We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great place to eat out”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Erth Praze
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Smugglers Inn
2 reviews
“Such a great place to eat out”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We visited here for dinner during our holiday. We liked it so much, that we came again.
My dad had the cod and chips and couldn't believe his eyes when he saw how large the fish was. When we returned for the second time, my parents shared the cod and chips between them. :-)
we cannot fault the food and the service. The staff were friendly and very helpful! If and when we come back to hayle, we'd certainly come again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank binty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
12
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,162 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,159 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Cannot say much about a pub/restaurant that serves food like this place does.We regularly stay nearby in Hayle and frequent this lovely place.Our food was awesome.The waiting staff were helpful and not in your face either.They also have a huge car park.The smugglers inn is about 2 miles from Hayle heading towards Helston on the B3302.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here whilst working in Hayle. Have to say that the welcome was fantastic, the owners most hospitable. Food was amazing, in fact out of this world, a real home cooked meal after getting in from work. The deco was great, the entertainment was a welcomed bonus. The locals were really welcoming and made us feel most at home. We would not hesitate in recommending this as a truly great place to lay your head! We cannot wait to go back and have already recommended it to friends and work colleagues alike for both a place to stay if your working or a place to stay if visiting for pleasure.

Room Tip: No Pool or fitness centre. Rooms are not Hilton or Royal Meridian but clean and quite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We went for Sunday lunch on 12 May 2013. The food was very good, well priced, decent sized portions and the beef was very tender. Desert was home made and very nice. However, the place was freezing inside and the overall décor is shabby, the toilets were a bit grimy to say the least. The jazz we heard was good but to go into the jazz room was £5 a head which we thought was too much for a weekend jam session.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gymmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Recently visited for Sunday lunch with my family while on holiday. We all really enjoyed the meal. My husband especially enjoyed the live jazz music that was coming from the other room. A really nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

slightly over priced but that went out of the window when food came best steak ive ever tasted cooked to perfection, service was brilliant to would deffinately go back for more. never stayed there but rooms seem cheap enough as well iff you need a short break good location to travel around

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

At the last minute, I accommodated myself here for break with my family (who were staying with friends in St Ives). There was a friendly welcome from Wayne and Teresa and fine meals with fresh, locally-sourced produce (I recommend the speciality fish pie -which is very special) assured my stay was a very pleasant one indeed.

Though only 1/2 hour's walk from the coast and 15 mins drive from St Ives, this Inn was like something you fortuitously discover away from the tourist track in some rural backwater of Spain or France, with honest cuisine and reasonable prices. It's where the locals and their families throng noisily in the eccentrically compartmented, low-beamed plan, with its non-named large canvases of brandy-runners and mythical maritime scenes, in the course of their meal night-out. This is a real working country hostlery and is refreshingly devoid of pretension and silly Tate-inspired room charges, which seem to be the norm elsewhere in the St Ives area. There are chickens running around the garden. The periphery of the well-mown lawn has nettles and backs straight onto farmland. Get over it! This is the countryside!

My en-suite room with double bed was clean-painted with a tv and views to the coast and St Ives beyond. Bathroom facilities were spotless and very adequate. There was no Wifi and, thankfully, no sculpture or other artworks, nor proclamations of investment in organic carpets or Japanese garden. For these you would doubtless be expected to pay £50-60 and upwards per night in St Ives and its surrounds for a single room, and where you'd also be expected to consider yourself privileged to be allowed to stay and, likely as not, be viewed askance by the proprietress with hollow-eyed suspicion till your departure. I paid less than half that amount and experienced never less than genuine, interested, cordiality from my hosts but which was never overdone or laboured. All in all, a great place to chill, observe and chat with authentic Cornishmen and women, and unhurriedly plan your trips in this retreat by the Western approaches and the english Finisterre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Erth Praze
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hayle
97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in St Erth Praze
58 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Old Quay House
The Old Quay House
#4 of 15 in Hayle
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bostrase Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Smugglers Inn

Property: The Old Smugglers Inn
Address: 3 Calais Road, St Erth Praze, Hayle TR27 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle > St Erth Praze
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Erth Praze
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Old Smugglers Hotel St Erth Praze
The Old Smugglers Inn St Erth Praze, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing