We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Jewel in St Keverne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Temperance House
Ranked #1 of 7 St Keverne B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Absolute Jewel in St Keverne”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Old Temperance is the jewel of St Keverne. A stunning B &B with so many beautiful touches it,s difficult to know where to start.All of the rooms are beautiful, I stayed in Baileys overlooking the square which was light and airy and the furnishings pale ivory and mauve, padded hangers for nightwear and a butlers tray for bottled water, tea,coffee and kit kats! Lots of yummy toiletries in scrupulously clean bathroom.
Denise and Clive are the most welcoming hosts and nothing too much trouble, even putting my wine into their own fridge on the rare hot afternoon, awaiting my return.
The breakfasts are amazing and you have to go for the smoked salmon and scrambled egg on
Sunday with a little surprise on the side!

Thank you Denise and Clive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, Thank you.
Clive and I are so pleased you enjoy your time here with us.

When you stay in our B/B nobody should have to drink warm white wine, only too pleased to chill your wine for you

Guests will have to stay on a Sunday to find out what "Sunday with a little surprise on the side"! is

Look forward to have you stay again

Best Wishes Clive and Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
63
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Keverne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

An extremely well presented guest house. My room was clean and bright with a comfortable bed. I enjoyed an excellent breakfast, ample supplies of tea etc in the room, and most charming hosts. I am moving to the area and was much encouraged by Clive. I thoroughly recommend this establishment having stayed in others in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you to the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Very helpful and friendly couple in Denise & Clive! We got in early to change before going to a local wedding. The room was small but beautifully presented and the bathroom was luxurious with new M&S toiletries and fabulous towels. Nice touches included padded coathangers and tea making facilities (with Kitkats!!) and the breakfast included 3 types of sausage - perfect after a long night! The Champagne room overlooks the pretty square.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you, really appreciate your honest response x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have just returned from four days staying with Clive and Denise at the O.T.H. We were prepared to find out that the reveiws may not be fully accurate...but we found that everything positive said already is absolutely true.
Great hosting, excellent and hearty breakfasts, very comfortable and scrupulously clean - at a very reasonable rate. We stayed in The Baileys Room . Both Clive and Denise are extremely pleasant but not intrusive...and gave us clear and concise information. Their restaurant recommendations were also excellent..
We spent our time walking the Coastal Path which is accessed at Rosenithon 5 to 10 mins walk away. The beach at Godrevy Cove is a lovely and quiet - 10 mins away too !
We certainly recommend this highly and would definitely stay there again.
Mike and Pete

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seeheim-Jugenheim
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

After a very warm welcome the owners Denise and Clive have been the perfect hosts.Their extraordinary hospitality together with awesome uniquely decorated rooms, a delicious breakfast and stunning surroundings turned our stay in St. Keverne into a marvellous and unforgettable experience. Best wishes and kind regards from the 2 German troublemakers to Denise and Clive :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaMi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We loved having you both stay with us, Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Accomodation was first class. A huge amount of care and thought had been put into our room, ensuring great comfort and enjoyment. Clive and Denise were charming hosts even providing us with menus for the Greenhouse bistro across the road - a super local restaurent. The square provides shops and pubs and is the start for several lovely walks.
Breakfast was excellent and a great start our coastal path day.

Room Tip: The Greenhouse bistro is super with an amazing array of local beers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for "Old Temperance House" we do appreciate it

Looking forward to looking after you both again
Kindest Regards Clive and Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St Mary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent 2 memorable nights here last week. The accomodation is first class and the breakfasts
were, as good as, or better than those in 5 star hotels. The hospitality shown us by Clive and Denise
was warm & welcoming. An experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at Old Temperance House, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we do appreciate it ,Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Keverne
1.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
596 reviews
7.7 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 7 in St Keverne
6 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Gallen-Treath Guest House
#2 of 7 in St Keverne
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#3 of 7 in St Keverne
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Temperance House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Temperance House

Property: Old Temperance House
Address: Old Temperance House The Square, St Keverne, Helston TR12 6NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > St Keverne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Keverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Temperance House is a 500 yr old property. You will receive a warm welcome in this family run bed and breakfast. We are in the centre of the square in St. Keverne, where you can observe and enjoy village life all year round. There are two pubs, Greenhouse restaurant, Post Office, Newsagent, Londis Store, nearby Roskilly's, an organic working Cornish farm famous for its ice cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Temperance House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Temperance House St Keverne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing