We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem ciscovered”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Porthpean Beach 3 Miles
Fowey 8 Miles
Eden Project 5 miles
Mevagissey 6 Miles
Padstow
St Micheals Mount
St Ives
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jaykay66
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem ciscovered”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in the Gylly flat for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is truly a 5 Star holiday rental and is of exceptional standards.
It really does have everything for a short break or even longer. It has a large lounge diner area which has all mod cons for self catering.
The bedroom is also large and the bed is one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
The bathroom contains wash basin, heated towel rail, toilet and a very large shower ( which you won't want to get out of ! ).
The flat is a credit to the owners Jan and Mark,who are very friendly and helpful and the welcome pack of milk, Cornish cream and wine helped us to settle in straight away.
The flat is situated in a quiet hilly area so a car is a must. However it is is easy reach of the local attractions such as the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Haligan, St .Austell is in easy reach of places like St. Ives, Padstow, and Falmouth which makes the flat ideally situated.
We enjoyed it so much that we tend to come back next year again, only this time for just a little longer.
We can highly recommend the Gylly flat to anyone visiting the area. You will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Hi Guys, many thanks for your review, look forward to you coming again
kindest regards
Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine m
1 review
“Lovely 3 night stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely time at the apartment. Everything was perfectly designed and very sleek. It was very quiet to and peaceful. The shower is great. And we had been given a lovely bottle of wine and clotted cream on arrival and had coffee and tea and milk already there to make a nice cup of coffee on arrival. We loved it. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you Sabine, hope you can come back again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel-Sh...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in May 2016

Firstly I want to apologise to Mark and Janice for such a late review, it was only now when looking to book a visit to their beautiful apartment again that I noticed I did not leave a review last year.

Simply put, if you are looking for an apartment in this area of Cornwall then I suggest that you book this one right now, I do not believe you would get any accommodation as amazing as this one for such reasonable money anywhere else, no matter how hard you look.

The owners are lovely and give you all the relevant information for check in at the time of your booking. They seem more than happy to answer any questions you may have and share their local knowledge with you. There is also a very well put together information pack inside the apartment that I found incredibly helpful.

The location is up a pretty and quite lane away from any local noise and is perfectly situated to visit all of Cornwall. And although the apartment is next door to the owners house you have complete privacy along with your own decking outside the back of the apartment.

Now, the apartment its self is brilliant. The decoration is nicely done with a modern theme and in perfect condition. Inside is everything you could possible need including a fully equipped kitchen, hair dryer, DVD player etc. It has great amount of space and is somewhere that you can truly make home during you stay.

We will definitely be visiting again in the future.

Thank you for helping make our holiday so awesome with such a perfect place to stay.

Dan and Erin Shenton

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Hi Guys
Many thanks for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again
Kindest regards Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camper594...
1 review
“Perfectly peaceful, modern and spacious”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We chose this flat as it was ideally situated for visiting relatives. Beautifully presented, all mod cons and gorgeous bathroom, especially the shower. Flat was warm and cosy and more spacious than it looks from the pictures.
Very peaceful and the bed is extremely comfy.
The christmas touches along with the wine, milk and cream were greatly appreciated. We hope to be back soon!
Many thanks
Julie and Dean

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Hi Julie and Dean
Many thanks for choosing our apartment and it will be great to see you again, take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manofthel...
1 review
“Great last minute weekend”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely weekend in the apartment and we were very grateful that the owners allowed us to stay at such short notice (we booked on a Friday afternoon and needed a place to stay that evening). The place was immaculate and has a lovely interior (plus a great shower / comfy bed). Appreciated that the owners left a bottle of wine, tea, coffee, milk and clotted cream. We were also allowed to keep bikes in the garage which was helpful.

The rental is in a quiet area near to the centre of St. Austell, which was a good base to explore some nice parts of Cornwall from. We cycled to the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan (both 45min bike rides and well worth the visit) and also got over to the quaint harbour of Mevagissey. Cycle route 3, heading south from St. Austell is beautiful!

Thanks for the stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Glad we could help you out at the last minute and even better that you enjoyed it so much
Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare L
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning apartment, great location”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My fiancé and I decided to take a short break before our wedding in December and happened upon the Gylly Flat. What a find! Great design, beautifully finished and presented to an exceptionally high standard. The owners were there to greet us and responded instantly to a minor issue in the bathroom, putting it right immediately. It's a great location for exploring Cornwall and a lovely place to return to after the day's activities. We will happily recommended the apartment to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for the review and hope you can come back soon
Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLozBoz
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay! Loved it!”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last week. It was a beautiful apartment, really bright, spacious and modern, with every appliance you could need. TV box, wi-fi, gas hob, all just great.

The decor was lovely and clean, the bed is really comfy, and the shower was amazing.

It's very close to the local shops for supplies, and it's only a short distance from some gorgeous beaches and fantastic coastal walks.

There's space to park, and to sit out on the decking and have tea, we even saw a squirrel and a blue jay out there. It's in a nice quiet area.

I'd move in there in a heartbeat! :D

The owners had thoughtfully made up a welcome pack, on how to use everything in the apartment, and supplied lots and lots of leaflets from local attractions and potential days out, so we could plan activities really easily.

I had a fabulous time here, we'd definitely recommend this to anybody, as long as you don't mind the stairs up to the place. Would stay here again. 10/10

Thanks for such a great place to have our honeymoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Hi Laura
Thank you so much for the review and for choosing our apartment for your honeymoon, so pleased you enjoyed your stay
Kindest regards Mark and Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing