We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome”
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rashleigh Arms
Ranked #17 of 96 St Austell B&B and Inns
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This inn was picked based on prior feedback for the location and I was not disappointed. The exterior does not give away the pleasures to be found within. In particular, the staff have clearly been well trained, not just in being polite but in naturally engaging with the guests and in providing excellent customer service. The lovely lady who served breakfast was like my favourite aunt - warm, genuine and made me feel most welcome and spoilt. I had a recently refurbished room which was super comfortable and well equipped with some lovely little touches that exceeded expectations.

The dinner menu was of the pub chain style which was a bit disappointing; ' big boy' burger and 'foot-long' hot dog were pushed by the staff as exemplars. I opted for the fish special which was unfortunately over-cooked and had conflicting flavours. The wine list was also disappointing, again typical of pub chains,with low quality and high margins rather than quality.

However, as a venue for exploring the area this Inn is great value with a lovely location with a preserved port. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue and I'm sure that they will improve the menu and wine list. The staff are truly wonderful and the best I have seen for many a moon. Well done!

Room Tip: Superior room with sea view .. try and avoid the rooms above the main bar if you want an early night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our pub, we are glad you enjoyed the welcome and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you
Rob and Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    98
    36
    16
    22
See reviews for
68
139
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Went as a small group for tea early Saturday evening, restaurant fully booked so we sat at a table by the bar, staff very nice. We ordered and the food came out quickly, we ordered small sized meals and they were more than enough, good value for money. I had a steak and it was the best I've had anywhere, everyone was really pleased with the taste of there meals and will definitely be going back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beverley3190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Many thanks for your great 5 star review, we have been working hard recently on our new menu and are glad you liked both the portions and the taste, I will pass on your feedback to the kitchen team and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thankyou
Rob and Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We ate as a group of 44 as part of our conference. We pre ordered and had table plans also name cards with menu selection on the back. Service was great and food was excellent with generous portions. Everyone I spoke to wants to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your visit to the Rashleigh Arms. The team and I work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests receive first class service at all times, so it is always nice to have great feedback on our pub. I will pass on your comments to our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Lucy and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a group booking of 15 people, we pre-ordered the food so thought this would be a help. The tortilla wraps came out as first serving, in a toast rack, which then went cold before the meal could be even started, these were exchanged but were then crispy, some food was given to the wrong people and then swapped, someone was left with no food until we asked for it, some of the puddings had wrong things on the plate. Most of us were left disappointed, such a shame as being locals would normally use the Rashleigh often. No apologies were given by staff for the errors.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Many thanks for your feedback, we will take onboard your comments for the future development of the business and adapt accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bodmin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We went here for a Sunday lunchtime carvery and thoroughly enjoyed our meal we arrived just after twelve and had not booked but were quickly shown to our table and were eating food within ten mins nicely cooked meats homemade Yorkshire pudding superb gravy crisp fresh vegetables and everything was piping hot I would most definitely recommend the rashhleigh Charlestown we will return

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traceybodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your visit to the Rashleigh Arms and your Carvery experience. We have recently upgraded our carvery offer and our getting great feedback thus far, I know the Kitchen will love to hear how much you enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Rashleigh Arms
For the purpose of my review bias, for the last 12 years I have stayed approximately 100 nights a year in the Intercontinental / Holiday Inn Group chain.
Date of stay 28/10/13 – 30/10/13
My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows:

1) Arrival is was easy using the Sat Nav and post code address instructions
2) On arrival at the pub the bar staff were extremely pleasant and friendly.
3) there is plenty of car parking in the adjoining car park which is cobbled and uneven for those with limited mobility.
4) All area’s including the bedrooms where always well kept, tidy and clean.
5) The rooms are what you would expect from a pub with accommodation, they are a little on the small size, but clean and well kept. See the photo’s
6) Breakfast is excellent and the lovely (mature) waitress made the stay extra memorable for me, as she is the epitome of true kindness See photo’s of the breakfast
7) Check out, was straight forward and hassle free.
In summary the pub /hotel scores 4/5 for a good pub with nice foods & good accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresaheadinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments/details regarding your visit to the Rashleigh Arms. The team and I work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests receive first class service at all times, so it is always nice to have great feedback on our pub. Jean our head housekeeper has worked here for 28 years and I know will be please to here your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year (late booking special deal). Very warm welcome, we were showed to our rooms and everything explained to us. Our room was called 'Gig' very big room, modern and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the pub and was OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentlady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your visit to the Rashleigh Arms. The team and I work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests receive first class service at all times, so it is always nice to have great feedback on our pub. I will pass on your comments to our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rashleigh Arms

Property: Rashleigh Arms
Address: Charlestown Road, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rashleigh Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rashleigh Arms was built in 1851 on the foundations of old clay cellars and was given its name after the creator of Charlestown Harbour, formerly West Polmear, Charles Rashleigh. It also boasts probably one of the only Grade II listed car parks in the country, basically the site of old coal storage yards, and is situated in a World Heritage Site. The Rashleigh is ideally positioned in central Cornwall and provides an excellent jump off point for lots of great attractions with the world famous Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan within five miles radius. We are also within sight of the historic Tall Ships and Charlestown harbour, a world heritage site and an attraction in itself. The Pub has moved with times and although over 150 years old boasts eight four star gold rated rooms, a public bar, popular with the locals that shows all live sport and has great bands every fortnight. Our lounge bar is fantastic for relaxing in with large leather sofas and armchairs with a touch of historic Charlestown. The restaurant is modern, open plan and serves locally sourced food from 12 - 9pm every day; and if the weather's good our patio and garden is the ideal place to spend a few hours or more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rashleigh Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rashleigh Arms Hotel St Austell
Rashleigh Arms Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing