. The service was punctual, polite and the food tasted excellent and was very good value. The menu was very good and the variety on offer was a pleasant surprise. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. The interior was delightful and created a great ambience. It all helped create a friendly and comfortable atmosphere to enjoy our delicious food in. Was very worthwhile and I would recommend highly to anyone. Will definitely visit again to try more of their great food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Superb food! Would highly recommend! Staff very efficient. Looking forward to eating here again. Excellent facilities and welcoming. The only
Disappointing part was we didn't get to stay longer as we were pushed for time. Extremely great value for money.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornwall1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

First impressions: car park opposite, exterior similar to a whether-spoons, check in prompt and friendly.

The room itself is of okay size however is looking fairly tatty and I can not trust bed covers which are not white! Room is cold down to the sash windows, toilet noisy when flushed and shower curtain causes the floor to leak.
If your looking for a quiet nights sleep, do not stay in room 4 as it opens onto the hallway which customers from the bar regularly use to get to the toilets which are opposite! Very noisy, can even hear the hand driers! This does stop by 1am but not great when your staying on business and need an early night.
Ate in the restaurant both evenings, food was prompt, generous and delicious - also well priced was pleasantly surprised!
Breakfast is a large choice of cooked to order Cornish favourites and is completely delicious!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mylifeinhotels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

16 of us stayed here during our annual society golf tour and everyone agreed that the hotel was fantastic the rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable, food excellent with a great bar for relaxing in the evening and the staff were so helpful and friendly. We will definitely visiting again.

Room Tip: Room no 1 is a lovely big double room and a bathroom with a very powerful shower0
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We thank you for all your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Property: The White Hart
Address: 2-3 Church Street, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing