We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yeah its cheap but....”
Review of Cornish Arms

Cornish Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Blazey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornish Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 St Blazey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2010

the pub looks nice from the outside but it needs updating and a bit of air freshner and good clean wouldn't go a miss.

the staff were all really friendly and happy to help but the basics are so not right with this pub and the locals who drink in it really dont help the situation, if you just looking for a place to lay your head and nothing more then yep book it as its the cheapest you will find in the area but if you want an enjoyable relaxing break spend the extra

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucaloo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

i have just returned from the cornish arms,i am in my late 60s im so glad i did not take notice of the reviews on the travel advisor as they all seemed to had these awful experiences at the same time which sounds a bit suspect or they stayed in a different cornish arms. my daughter and myself were greeted by the landlord ,someone then took our cases to our room, the bedding,towels was freshly laundered and white,we were asked if we needed anything the next morning towels etc , what we needed was replaced,breakfast was full english, or whatever you wanted in what ever combination you required.they did have a dog but i didnt ever see the dog in the pub i only ever saw it outside with a deflated football ,waiting for someone to throw for him.great ,place great people and little woofie we will be going back so thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

stayed here many times before and have never had any problems, always greeted by warm and welcoming staff. Large carpark, easy access to local attractions. Prices resonable, and food great, prices even better ;o). Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlc247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

overcharged on bookin dirty damp horrible and thats just the staff
the room was filthy damp back mould on walls shower filthy sink filthy hanging off wall toilet dirty even had wee on the seat when we arrived cups dirty cutlery dirty staff unhelpful once they got your money it was stuff you
the place needs closing down deepcleaning a refurb wouldnt go a miss new staff the waiter/barman was still drunk in the morning serving breakfast coughing over the food still wearing the same clothes as the previous day and looking like he had slept in them overpowering smell of damp everywhere dogs roaming loose must say not the best advert for cornish hopitality wouldnt recomend it to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller12345678901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We arrived in St Blazey and stopped at the Cornish Arms whilst we got our bearings. We parked on the carpark to peruse our map and then go into the pub for a drink.... But never made it that far!! The landlord and his wife came out into the carpark with 2 dogs, one being a very large alsation, The alsation was very aggresive and came running to us barking and growling whilst the other dog jumped in our open car. The alsation would not back off untill the landlord came over and very rudely asked us what we were doing in his carpark, and told us to put our dog in the car before his alsation attacked it!! (even though we couldnt get in the car cause of the other dog that had jumped in!!) The lanlord and his wife then walked off saying "good dog" to the vicious alsation.
These owners have NO Idea how to run a pub and be hospitable, and to add, the landlord and his wife (And dogs) looked dirty and unhygenic!! Because we were looking at our map they presumed we were not going to go in for a drink and treated us terribly!! I would advise anyone with small children to stay away from this pub as the dog was VERY aggressive and the owners seemed to praise it!! We were very close to calling the police, for fear this dog will cause harm!! Needless to say we did not go in for that drink, and reading the reviews on here, i'm glad!! STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I came to the cornish arms looking for somewhere to stay with some friends, we came down to cornwall at the last minute in hope we could find somewhere. I walked into the cornish arms and was greeted by the very friendly owners who showed us to our rooms which were basic but very clean and just what we needed, we were told all about eating times, fire points and also local places to visit. We went for a walk down to the local beach as they recommended which was lovely on return we were seated for dinner by the very friendly barman the food was excellent and we decided to eat there each night. We were very surprised to see the deals they had on such as curry night for £5 which was excellent! Breakfast was lovely and just what we needed to get us through the day. At the end of our stay we were reluctant to leave as it was such a friendly and welcoming place to stay! All in all we all had a great week and will definately be going back again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmekatiekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Just got back from a three night stay, wish I'd read the other reviews before going! First of all the staff were awful, the manager was outside and saw me struggling with my suitcase, so he promptly went inside!
I paid in full then he showed me in the general direction of my room, again offering no help. There was a small TV in the room, had no remote which didn't matter as it wasn't tuned in.
Went down to the pub area in the evening, which was a mistake as apart from a couple of other guests, the only customers were drunken psychos. After serving two of their regulars, who already seemed to be high on drink or drugs, with snakebite with a shot on the side, I pointed out to the barman that this was illegal. Obviously this didn't go down too well.
The room was sort of tidied in the mornings, but they never seemed to change any of the towels or sheets etc. Didn't bother with breakfast in the mornings, I'm sure it would have given me food poisoning. To top it off, the pub had a very loud live band in the evenings, which meant that unless you too went out and got drunk, then sleep before 12 was impossible.
Overall, I think the worst thing about the place was the attitude of the staff. Once they have your money they couldn't care less. If you want to experience life in a squalid little pub then The Cornish Arms is your place. Just don't expect to want to return to Cornwall again in a hurry.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinkermanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cornish Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornish Arms

Address: Cornish Arms Church Street, St Blazey PL24 2NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Blazey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St Blazey
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cornish Arms St Blazey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing