We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great last minute weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Porthpean Beach 3 Miles
Fowey 8 Miles
Eden Project 5 miles
Mevagissey 6 Miles
Padstow
St Micheals Mount
St Ives
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Manofthel...
1 review
“Great last minute weekend”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely weekend in the apartment and we were very grateful that the owners allowed us to stay at such short notice (we booked on a Friday afternoon and needed a place to stay that evening). The place was immaculate and has a lovely interior (plus a great shower / comfy bed). Appreciated that the owners left a bottle of wine, tea, coffee, milk and clotted cream. We were also allowed to keep bikes in the garage which was helpful.

The rental is in a quiet area near to the centre of St. Austell, which was a good base to explore some nice parts of Cornwall from. We cycled to the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan (both 45min bike rides and well worth the visit) and also got over to the quaint harbour of Mevagissey. Cycle route 3, heading south from St. Austell is beautiful!

Thanks for the stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Glad we could help you out at the last minute and even better that you enjoyed it so much
Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare L
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning apartment, great location”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My fiancé and I decided to take a short break before our wedding in December and happened upon the Gylly Flat. What a find! Great design, beautifully finished and presented to an exceptionally high standard. The owners were there to greet us and responded instantly to a minor issue in the bathroom, putting it right immediately. It's a great location for exploring Cornwall and a lovely place to return to after the day's activities. We will happily recommended the apartment to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for the review and hope you can come back soon
Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLozBoz
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay! Loved it!”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last week. It was a beautiful apartment, really bright, spacious and modern, with every appliance you could need. TV box, wi-fi, gas hob, all just great.

The decor was lovely and clean, the bed is really comfy, and the shower was amazing.

It's very close to the local shops for supplies, and it's only a short distance from some gorgeous beaches and fantastic coastal walks.

There's space to park, and to sit out on the decking and have tea, we even saw a squirrel and a blue jay out there. It's in a nice quiet area.

I'd move in there in a heartbeat! :D

The owners had thoughtfully made up a welcome pack, on how to use everything in the apartment, and supplied lots and lots of leaflets from local attractions and potential days out, so we could plan activities really easily.

I had a fabulous time here, we'd definitely recommend this to anybody, as long as you don't mind the stairs up to the place. Would stay here again. 10/10

Thanks for such a great place to have our honeymoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Hi Laura
Thank you so much for the review and for choosing our apartment for your honeymoon, so pleased you enjoyed your stay
Kindest regards Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for choosing our apartment, so glad you enjoyed your stay please come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wilko72
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from a week in Gylly Flat and what a great week we had. The apartment was amazing and finished to such a high standard and it was absolutely spotless. It was exactly like the pictures and there is a real WOW factor as you walk in. Mark and Jan have thought about absolutely everything you could possibly need and provided it. The wine, milk and cream on arrival was a welcome addition. We received a very warm welcome on arrival and it was good to know Mark and Jan were available if needed.
There are many recommendations made of places to visit and restaurants to try in the extensive range of leaflets provided in the apartment. We found the White Hart particularly good and within walking distance too!
We found it to be the perfect base to explore Cornwall and with it being a 10-15 min walk to the bus/train station we didn't use the car once. There are good links to the Eden Project, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, and St Michael's Mount. Charlestown is within walking distance if you don't mind walking and the coastal path to Par provides some stunning views. We both highly recommend the brewery tour at St Austell's Brewery if you enjoy real ales - make sure you book in advance though as the 'access all areas' tour only takes place on a Friday at 2pm.
Saying we would highly recommend this apartment as a place to stay is an understatement as it was 'simply perfect' for us in every way. We would definitely book again if we were heading down that way as I'm sure we wouldn't find anywhere as lovely as Gylly Flat.
Thank you Mark and Jan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of finish
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
So kind of you to give such amazing comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you and hope you are able to come back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara A
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top class apartment”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Hi spec lovely apartment, bit hard to find at first , we chose St Austell to be near Eden Project , lots to do and see but a but far to walk to anything , lots of suggestions in apartment and we followed a few recommendations , can't fault to apartment in any way but we weren't too keen on the area, however good position to explore Cornwall X would and have recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
So glad you enjoyed the Apartment, we have reviewed the directions to the apartment and amended them, many thanks for the review
Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie994
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just a perfect apartment with the wow factor when you walk in. Ideal base for exploring Cornwall with the Eden Project and Lost Gardens on Heligan on the doorstep and Tintagel, Boscastle and Port Isaac within easy reach. St Austell town is within walking distance and we made several visits to the Nepalese restaurant. The wine, milk and cream was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of St Austell
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for choosing to stay in our apartment, we really are glad you both enjoyed your stay
kindest regards Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing