We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rashleigh Arms
Ranked #15 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year (late booking special deal). Very warm welcome, we were showed to our rooms and everything explained to us. Our room was called 'Gig' very big room, modern and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the pub and was OK.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentlady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your visit to the Rashleigh Arms. The team and I work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests receive first class service at all times, so it is always nice to have great feedback on our pub. I will pass on your comments to our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

We usewd to stay here when they only had 4 rooms which were OK but a bit faded as well as having to enjoy the music from the bar downstairs wheter you wanted to or not. Now with a good make over, new management and good food it is a good OK place to stay and to eat. A very popular place to eat to reservations at peak times is advisable. We eat on a Sunday lunch time in the bar as all the main restaurant tables were booked for a Christmas party and were not disappointed. Good friendly service, prompt service, excellent ales and beers and a sensible price. Next time I will book.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding the customer service, food and ale!(always the most important thing) I will pass on your positive comments to the team who are always glad to receive good feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We weren't absolutely thrilled with this place but it wasn't bad either. We certainly had good service. The food was quite nice, but not excellent. I've only given it an average rating because there's no "good" rating and "very good" is too much - for me it was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your visit to the Rashleigh Arms. The team and I work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests receive first class service at all times, so it is always nice to have great feedback on our pub. I will pass on your comments to our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

visited again recently for a quick bite with friends in St Austell, and got to say I have never reviewed anything before but since the last time we went it has got much better, they have recently started a new menu and it was really tasty and the best presented and tasty burger I have ever eaten. We are going back again next week when I might try something else as well, service and staff were excellent too!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Beccy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meals! It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding the customer service and food. I will pass on your comments to our team who will be glad to hear that you like our new menu.
Thankyou
Rob
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I live locally and have given this pub more than its fair share of chances. My first visit was a while ago and the service was dire. Stood waiting for a table for food for 10 minutes and was totally ignored. Then when we were finally served the food was terrible - The burger I had was dry as a bone and shrivelled up and the other person with me had cold chips and a piece of lettuce that still had the stalk bit with brown spots attached. Took the cold chips back - No apology made - Just taken out the back and came back looking like they have been microwaved.
Gave the place the benefit of the doubt but the next 2 times we went in for drinks, stood at the 'empty' bar and was ignored, even to the point where the woman behind the bar looked at us and turned away. The second occasion, we left. and went elsewhere Have been back with friends a couple of times just for drinks and just feel like our face doesn't fit as we are not a regular and we are not on holiday so they couldn't care less about our custom.
The front bar has no atmospehere, and the restaurant is staffed with indifferent waiting staff who are in no rush to serve anyone.
As a local who eats out at least once a week, the Rashleigh have missed out on regular trade. They need to drop the impression that they only want holiday makers as their reputation for poor food and service in the area will only increase.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Adeybish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback subsequent to your recent meal at the Rashleigh Arms. We were disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the food which you experienced and would like to apologise for the shortfall on this occasion. We take on board all customer feedback and will strive to improve all areas of our business through your constructive comments.
We have a great many locals at the Rashleigh and i am dissapointed you were not made to feel like one, we always get great feedback on our burgers and i am surprised that you didnt like yours, we make all our burgers by hand here at the pub.
We have launched a new menu this week so perhaps you might try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Really nice stay, great breakfast! The view from the room was really good, overlooking the main road down to the harbour. Breakfast was good but shame no coffee machine, just drip coffee. Awesome ale also!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding the customer service, food and ale!(always the most important thing) I will pass on your positive comments to the team who are always glad to receive good feedback, this week has been our ale festival which has been really popular.
Many thanks
Rob
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from my yearly visit to St. Austell and a usual visit to the Rashleigh Arms. The location is perfect for a short stop for a drink on the way to the harbour or spending an afternoon for a lovely meal. The staff are extremely friendly and polite and children are very welcome. We took our nieces and nephews for food which was brought outside to us within an acceptable amount of waiting time. The food was reasonably priced. We ordered fish and chips and I have to say it was better than the fish and chips in Padstow! They were yummy! There has never been a time when we have not been made to feel welcome at the Rashleigh Arms and we would not hesitate to recommend dining or drinking there to all our friends and family. It is definitely a place to return to on our future trips to St Austell.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PKGMANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meals! It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding the customer service and food. I will pass on your comments to our team who will be glad to hear that our Fish and Chips are superior to those experienced in Padstow! of course if i come across a certain Mr Stein i too will pass on that info too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
532 reviews
15.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
934 reviews
14.8 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
1.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#3 of 9 in St Austell
398 reviews
21.5 mi away
Port William Inn
Port William Inn
#4 of 24 in Tintagel
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rashleigh Arms

Address: Charlestown Road, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rashleigh Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rashleigh Arms was built in 1851 on the foundations of old clay cellars and was given its name after the creator of Charlestown Harbour, formerly West Polmear, Charles Rashleigh. It also boasts probably one of the only Grade II listed car parks in the country, basically the site of old coal storage yards, and is situated in a World Heritage Site. The Rashleigh is ideally positioned in central Cornwall and provides an excellent jump off point for lots of great attractions with the world famous Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan within five miles radius. We are also within sight of the historic Tall Ships and Charlestown harbour, a world heritage site and an attraction in itself. The Pub has moved with times and although over 150 years old boasts eight four star gold rated rooms, a public bar, popular with the locals that shows all live sport and has great bands every fortnight. Our lounge bar is fantastic for relaxing in with large leather sofas and armchairs with a touch of historic Charlestown. The restaurant is modern, open plan and serves locally sourced food from 12 - 9pm every day; and if the weather's good our patio and garden is the ideal place to spend a few hours or more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rashleigh Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rashleigh Arms Hotel St Austell
Rashleigh Arms Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing