We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value carvery on Sundays”
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rashleigh Arms
Ranked #15 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hearty Sunday carvery is excellent value, attracting lots of regulars. There's a veggie option too. It's not haute cuisine, just solid pub grub pub right in the middle of Charlestown so no excuse for not walking off the calories afterwards.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bestcornishcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

When you book into a B and B in an old stone built Inn, which is a very busy pub, then you need to be aware of what you are doing and accept compromises.

Pros - great location, 200 yards from Charlestown waterfront, lots of car parking space, large beer garden, very busy pub, rooms spacious, immacutely clean, and well maintained. Staff friendly, great beers, food good (Ok its carvery / bar stuff - not a restaurant as such). Breakfast excellent.

Cons - as an old inn, to make ensuites, small shower rooms (no baths) have been carved out of parts of the rooms - small but perfectly serviceable with good showers (albeit, like others, we experienced sporadic water pressure issues but nothing which was a real issue). Noise - well its a busy bar and a large beer garden, so somewhat noisy (with people chatting - a proper pub with no loud music) until around 11pm when the bar shuts. But hey, thats a choice you make when you decide to stay in a pub where the rooms overlook a huge beer garden!

Overall if you are going to stay in a pub B and B this is probably as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Crows Nest Room is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Sometimes it is best not to have read previous reviews on tripadvisor, as you might get the wrong impression of this inn. We dropped by Charlestown for a look at the harbour and tall ships on a very cold, windy evening recently. We then decided that we'd like to have dinner here and thought the Rashleigh Arms looked the most inviting. It was very busy (a Sunday) and there was a carvery available, which may explain its popularity. Fortunately a table for two became available so we were settled in for a great plate of food - steak, ale and cornish blue cheese pies! Sounds strange, but the cheese really works - just a hint complementing the rich lean beef. Delicious!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Y0rkshire_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed for a long weekend. As I thought after getting a good deal got the "Midships" room. That means a well appointed room but no sea view (but to be honnest most rooms from this Hotel will not get directly!) Staff great from first to last. Food, very good, Breakfast a good choice and evening meal a choice that most should find something to suit.
Myself, I chose to have a pint in the Public bar but if you choose could easily frequent in the lounge bar (More resendant/familly area)
Issy and the rest of the staff very friendly and helpfull and up for a chat.
A very good location that is unspoilt by the fact not a lot of attractions. That's not a draw back due to many locations very much over touristy. The museum of shipwrecks is a must though!
All in all, a very good stay and will/would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Firstly I would like to state that all the staff here are brilliant-the lady and breakfast was friendly and attentive, and a young blonde girl waitressing in the evening (did a lot of the desserts) was very polite and friendly. However I cannot say the same for the rest of our stay.

The rooms- clean, bright and with a great view- loved the fact we got a bottle of water provided and the bags for recycling are brilliant. The en suits are very small and there seemed to be an issue with water heat/pressure. Some days we would have just enough hot water to have a quick wash and other days no water would run at all out of the hot tap. The rooms were serviced daily but we were very disappointed to return one day to find the toilet roll had not been topped up instead we were left with less than a quarter of a roll and resorted to use tissues! Not great at all.

The food- breakfast was lovely- great choice available and liked the fact a gluten free option is available. However I can't say the same for the evening meals. Having the lasagne to find 2 sheets of pasta stuck together, about a tablespoon of bologna isle sauce and ten tons of cheese sauce we were very disappointed- think its the first time my husband has left a meal since I've known him. Also check your bill- other guests drinks might creep in on your bill...

The location- like other reviews a little disappointed to find that we were not directly on the harbour front- only a 2 min walk tho. But a great location for the Eden project, heligan and lots of other great attractions.

Had heard great things about the rashleigh arms hence why we booked but can't say we'd recommend here to anyone else.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lamb0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Rashleigh over the Easter period for 3 nights and can honestly say that it has a great location. Although not directly on the harbour front it is within two minutes’ walk.
I booked the accommodation over the phone and the staff where very helpful sending me local information by post in advance of my visit
Our room the “Crowns Nest” was spacious, comfortable and well equipped and we received a warm welcome upon arrival.
Decoration is of a good standard and the room was warm and inviting.
I would comment though on two issues as I see them:
Firstly, there seems to be a recurring problem with the hot water in this particular room, one I must add that the manager is aware of. There are plans, so I understand to rectify the problem in the autumn.
The problem is that there is insufficient pressure when the restaurant kitchen and other guests are drawing water to supply this room, it simply dries up altogether.
During certain periods not a drip comes out of the shower and the basin tap is sporadic at best. I had to wait until 11pm one night to get a shower. Water is hot enough when you can get it.
Sort the water out and this is a great room!
The second problem is that the on-suit shower / bathroom is very small, hardly room to swing a cat. This make it only possible for one person to get into the room at any one time and even a normal size person will find it hard to dry themselves once out of the shower, you really need to leave the bathroom door open or graze your knuckles on the walls.
Having said that the manager was extremely helpful and understanding, reducing our bill due to the inconvenience of having no water.
The bar and restaurant offer a good selection of food and drink which is reasonably priced and as previously mentioned the location is very good, close to the harbour and with ample parking at least at Easter.
I would certainly go back again but not to the same room until the water problem is sorted.
I can’t comment on the water pressure in other rooms.
In general a great find, pleasent location and close to local attractions of Eden project and others.

Room Tip: There is a water presure problem in the Crows nest it can dry up altogether, book another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentSteve33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

A group of ten of us have recently booked a table at the Rashleigh Arms over the Easter period. When we arrived we were made to wait 45 minutes before we were showed to our table, the staff were rude and didn't serve us with a smile. When our food came, the chips were frozen in the middle, cold and tasteless. We all had different orders and each of them was just un-edible, the Scampi was burnt and the coleslaw was yellow and warm, jacket potato seemed microwaved and hard in the centre, the carvery was dry and vegetables over cooked. When our replacement meals came, they were even worse than before. This was such a bad experience for all of us and ruined our Easter Sunday! Why should we waste our hard earned money on food and service which is just simple disgusting and totally un-acceptable. Rashleigh Arms you REALLY need to get your act together!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacob-Aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucy b, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

It is not normally our practice to respond to reviews on Trip Advisor good or bad! however there some points i would like to clarify to this visit to our pub.
Firstly we are deeply sorry that you left unsatisfied and dissapointed with your visit on Easter Sunday, there were clearly elements to your meals that were not good enough or represented our normal standards.
Perhaps you were unaware that your table was booked for 2pm and not 1.20pm of which was the time you arrrived, we did sit you at your table before the 2pm arrival slot and it was unfortunate that all the other tables were reserved also for the 2pm sitting, you were informed of this on arrival.
It was me that dealt with you on Sunday and I am genuinely upset that you consider me or our team to be rude, we pride ourselves on our genuine customer service and this could well be the first time that has been proposed to myself.
Our chips are not frozen, we get them fresh every day and when you made us aware they were not to your liking I replaced them straight away along with the replacement meals you were not happy with, you were also not charged for these meals on departure.
The Carvery is constantly re-freshed and at no point was there any mention you were not happy with this, if so we could also have replaced this.
Again we are sorry we ruined your day we did everything we could to rectify your situation however it clearly was not enough however we hope if you visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,599 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.5 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
286 reviews
14.8 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rashleigh Arms

Address: Charlestown Road, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: £89 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rashleigh Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rashleigh Arms was built in 1851 on the foundations of old clay cellars and was given its name after the creator of Charlestown Harbour, formerly West Polmear, Charles Rashleigh. It also boasts probably one of the only Grade II listed car parks in the country, basically the site of old coal storage yards, and is situated in a World Heritage Site. The Rashleigh is ideally positioned in central Cornwall and provides an excellent jump off point for lots of great attractions with the world famous Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan within five miles radius. We are also within sight of the historic Tall Ships and Charlestown harbour, a world heritage site and an attraction in itself. The Pub has moved with times and although over 150 years old boasts eight four star gold rated rooms, a public bar, popular with the locals that shows all live sport and has great bands every fortnight. Our lounge bar is fantastic for relaxing in with large leather sofas and armchairs with a touch of historic Charlestown. The restaurant is modern, open plan and serves locally sourced food from 12 - 9pm every day; and if the weather's good our patio and garden is the ideal place to spend a few hours or more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rashleigh Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rashleigh Arms Hotel St Austell
Rashleigh Arms Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing