We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$389
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marazion Hotel(Marazion)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
37
17
6
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
17
6
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish and chipsst ivescomfortable roomnight staycooked breakfastlandlordwaynehosts
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Popped in on a Saturday afternoon on the way home from st Ives and the food was exceptional. The service was excellent and the owners were really friendly and welcoming . Will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We are frequent visitors to the Star and have had many a lovely evening dining and catching up with friends, but our last visit was quite different. It was a quiet Tuesday evening and we took our daughter for a bite to eat and to meet the new landlords who had recently taken over. I appreciate that it will take time to settle inn and find their feet but this visit was so different to our other visits. We were the only people eating in the pub but still had to wait over 45mins for our food, when it did finally arrive the Star Burger was quite frankly cremated, the chicken breast and bacon in it was so over cooked that you couldnt cut it. My pie came out with lots of lovely mash and veg but no gravy. Normally the staff would come over after a few minutes and ask if everything was ok but not anymore, I didnt complain as we had waited so long for our food I didnt have time for it to be cooked again. When the waitress came to clear our meal she asked if it was ok and we explained that it wasnt she was very apologetic and said she would mention it to the landlady. It still took the landlady another 10 mins to come over and see us and she already knew as it isnt a big pub and she would have heard us during our meal discussing it but still chose to ingnore us.To top it all when we went to pay the bill she over charged us by £2. Not really a people person, the offer of a free coffee might have been nice. Unfortunately a huge contrast to the previous Landlords. Such a shame :-(

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SmartyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Owner at Star Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

So sorry about your experiance with us, we are new to this business and were still finding our feet. We are improving all the time and hope this will not put you off in the future.
We did have a few problems in the kitchen and you should have been aware of this, we can only apologise for this. We hope that if you return your experiance will be a pleasent one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I visited this pub twice in the last two days and both times I received amazing service. I thoroughly recommend the Lamb Shank if it is available on the specials. There was a new heating system being installed on the second day I visited, so there will be no huddling around the wood burner from now on. I will definitely visit again next time I'm travelling down the A30. Please note that I did not stay at the B&B, as it was currently under refurbishment!

Room Tip: Rooms are being refurbished (Feb '14) so my guess is that they will be of a great quality once completed.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HotelDw3ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed in holiday cottage in St Erth with our little dog and went for dinner at The Star-lovely people-very welcoming.Food was typical Pub Grub and place was clean and well used by the locals.Prices were fair and enjoyed our drinks as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Brilliant service and very friendly, The Star offers Cornish real ales which changes every week along with a good selection of lagers, ciders and wines.
St Erth is a civil parish and village in Cornwall, England, United Kingdom.
The village is four miles (6.5 km) southeast of St Ives and six miles (10 km) northeast of Penzance.[2]
St. Erth also has a railway station situated 0.75 miles from the village, along the branch line between St Ives and Penzance.
Will certainly be visiting again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 55Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews