We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

VISIT - 4 nights 9th to 13th August

This was our first visit to a Premier Inn and it won't be our last.

CHECK-IN
This was very quick amd easy. We arrived about an hour early and were able to get into our room which was great. The receptionist on duty was very helpful and friendly.

ROOM
This was spacious, comfy and very clean. The bathroom was a good size and also clean. The shower worked ok but I prefer one that can be hand held as well - this was stuck to the wall permanently. The bed was fine and we slept well. It was quite a bit higher than our bed at home and I had to almost jump up (I'm short!). I liked the top volume on the TV being set so you weren't disturbed or did the disturbing. The room was very hot and although there was already a fan in the room we needed another one. This was provided very quickly. We opted not to have our room cleaned daily but were still able to get tea, coffee and milk as required.

LOCATION

We had a car so the location was great for us. Our prime reason for selecting the hotel was proximity to The Eden Project. It took us less than 10 minutes to get there which was brilliant. We also visited Fowey, Charlestown and, randomly, the HUGE ASDA in St Austell!

FOOD

We were pleasantly surprised with the choice and quality of the breakfasts. We had included the full breakfast with our room and the value is excellent. I liked having the continental selection available and for the first time EVER we were able to actually properly toast bread on one of those conveyor belt toasters. They're usually rubbish but these were very efficient. I also think it's great that you order the hot food you want so I was able to have poached eggs cooked to order. We had one evening meal there which was okay but not brilliant. Probably down to my choice - salmon and salad. My husband had a huge burger which he loved. The staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a decent sized family room - considering the "children" are 16 years old we had enough room. The reception staff were very friendly and attended to our requests for things like extra pillows very quickly. The breakfasts in the next door pub were very good and the staff again friendly. The hotel is a great base for many attractions in Cornwall.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ianto693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent Facility in a location that enabled us to visit lots of local attractions. Room was clean and the staff helpful and friendly. Dinner at the Carclaze was good and has a menu with something for everyone. Book early or later to avoid peak times which did result in a delay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_anderson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

we stayed here recently and was pleasantly surprised, at, not only the great customer service, but the quality of the rooms. We arrived early in the day as we'd travelled quite far, and Naomi, who'd just finished her training was on the desk when we walked in, She offered to store our bags while we explored the area, until our room was ready, She ordered us a taxi to take us to town, gave us maps of the local area and was really pleasant & helpful. When we went to our rooms later, the rooms, were very large, very clean and the bed, oh so comfy, i could've slept for a week!
i would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room - they're huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Cookie cutter Premier package but local staff lovely and accomodating.

Breakfast @ adjacent restaurant/pub brisk paced pleasant service even if the reception ck in for same a tad confused at times , with people wandering in and out and simply seating themselves since no one there ( busy serving ) @ certain peak times and people are in a hurry to get on with their day .

A ways into St Austell proper if not on wheels / View not enhanced by roadway adjacent but all in all does the job .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peripateticgourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stopped here for one night at the start of our trip into Cornwall. It was in a great location and was only 20 mins from the coast, the nearest place is Mevagissey and is a small fishing town but well worth a visit. The on site restaurant at the hotel was nice as are all Premier inn restaurants. The breakfast was good and plentiful. All in all a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wildep46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel advertised as being a "hop, skip and a jump" away from the amenities of St Austell. This is only true if you have a car. We walked and spent most of our weekend away studying the erratic bus service and carrying our shopping up a really steep hill. Never the less the staff at the hotel were really friendly and the room was clean and modern with a lovely view out of the window. There is a 529 bus service that goes from the town and drops you off at the bottom of the hill leading up to the hotel but the receptionist in the hotel wasn't aware of the bus number so we had to discover this ourselves. All in all a great hotel but an awful location for a walker!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
1.8 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
383 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel

Address: Treverbyn Road | Carclaze, St Austell PL25 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Austell
#2 Business Hotel in St Austell
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range: £44 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the scenic coasts and bays of the Cornish Riviera or take a short drive to the Eden Project ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St Austell Hotel St Austell
St Austell Premier Inn
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing