We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 counties trip”
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rashleigh Arms
Ranked #14 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Basildon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“6 counties trip”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived at what we thought would be a great stay, we were showed to our room which was nicely furnished with contemporary furnishings ( the room was called the gig) we proceeded to have a couple of drinks in the bar and check out the evening menu which was perfectly acceptable to two weary travellers, we had a couple of drinks in the bar and then went up to the room as my wife wanted to have a relaxing soak n the bath, this was when the trouble started she ran the Tap and called me in as the water was the colour of tea, we asked for the manager to come up and see this for himself only for him to reply that he knew there was a problem but unless the owners upgraded the water inlet then there was little he could do, he did however advise that the owners knew this and still insisted that all the rooms were sold. This is the one and only time my wife and I had to seek alternative accommodation, he was very apologetic and the service up until then was good, I would never recommend this hotel unless they fix the water situation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Accommodation Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I am really sorry that you had such a negative experience and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise.

The Rashleigh Arms is an older building which needs regular maintenance and there is a rolling refurbishment programme in place. Recently there have been intermittent issues with the water supply and I would like to assure you that we have been working closely with the local authorities and that the entire system is going to be overhauled within the next month.

I am pleased that overall the service you received was good and that the Manager did his utmost to alleviate the problems. On speaking with him he explained that he did run the water for you until it was clear and also offered compensation however he understood why you wanted to seek alternative accommodation after this incident.

I have sent you a direct message as we hope that you will visit us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Candace Jury
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    94
    33
    15
    20
See reviews for
64
131
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Despite looking inviting and having a reasonable good choice of food and drink on offer, The Rasleigh Arms let itself down with poor customer service. After waiting well over an hour for our food, the first two meals, for my wife and daughter arrived followed by another 15 minute wait for my sons and my meal to arrive. Although the food was tasty and well cooked, my wife's portion was so small I doubt it would have satisfied an infant. When asked by the waitress if everything was OK, the comment about portion size was passed off by a shrug of the shoulder and promptly ignored. There are plenty of other good pubs and restaurants locally - give the Rasliegh Arms a miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July while attending a wedding in nearby Carlyon Bay.
I loved our room. It was quaint, charming and very clean. And because we booked on hotels.com, we good a good deal in comparison to other nearby/seaside accommodations (during peak tourism dates). Accommodations + hot breakfast for 330 pounds. Breakfast was delicious and portion sizes were large. It was a definite bonus to staying at the Rashleigh Arm -- if you can make it downstairs before 9:30 AM while you're on vacation (which I only managed to do 1 out of 3 days).
The owner was very friendly and hospitable. She showed us to our room which had a partial view of the water over the roofs of the houses between us and the sea and overlooked the outdoor patio which was bustling with people and sounds until about 11 PM. We're heavy sleepers at night so the noise didn't bother us.
The only sore point -- and this isn't the inn's fault -- is that every morning at 5 AM the seagulls would start squawking and squabbling outside out window. So be warned. If you want dead quiet in the morning, you should probably sleep farther away from the sea (and thus, the birds). Or bring earplugs, which we eventually ended up using.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early and require no noise to fall asleep, don't book the Sail room which overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelcarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a small family gathering at this hotel... However I was so upset and shocked by the rude ladies behind the bar .... The food which was as best I can describe as very 80's ...the out door hygiene I could honestly describe as... Dirty cigarette buts all over the floor!!!! I would never go ther e again, I would never waste my hard earned money on this .... These people just want your money and the bar staff commented several times to other locals about the tourists......mental really !! I gave someone my money that I earned working hard ...and it was wasted !!!

Room Tip: Do not touch !! Go to the premier inn which was clean , friendly and value for money !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munroberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Revenue Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent review. With regards to the standards of the food and levels of service you encountered I can only apologise - we certainly take your comments very seriously and will be looking into the points raised. I was surprised to read your comments about the outside areas; hygiene and cleanliness are of utmost importance to us and this is by no means representative of our normal standards. I have sent you a direct message as I would personally like to talk to you about your visit in more detail. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Candace Jury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Beautiful setting, good quality rooms
Extremely expensive, quoted £75 on the phone, booked and arrived late evening and told cost £95 (One person), what can you do late at night.
Extremely noisy, beer garden outside one window, other window on the main road. Do not sleep all night. Other customers also complaining at reception in the morning.
Assistant manageress Nick'y, very rude and stated that she could not control the traffic or other noise like the beer garden and extractor fans going until after midnight. Their windows are single glazed, a dramatic improvement can be gained with fitting Secondary Glazing.
Nick'y also stated that she would get the manager or brewery to email or call me, guess what, no email or phone call.
Basically all they want is to take your money and really do not care if you do not enjoy your stay, because of the location more people will come.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
155 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in "Gig" room, and found the room to be modern, well equipped and comfortable. Also had a small sofa, coffee table. The room is situated on the top floor by roof fans for the hotel so can be noisy, but we were assured at check in that these were switched off at night - and they were.

Also meant that the room was quite hot (but fan was provided).

Bar food was excellent, so was breakfast. Large pub garden with plenty of tables so you can eat outside - watch out for seagulls though.

Hotel is short walk from harbour and has ample on site parking. Would recommend as a great base for exploring this part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the "SAIL" room ( they have names instead of numbers...quaint ... which was well equipped nice and clean with white linen in a lovely new england decorated room, the location is terriffic not only because its 2 minutes walk from the beach/ seafront, but its only 10 minutes from the Eden Project, which was the focus of our visit, food is good and service OK, staff very helpful...nicely run... would recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in SAIL which overlooks the garden, was a little noisey up until 11:30
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevnlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rashleigh Arms

Property: Rashleigh Arms
Address: Charlestown Road, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rashleigh Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rashleigh Arms was built in 1851 on the foundations of old clay cellars and was given its name after the creator of Charlestown Harbour, formerly West Polmear, Charles Rashleigh. It also boasts probably one of the only Grade II listed car parks in the country, basically the site of old coal storage yards, and is situated in a World Heritage Site. The Rashleigh is ideally positioned in central Cornwall and provides an excellent jump off point for lots of great attractions with the world famous Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan within five miles radius. We are also within sight of the historic Tall Ships and Charlestown harbour, a world heritage site and an attraction in itself. The Pub has moved with times and although over 150 years old boasts eight four star gold rated rooms, a public bar, popular with the locals that shows all live sport and has great bands every fortnight. Our lounge bar is fantastic for relaxing in with large leather sofas and armchairs with a touch of historic Charlestown. The restaurant is modern, open plan and serves locally sourced food from 12 - 9pm every day; and if the weather's good our patio and garden is the ideal place to spend a few hours or more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rashleigh Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rashleigh Arms Hotel St Austell
Rashleigh Arms Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing