We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”
Review of Coastguard House

Coastguard House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coastguard House
Ranked #75 of 97 St Austell B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Coastguard House overlooks Charlestown harbour and the views are simply fantastic! The location itself makes the stay worthwhile, add to this Sandra's homely hospitality and it's a truly winning combination. The decor and facilities were a bit dated when we stayed but Sandra was in the middle of updating the property. She serves a hearty breakfast and happily accommodates individual preferences. There are fantastic eateries within walking distance including the simply superb Pier House.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Staying at Coastguard House, is just like staying with a member of Your Family, Sandra greeted us with a welcoming smile and the House was open all the time, if you wanted to pop back for a Tea or Coffee. The location and views memorable, the Great Breakfast would keep you going ALL Day, Good Food and Local Beers were only a short walk away, as was the Beach and the Harbour. Great location for a visit to Eden Project ( about 5 Miles away ). We WILL be staying again and again, now we have found it, GEOFF and SUE

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOFFTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Coastguard House has one of the best views in Charlestown and a fascinating owner. Totally yummy organic breakfasts, a warm welcome and fabulous views will all help to make this a stay to remember. An intimate establishment where the rooms vary in size. Make sure you book the larger one with the two single beds and a view! The breakfasts are out of this world .Not the cheapest of B and B's but you must take into account the position. There is also parking which is often very difficult in Charlestown. Quirky but great fun. The visitor's book says it all with plenty of repeat bookings.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The owner Sandra went out of her way to make our short stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are very clean & the views stunning. The breakfast was superb, everything cooked as you like it, to order, & totally organic. Nothing is too much trouble for Sandra she made us feel very much at home. We plan to go back next year as we feel we've made another lifelong friend to add to our christmas card list.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shortyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2009

En suite room with jacuzzi bath which included shower attachment which was awkward to use without getting water everywhere. The bathroom was spacious however there was a folding bed, cot and portable tv stored to one side. The room was decorated in a more dated style and although amenities were clean other areas were generally dusty. Although we didn't particularly want to watch tv we could only access 3 channels.
Shared breakfast table with other guests which was ok but we would have preferred to have sat seperately.
Sandra was keen for us to feel welcome and enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed for two days whilst doing the south west coastal path walk with our dog. We were planning a day off from walking and hoped to fit in the Eden project. Sandra our host was amazing, very warm and welcoming, and she completely spoilt our dog which enabled us to have the day at the Eden project without worries. The breakfasts were generous and high quality. Our room (didn't have sea view) but was nice, well equipped with a large ensuite bathroom with a huge jacuzzi bath, albeit with slightly eccentric plumping. Fantastically comfortable bed. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We stayed just for a night while visiting the Eden project. Sandra was very helpful, the room was comforatble and clean and breakfast was very good. Will go back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seftondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Austell hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rashleigh Arms
Rashleigh Arms
#14 of 97 in St Austell
292 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.3 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 17 in Par
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastguard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastguard House

Property: Coastguard House
Address: 11 Charlestown Road | Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Also Known As:
Coastguard House Cornwall/St Austell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing