We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb little gem of an apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GUNNADO

Lounge and Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and Dining area
Lounge Bedroom with Picturesque window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Lounge and Dining area
Lounge
Bedroom with Picturesque window
Bedroom with picture window
Views from property
Views from property
Bathroom
Fully fitted kitchen
Fitted kitchen
Secluded Patio and Decking
Private entrance
Fowey harbour
Cliff walk at nearby Par beach
Sunset at nearby Carlyon Golf Club
Secluded beach near Polkerris
New Bedlinen
St.Ives
St.Michaels Mount
Polperro
Readymoney Cove 4 miles from  GUNNADO
Fowey 7 miles from GUNNADO
Mousehole
Hosts Catherine and Rob
'Doc Martin's' House Port Isaac
School in 'Doc Martins'
Port Isaac 'Doc Martin's'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
rubberban...
hereford
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Superb little gem of an apartment ”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on a Sunday and Cathy greeted us with a very warm welcome and showed us around the apartment.
There was such a genuine feel about Cathy and Rob( when we did eventually meet him) , that you relax and totally feel at home in the accommodation they provide. Our small dog was made most welcome too.
The size of the accommodation is perfect for a couple and a dog. The whole place is spotlessly clean, with lovely sized bath towels and quality bedding. Plenty of hangers in the spacious wardrobe too.
The kitchen is a great size and well equipped to make meals for self catering. The dishwasher is a blessing too if you've had a tiring day out sightseeing.
The views from the accommodation are gorgeous - the location in a peaceful cul-de-sac is idyllic. No noise from anywhere to disturb you if you enjoy quiet time with a book on the small private terrace outside.
The location in St Austell is perfect to base yourself, should you wish to have daytrips to nearby Charlestown, Fowey, Mevagissey or Truro as we did.
The local fish and chip shop in St Austell provided us with delicious supper one evening and the Indian takeaway a beautiful supper another evening (both within about a five minute drive from apartment).
This is a superb Cornish gem, which will not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelmar...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Gunnado is much much better than any photos can show. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. The decor is stunning and the position for exploring Cornwall perfect. The views from the cottage are rural and so pretty. To add to everything Cathie and Rob are such helpful and friendly hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!! ”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night break which we had been anticipating since receiving it as a Christmas gift from our children - we were not disappointed. We were warmly greeted on arrival by Cath, who showed us to the apartment (adjoining but totally separate to the main house) & who then clearly explained everything that we needed to know. Both she and Rob made us feel so welcome, even checking what time we would like the heating to come on. The apartment itself is immaculately clean and has everything you need for a self- catering holiday. A nice touch was the welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits. The apartment is tastefully decorated and includes some quirky bits of art work, including a tattoo gun table lamp (I want one!!). There is an amazing view across the valley which is especially enjoyable when viewed from the comfort of the reclining arm chair next to the window. We loved our stay and our nearly 2 year old Cocker Spaniel Reggie was made equally as welcome as us. We are happy to recommend Gunnado & would love to make a return visit ourselves. Go on, book yourself in - you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Wow! Thank you for your detailed and informative review. Your very kind words and meeting people like you make us love what we do. We thought it was a treat for Reggie to stay too. You are all very welcome to come back, we would be honoured to host you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tig C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts and excellent accommodation. ”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I have stayed in many holiday homes around the world and my wife and I shall certainly be returning to this one.

The facilities are excellent and we'll maintained, everything is clean, tidy and not outdated. At the same time the lamps and other decorations add a wonderful character to the place.

On the subject of character, our hosts are a fantastic couple who are friendly, incredibly approachable and helpful, and gave excellent local knowledge on where to visit and eat.

Unlike so many places in this price range there is no compromise anywhere to be found.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such an authentic informative review. We loved having you stay at GUNNADO and hope to see you return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford21...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Owners make the difference”
Reviewed 13 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in self contained accommodation over most of the world (except USA), Gunnado is equal to the best in our experience. What made the difference here was not the accommodation, but the people. Cath and Rob are super friendly, even helping with the washing and drying of clothes that had piled up after our Holy Land experience. They taught us how to pronounce Launceston (Lawnston) as opposed to our Launceston (Lawn Ces Ton). Nothing was too difficult for them, they really enjoy people. We felt entirely at home in their lovely apartment located at the end of a quite cul de sac. The only advise I can offer any potential customer is make sure you have a car. There is so much to see in Cornwall. If I ever travel back to Cornwall I know where I will be staying, as long as Cath and Rob are still the owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Wow, what lovely kinds words. We loved having you over in Cornwall. You are right we do really enjoy people and being part of their travel experience is very special, we loved hearing about your travels. We try to offer as much help and guidance as each individual guests needs, or not. If you ever find yourselves in Cornwall in the future hopefully you will look us up again. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Thank you for your amazing review, we loved having you stay and look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
arsenal34
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All you could possibly need and more in an apartment.”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Situated in St Austell , it is an ideal base to travel all over Cornwall.The apartment has the ' Wow' factor ,from the outside to the inside.The private decking area outside is lovely to sit on and relax while you look out over the valley and just relax.It is a spotless,well equipped apartment and the massage shower is great after walking all day.Catherine is a great host who has thought of everything to make you're holiday special. You arrive to milk , tea and coffee there for you and fresh flowers.We would not go anywhere else as this apartment and Catherine are fantastic !! Booked for next year already.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We loved having you stay, you are very special guests. Thank you so much for the gorgeous flowers and for leaving the apartment is an immaculate condition. We can't wait to host you again next year!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing