We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the shower”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Shame about the shower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I found it slightly odd to have to walk through the bar to get to the slightly chaotic reception area, and had quite a wait for someone to book me in. However, the staff are friendly and I was led up to a small, but nicely furnished room with two windows, so it was nice and bright. The view wasn't that great, but I wasn't staying there for the view. The windows had wire mesh fitted to them to stop the pigeons flying into the room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and well furnished. Don't expect lifts or air conditioning, this is an old building with some character and so there is nowhere to fit mod cons. They do offer free Wifi. The bathroom was larger than I expected, given the size of the room. Bath with shower over, sink and loo and all lovely and clean. I was really looking forward to a shower after my long and hot drive down. But, when I gently pulled the shower curtain the whole frame collapsed and covered me with a shower of plaster from the ceiling. So, no shower for me. I would recommend the restaurant, I had a lovely meal and some entertainment from a visiting group who were interested in the wallpaper that had once adorned the restaurant walls. So, a lovely meal and a history lesson. I would stay here again, especially now that I know how to find the car park. It is across the road from the hotel by the way.

Room Tip: I am unable to say because I only stayed one night and hopefully the shower rail in room 13 will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are looking into replacing these shower rails in the Autumn
We have had a very busy season and now will be putting our efforts into sorting out these little problems.
we look forward to welcoming you in the future
kind regards
Management
white hart hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    120
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
56
168
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very disappointing stay.When we checked in they didn't have keys for the room (lost). We had to ask 3 times for a spare key for the front door for late entry and finally one was sourced for us. No effort was made to source this for us without asking.

The room itself was large and clean but the lights didn't work (again, no effort to rectify this) and the room backed onto the local grave yard. This is where the locals spend all night 'out of it' screaming their heads off until around 4am. So if you sleep lightly it's a waste of time. The lobbies/hallway absolutely stink. I really don't know what of. I assume some sort of cleaning fluid.

Wifi didn't work once during the stay. The passwords don't work. Staff didn't know how to resolve it.

Breakfast was a disaster. Eggs Benedict. Muffins were totally uncooked. Far too much 'sauce' on and the whole dish cold. Coffee was weak and cold too.

Really difficult to get staffs attention. No one seems to hold the fort around the reception and there's no clear management in charge. Very Substandard all around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie_Exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we have investigated the matters you spoke of.
we apologise for the missing keys, unbeknown too us at that time the previous guests had took the keys home with them and being fully booked our staff hadn't actually realised they were missing until your check in, of course we have extra sets available and these were then given to you. I apologise this took some of your time whilst this was being sorted.
We had two managers and the owner on duty at the time but we didn't have any logs requesting to see one.
Again on the Sunday the owner was here herself and no request was made from any guests to see her.
we served 50 breakfasts on this morning and have received no other complaints, WE are sorry the breakfast wasn't to your liking if you had told this to your server they would of replaced your breakfast without hesitation as all our staff are authorised to offer replacement at any time.
As you would of noticed we had a full hotel and have received no other complaints about the smell of cleaning products used, We apologise if our housekeepers were vigorous in their cleaning efforts and this caused you any offence, we like a clean and refreshing hotel!
As you can see from the many other reviews we have mostly outstanding reports on both our hotel and staff.
Pease accept our apologies that you were not entirely happy this time during your stay and as said this is not the norm for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
160 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for one night for a concert . Very welcoming staff, very large room, Great linen and towels , very good breakfast although I think continental people may struggle with the choice Free Wi Fi
Beware can be noisy Fridays and Saturday nights as a lot of pubs around this area . This is explained and ear plugs are available if you need them . Don't let this put you off

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments
We appreciate the positive feedback, it makes our job more worthwhile when we read such lovely comments and we will pass this on to our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A friend and I spent a few nights recently at the White Hart. The rooms were comfortable, there was a excellent choice of really good meals and on top of that the young staff were attentive and full of fun. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we go to that part of Cornwall again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rats144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, our staff really appreciate the feedback
we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Outstanding value . Used as a base for a visit to the Eden project £214 bought a room for 2 nights , dinner on the first night, 2 breakfasts and 2 tickets to the Eden project.

The best bit about this hotel is the staff They are all young ( everyone seems young to me these days), smile a lot and are enthusiastic about making you feel welcome. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

Whilst food is not cordon bleu it is quite adequate. There is someone in the kitchen who can cook and the portions are generous. Scrambled egg and smoked salmon for breakfast was as good as I have eaten in 5 star hotels

St Austell is not that attractive, it's a bit like Woolwich with seagulls, but it's a good location for the Eden project. Charlestown is 3 miles or so down the road and is a delightfull little harbour with a couple of beaches.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobD829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We thank you for your kind comments
we will pass this on to our staff
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
kind regards
White Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was a lovely surprise. Needed a one night stay with easy access to The Eden Project (evening concert) and were only looking for a basic place to stay. The White Hart was priced as one of the cheapest on my search and very close to the station so booked it for convenience. Ideal location a few minutes walk from St Austell train station. But when we got there it just got better and better. Beautiful flowers outside made it very welcoming, as did the staff (even though we were a couple of hours earlier than check in time) and an enormous room beautifully decorated. Lovely big bathroom too. We have paid more in the past for much smaller and lower quality rooms so this hotel is fantastic value for money. We had lunch there too - well priced for very good quality, locally sourced food (had a really tasty steak cooked to perfection). Would stay here again if ever at another Eden concert - regular buses run from the station and it takes about 15/20 minutes.

Room Tip: "Hicks" room is on the first floor and is a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie19641971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future
kind regards
Management
White Hart HOtel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A warm welcome from reception staff and escorted to very well presented room.
Good range of food available in both restaurant and bar service.
Proper Cornish breakfast was a real treat and everything else including Veggie alternatives available.
Consistently helpful staff and lots of local amenities on the door step.
Great Stay and will be back .

Thank you !

Room Tip: Don't worry about the Parish Church clock chimes , they are turned off at 10pm until 7 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Property: The White Hart
Address: 2-3 Church Street, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing