We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location and property perfect self...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Puckator Barn End

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset at Puckator Farm Bodmin Moor is a Dark Sky area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Sunset at Puckator Farm
Bodmin Moor is a Dark Sky area
Wildlife at Puckator Barn
Driveway to the Barn End
Bluebells can be found far and wide during the Spring
Our camping field
Some of the gardens at Puckator Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Cleer, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Roz W
CHESHIRE,ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely location and property perfect self catering holiday.”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from this property. It is in a lovely location. Ideal for traveling around the area. Liskeard is very close and handy for shopping, really nice property, would love to stay there again in the
future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Hi Roz,

Thank you so much for sharing such a positive review, we try really hard to make the farm a comfortable place to stay for everyone who visits. We hope to see you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great base, great place.”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have recently returned from a stay at Barn End with the wife and our three young boys. The accommodation itself is excellent - very comfortable and well stocked for all your needs. This place is out of the way enough to be remote and very quiet with great views, but it is also a great base for days out - our boys like the beach, so we visited Looe (twice), Talland Bay, Seaton along with a castle visit to Restormel Castle, a nice walk through Golitha Falls woods and even a trip to Lappa Valley Railway which is on the outskirts of Newquay, but really quite a short drive away. The boys had great fun and we have booked to return - I think we need to plan an itinerary for next time! There is a Morrisons and Lidl just a few minutes drive along with Liskeard town centre (great and cheap train journey to Looe which the boys loved). The village of St. Cleer has a couple of nice pubs and a village farm shop which is also very nice, and these are just a 5 minute walk.
I can't think of another thing that Barn End would need to improve your stay - even the owners who live on site for very welcoming and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable authentic accomodation and quiet location.
Liked least: There is only a forecourt area rather than a garden (but there are meadows on site)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for such a positive review, we try very hard to make sure our guests feel welcome. We look forward to seeing you all soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jax8115
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fabulous friendly & delightful! Great location. Ideal base to explore!”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I rented Puckator to be close to my family who live in the local village of St Cleer. I arrived quite late, but was greeted by the owners almost as soon as my car pulled up which made me feel very welcome.
The barn itself is delightful and very beautifully converted, the beds were amazingly comfortable, and I slept the best I have slept in months.........
All the little extra's such as bread milk and butter, shower gel and shower cap, were an unexpected pleasure!
My only small criticisim would be that the leather couch only comfortably seats 2 people, however if you are planning to be out and about for most of your stay then this would probably be irrelevant!
On the whole we were extremely happy and will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Many thanks for such a positive review, we really appreciate all the feedback we receive and we're so glad to know you enjoyed your stay. The sofa is something we will be addressing over the winter by repairing the seat on the existing sofa and perhaps adding a more comfortable club chair rather than the wooden arm chair. Do you think that would be more suitable?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pumbar77
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Slumberland”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were greeted with chilli jam,bread and milk ...much appreciated
Idyllic setting ... Great views ...and the most comfortable beds ...Ever
Friendly and helpful owners ... Can't wait to return

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thank you for such a positive description of Puckator Barn End, we loved the tagline! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boredinth...
ledbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and nicely converted barn - good location for exploring Cornwall”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had a lovely long weekend here in April 2015. We were out and about most days but loved coming back to the barn in the evenings and eating dinner with the log burner on - really cosy. It has been nicely converted to a high standard and is well equipped for cooking, it has a washing machine, some toiletries, towels and linin, tv, also the fresh bread, milk, jam and tea and coffee were very welcome upon arrival.
We didn't see much of the owners except when we first arrived but knew they were close by if needed.
The village is very small with some niceish walks and a decent farm shop.
The only thing I think that's worth mentioning is that the main living room / kitchen was quite cold - there was only the log burner (which is not practical to use all of the time) and a small electric fan under the cooker. The tiled floor was particularly cold and makes wearing slippers / thick socks essential. The room is possibly hard to heat with a tallish ceiling but it could do with a radiator or underfloor heating. In the summer I think it would be great. Bedrooms had radiators and we found them cosy and comfortable
I would have no problem recommending this place to friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Dear Lucy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we try to take all comments on board and use them to make improvements for future guests. We are really glad you enjoyed your break and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Gemma.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azi M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We really did enjoy our stay. Such a lovey place, very clean and new. When we went there was cold so it was so nice finding heated blanket in our bed. Everything we needed was there. We will go back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJWarner7...
1 review
“Great location, highly recommended.”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A beautiful location run by a friendly family. A well appointed cottage with all mod cons. Quiet and peaceful location, we all slept really well. Great views of Bodmin Moor and an excellent water sports lake nearby. Lovely pub and farm shop with excellent local produce a short walk away. Highly recommend this cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing