We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and beautiful Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Redgate Smithy B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Cleer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redgate Smithy B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 St Cleer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

My Mum and I stayed her for 8 nights and it was the best holiday of my little Cocker Spaniel life! ... Wow I loved it so much and I loved Julie, Clive and my new bestest friend Brydy!! they were the nicest people and dog you could ever wish to meet and so welcoming to Mum and me ... Even my favourite toy "Wabbit" was made to feel welcome ! .. Mum said the breakfasts were so delicious and everything about Redgate Smithy is wonderful, the rooms are spotless and so pretty, the location wonderful and the garden a lovely quiet haven... I had a brilliant time when Mum left me with Julie, Clive and Brydy for the day as I got them to myself without Mum butting in!! ... Whether you stay with or without a dog its a truly wonderful place .. I was sad to leave as had hoped Mum would forget to take me home so that I could stay forever but no such luck as she put me in the car and home we went !..Thank you Auntie Julie, Uncle Clive and my lovely friend Brydy for our wonderful stay and can't
wait to come back .. Lots of love
from Jem (aka "lettuce"!!) and Mum xx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very good location and obviously an old building, which made our stay more interesting. Room was a little snug with a small, but adaquate bathroom. We actually had a folding chair and table in our room, but there was just one problem - if you put up the chair and table there would be absolutely no room to move. Beds were comfortable and the food was excellent, so I really have no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purrinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Clive and Julie could not do a enough for us, and gave barney our pet the hoilday break ever, the breafast was do die for, a very lovely place to stay.when we arrived after a very long journey, a muffin and a cup of tea, also u stay longer, a free night is offered, and a bottle of wine, very nice touch.gave it all to all there guest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely B&B - my room was beautiful with lots of nice little touches that made it feel like a home from home.
As all the other reviews have said the welcome is amazing, the breakfast is delicious and so on.

But it is all the additional details that help to make this such a special place to stay. On arrival I was offered a cup of tea in the conservatory, that was served with some homemade chocolate tiffin. There was a thunderstorm and I was told to borrow an umbrella when I was going out. The "Little Book of Cornwall" was a delight to go through in my room (along with other books that had thoughtfully been put in my room).

I would happily recommend the Redgate Smithy to anyone.

Room Tip: I had the double room with en-suite shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

A marvellous B & B which was immaculately clean, and served superb breakfasts based on local produce. The hosts (Clive and Julie) went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The B & B is based in a lovely rural location and is just the ticket for chilling out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our 5th visit to Julie and Clive's home. It's such a shame we live 288 miles away otherwise we'd be there on a more frequent basis. If I write too much about the mouth-watering breakfasts and the difficulty in choosing between the many outstanding dishes (as well as Julie's muesli which I start anticipating a week before our stay), the beautiful wild garden, the jay and the woodpecker we saw on the bird feeder during our breakfast, the super views from the best bedroom (the garden room), the welcome from Bridie their dog and Clive's always correct meteorological forecasts there may not be any spaces left on the calendar for our next visit.
If you are in Cornwall a stay in Redgate Smithy is a must!

Room Tip: The garden room. the view of the garden is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A most enjoyable time. Fabulous accomodation in a most beautiful spot. Clive and Julie (and Bridie) went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent ,the room was sunny and inviting, a very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and lots of information available on the local area and Cornwall. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Cleer
1.4 mi away
Trecarne House
Trecarne House
#1 of 1 in St Cleer
56 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cabilla Manor
Cabilla Manor
#3 of 43 in Bodmin
93 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nebula Guest House
Nebula Guest House
#1 of 15 in Liskeard
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mennabroom B&B
Mennabroom B&B
#8 of 43 in Bodmin
67 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pine Green Valley Caravan Park
2.6 mi away
The Cheesewring Hotel
The Cheesewring Hotel
#6 of 15 in Liskeard
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redgate Smithy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redgate Smithy B&B

Address: Redgate | St Cleer, Liskeard, Cornwall, St Cleer PL14 6RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Cleer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St Cleer
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redgate Smithy B&B is a 200 year old converted Smithy, situated just above the beautiful Golitha Falls on the southern edge of Bodmin Moor in Cornwall. We have three cottage style rooms available; our Double En-suite room, our "Garden Double" room (with Private Bathroom) that overlooks the garden, and a Single En-suite room. We provide an extensive and tasty breakfast menu, served in the light and airy conservatory overlooking the garden, and there are excellent pubs and restaurants locally for your evening meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redgate Smithy B&B St Cleer, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing