We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Guest Houses we have ever stayed in”
Review of Anchorage House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage House
Ranked #6 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were so fortunate to have booked this excellent accommodation throughout our stay in St Austell. Steve and Jane made us feel so welcome at Anchorage House. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and kept spotlessly clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. I was able to take a swim in the morning and evening in the indoor pool. Jane cooked some wonderful breakfasts and our hosts were both very helpful suggesting places to visit. We would thoroughly recommend staying here and hopefully we will be back this way soon and will definitely be staying longer the next time we visit.

Room Tip: We are sure all rooms will be to the same excellent standard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisgsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I would like to thank Steve and Jane for making our trip to St Austell and our stay with them at Anchorage House special. We were treated like friends instead of guests. Our room was absolutely superb and had everything that we needed. This was for a special birthday and Jane had made sure that we had champagne glasses for our bubbly that we had brought and also had made dinner reservations for the two nights we were there which turned out to be very good. Our breakfast on both days was lovely with the buffet choice and then full English with the best sausages we have eaten in a long time and this kept us going for the rest of the day. Our bed was very comfortable and Huge!!! Because it was a short trip we didn't get a chance to use the pool but hope that next time we will have a bit longer to take advantage of it. We would not hesitate on recommending this fantastic B&B to our friends in fact a couple have already seen our photos and were very envious. Thanks once again for making our stay truly wonderful.
Gill and Tony Hudd from Bristol

Room Tip: we stayed in the room named 'Stunning' which had a huge comfy bed and separate bath and show...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

From the moment we were met at the door by Jane and Steve and offered tea and home-made cake, we knew this was going to be something special. We weren't disappointed.
Their house is beautiful and they go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. It certainly was.
Our room was charming, luxuriously furnished and extremely comfortable. The location is so tranquil but very convenient for visits to Eden, Heligan, Fowey and St Ives to name but a few.
Jane and Steve are quite simply one of the most warm and pleasant couples you could wish to meet and they go out of their way to ensure that you have the very best time. Their local knowledge is fantastic and they are happy to advise on local places of interest, restaurants, directions, parking etc.
We spent 4 nights with them but had such a relaxing time it felt like we'd been away for a week.
I haven't even mentioned the wonderful swimming pool and fantastic breakfasts.
I can't imagine anywhere better to stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful B&B to anyone.
It was an absolute pleasure and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms and all are amazing.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It's always a pleasure to stay at Anchorage House which is such an exquisite B&B. Jane and Steve maintain the highest standards and it is a pleasure to return to stay with them. From the welcome cup of tea and homemade cake on arrival to the comfortable, don't want for anything guest rooms, this B&B is impossible to beat. It has a lovely ambiance. Whenever I am staying in Cornwall, Anchorage House is my B&B of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is an amazing place to stay.

We had never stayed in a B&B before and were pleasantly surprised. From the minute we pulled into the drive we were made to feel extremely welcome by the owners Jane & Steve. We were invited into the lounge for tea and homemade cake! Jane recommended places to eat and made reservations for us and took our breakfast order. Steve asked if we'd like to use the indoor pool and he made it ready for us. We were then shown to our room and left to enjoy.

The room
We stayed in the 'Desirable' room which is a large ensuite room, detached from the house with a little patio table and chairs outside and parking right outside the door! We were able to come and go as we pleased. It had everything you could possibly need and more. Everything in this room is huge, the tv, bed, shower and bath and selection of tea's! The way it is set out is absolutely amazing. The owners have thought of everything even down to the bottle of radox bubble bath!

The pool
Beautifully decorated indoor lap pool which we had to ourselves. Added bonus was the radio, gym and comfy lounger. Dressing gowns, flip flops and towels all available.

Breakfast
Served in the conservatory overlooking the beautiful garden.
Amazing food and choice. Cereal and fruit buffet while you wait for a wonderful full english and delightful poached eggs served with fresh juice and all the toast you can eat. Steve was a wealth of information and recommended places to visit and directions.

To sum up - our weekend stay was brilliant and we felt that by the time we had to say goodbye it was like we were saying goodbye to good friends we had known for a long time. It certainly made a difference to staying in a hotel room. We will definitely come back and recommend to everyone. I really can't understand how one person could give this place only 1 star rating. Did he really stay at Anchorage House?!

Thank you both so much from Colin & Jo

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank roxyrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We wanted to sty at this B&B for a Saturday night. The lady told us we couldn't unless we stayed 2 nights, this seemed strange as I had booked the room on there web site. She rang back and reluctantly said "we could have the cheapest room on this occasion £10 supplement for 1 night stay though. OK I said the wedding is at 1pm, so if we can arrive at 12pm to change that would be great. Oh she said you cant come in until 4pm, this is our home we are busy!!!! I pointed out that as they advertise its a business. Very disappointing as it looks great, but why oh why do some B&Bs make themselves so difficult to deal with, unless they are making to much money!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Robsy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven E, Owner at Anchorage House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

This review is based on a telephone call to us after the reviewer looked at our website and our online Booking Form and saw that there was availability on the one Saturday night he wanted. However, he did not notice our clearly stated policy that as a small, but very popular B and B, we require a 2-night minimum on weekends and Bank holidays. As soon as he telephoned to confirm his desired booking, he was informed of our stated 2-night minimum weekend stay policy. However, he said he was not able to stay two nights as he only wanted to attend a wedding nearby and leave the next day. After thinking about it for a minute, we called him back and offered him our least expensive and smallest double room, instead of the luxury double room he wanted as a consolation to help him out on this occasion. He accepted that offer, but, after all that, then said that he wanted to check-in at 12 noon to get ready for the wedding. At that point we informed him that a 1200 check-in would not be possible because we could not have the room turned around and ready by then, but that he could certainly drop off his bags early. He then briskly and rudely stated words to the affect that 'you are being impossible so just forget the booking', and hung up. Within one day, his 'terrible' and poorly worded review showed up on our Trip Advisor page. We hope the reasonable people will realise that this review does not meet the criteria for being included as a bona fide appraisal of our business. The reviewer NEVER properly booked, paid a deposit nor stayed with us. And furthermore, this review implies that he actually did stay: 'Stayed March 2014, Travelled as a couple', which is totally incorrect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Such a lovely place to stay. Steve and Jane are very good hosts and nothing is too much trouble.They looked after us so well. The room was really comfortable and it is so quiet that you sleep really well. Such a lovely house, everything is so well presented. If we go back that way we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Austell
0.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,576 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
4.7 mi away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#1 of 3 in Fowey
682 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage House

Address: Nettles Corner | Tregrehan Mills, St Austell PL25 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range: £132 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anchorage House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorage House is a luxurious small, private, national award-winning bed and breakfast, and the ultimate in Cornwall, Eden Project and child-free accommodation, offering huge beds and bathtubs, heated indoor swimming pool, small gym, free Wi-Fi and much more. Special attention to detail and flair are evident everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage House Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing