We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night abd couldnt recommend enough the staff were very freindly and couldnt do enough for you. There is a pub next door and again very family freindly and reasonably priced which is a bonus will definately stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpssa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    284
    80
    19
    14
See reviews for
288
384
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We picked this hotel due to its close proximity to the Eden project and the surrounding Cornish beaches.

We checked in and were allocated room 6. This room had flooded due to a blocked toilet at some point and as a result there is an unbearable urine stench. The staff were quiet helpful and offered to clean the room, however this made no difference as the smell comes from deep within the foundations. There is also a low pitched winning / buzzing sound which appears to be coming from the adjacent room – maybe a fan or pump.

Also there is no air conditioning, so it gets very hot, and the floors both in the room and the hallway creak!

Other than these issues the breakfast & staff are great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manoj_mira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great welcome on arriva,plenty of parking nothing to much trouble good food and bar next door to Premier inn little bit of a walk to get to St Austell but good place to stay for exploring cornwall by car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

No doubt because of its Cornish location this was quite an expensive stay for 3 nights. £74 per night plus breakfast is not a bargain and although Premier inn have raised the standard of British motel accommodation Whitbread are in danger of providing poor value for money. The associated Carglaze table table proved impossible to book a table on arrival and was bursting at the seams. In fact the Premier inn is miles outside St Austell so they have something of a monopoly. The accommodation meets Premier Inn standards and is perfectly adequate.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here in August, two rooms with 2 adults and 3 kids. After already staying at another hotel in central st Austell this hotel was well out of town, you do have to travel to get anywhere even to eat from this hotel, unless you eat in the pub next door which gets very busy because there isn't anything else around.

We had a fan in our room which was much needed as the room was so hot. Nice huge tv, the largest tv we have had in any premier inn hotel. One side of the hotel looks over the bay (in the far distance) but it was very misty the whole time we stayed so we couldn't see past the car park anyway.

It drives me mad when they put the tea/coffee making facilities under the mirror/dressing table where hair and make up needs to be done so I had to move it all to get ready in the morning, very annoying when they do this, especially when theres plenty of space to put it elsewhere.

This hotel is very near to the Eden project so ideal if visiting there, its a bit further away from the beach but Charlestown is a lovely place to visit for the beach, rock pools, and harbour/boats.

Premier inn have small activity packs for children but you have to ask for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed three nights late July and the hotel has a great location for central and southern Cornwall. It's a little off the beaten track so apart from the Table Table pub next door there isn't anywhere in walking distance.
The hotel itself is a typical Premier Inn - friendly staff on reception, clean rooms with everything you need for a short stay. The room was very warm but he staff had opened the windows, drawn the curtains and left the fan switched on in the room which helped.
Good clean rooms, not too noisy and as always, good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of July. The weather had been warm, not sweltering, but the rooms were uncomfortably hot, with almost no ventilation. As with all Premier Inns the windows only open a small amount, letting in very little fresh air, and there is no other source of ventilation. We had to prop the door open to get any sort of air movement in the room - not very private, but better than heat stroke!
The bed was okay, but I have slept on better at Prem Inns. I wonder whether the mattress is just coming to the end of its life - there were plenty of springs with very little padding over them. Also, as other reviews have said, there is no space beside the beds when the room is set out for four.
Bearing in mind that the main function of these places is to provide a good night's sleep, I'm afraid it failed on that count.
On the plus side, the TV and bathroom were good, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The Table Table restaurant next door is quite acceptable, with plenty of good value meals to be had (especially if you have to feed the kids too). And the nearby main road is barely audible, even with the window open.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrkleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
2.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.2 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel

Property: Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Address: Treverbyn Road | Carclaze, St Austell PL25 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Austell
#2 Business Hotel in St Austell
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the scenic coasts and bays of the Cornish Riviera or take a short drive to the Eden Project ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Austell Hotel St Austell
St Austell Premier Inn
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing