We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Palm Cottage

A Cornish Palm tree and solid oak door welcomes you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Cornish Palm tree and solid oak door welcomes you!
Cosy sitting area of Reception room with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
A Cornish Palm tree and solid oak door welcomes you!
Cosy sitting area of Reception room with open fireplace
Dining area of spacious Reception room with window seat and inglenook
From dining area tiled hallway and stable door leading to patio and garden
Well-equipped breakfast kitchen
Elegant double bedroom
Double bedroom with window seat overlooking front garden
Landing with OS Map of Lizard Peninsula; twin- bedrooms off to left and up three steps to right
Beatrix Potter twin-bedded room - beloved by children
Charming twin-bedded room overlooking garden
Path from patio to well-established garden
Spacious and safe garden for children to play
Rear of double garage and barbecue awaits.........
.............for al fresco dining!
Path from rear drive between hydrangeas and lavender
Spectacular sunset from rear garden; hopefully sunny day tomorrow!
How can you resist a holiday at exquisite Palm Cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
St Keverne, Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tourist79...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I'm afraid to say I will second what other reviews have said and state that this cottage is so much better than the pictures convey- its characterful, quaint and had everything we needed as a family of four. The garden is a bonus as is the country pub across the road - what a pleasure to return to this place after a hard day exploring! Places to visit praa sands beach ( great for families), st michaels mount, porthleven, church cove, coverack is nice for a quick explore, falmouth , poldhu cove and kynance cove the list goes on! The cottage is perfectly placed to feel total escapism but close enough to amenities , what a wonderful week thanks so much to the owners for letting us stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Thank you for your most kind and helpful comments about your recent holiday at Palm Cottage.
I agree with you and other visitors that the images of the interior of the cottage are far less impressive than the reality but indeed I consider one could say the same about St Michael's Mount, which must be one of the most photographed places in the UK, and Kynance Cove for example, each of which are quite spectacular in real life but which is not conveyed via a flat picture.
Pleased that the weather was kind enough for you to enjoy the garden although I wonder if you used the barbecue?
The Prince of Wales pub over the road has managed to keep itself as a place for the locals to have a pint as well as serving good food at a reasonable price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara G
1 review
“Truly a home from home.”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is such a lovely homely cottage. The photos do not do it justice. The cottage was extremely clean with fresh bed linen on. On arrival, there was welcome tea and coffee with biscuits with kettle full and boiled. Heaters on and wood and coal for the fire. From the first day, it really felt like we had walked into our own home and we all felt comfortable straight away. There was 6 of us, myself, my husband and 4 children, age 10, 9, 6 and 6. We also took our little Jack russell and found the cottage really spacious for us all. There was wifi which was really good as all kids had gadgets and were all able to connect up at the same time without any problems. Having a real open fire in the evenings while playing board games or watching TV was really cosy and was lovely to have us all together as a family.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent week at Palm Cottage. Like all our guests during the chillier months of the year, I'm pleased that you found yourselves cosy and comfortable largely due to the open fire, a most popular feature even during cool summer evenings!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
1 review
“Fabulous homely cottage in outstanding area”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent a week at Palm Cottage over New Year with our three young children: 7,5 and 4 year olds. Being familiar with the area we knew what to expect. The cottage however was beautiful and became a wonderful base and "home" for our stay. The children loved the Beatrix Potter bedroom and we were able to explore the wonderful beaches and coastal walks from the village. We will definitely return to this part of Cornwall and can't recommend Palm Cottage more highly. It was a real treat and provided the relaxing break that we were looking for. Thank you Mike.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about your recent week at Palm Cottage. The Beatrix Potter bedroom is indeed very popular with children of all ages.
Am pleased that the weather was kind enabling you to explore some of the many beaches nearby, Kynance is especially popular with our guests, and also to walk part of the coastal footpath. I wonder if you managed the three miles circular walk from Kestle Barton, brown signposted from the village, down Frenchman's Creek to Helford, a particular favourite with ourselves and family.
You will be very welcome to take a further holiday at Palm Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cerian201...
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely loved our stay at Palm Cottage so much that we will definitely be returning next year. Drawn in by the charming pictures of this homely Cornish cottage ,we arrived expecting to be pleasantly surprised. As with all the reviews I read before arriving, I can confirm that the photos do not do this place justice. The rooms are bigger, and the attention to detail makes this place really feel like a home away from home, plus the decor leaves you in no doubt that you are in Cornwall, with gorgeous Cornish pottery and paintings of local places. The children's room is charming, from the Beatrix Potter pictures on the walls, the books and teddy bears in the cupboard and the adorable window seats, which my boys fell in love with. The little details such as the excellently equipped kitchen, the tea and biscuits on arrival, the flowers from the garden in various vases about the place. The location is well placed with no more than half an hour to a selection of awesome beaches such as Church Cove, excellent bakers in St Keverne and fab food at The Prince of Wales opposite. The owner was really helpful and quick to respond to our enquiries and there was a pack with local places of interest there on our arrival - which on looking through had vouchers for money off at places such as The Edwn Project and Helston Seal Sanctuary.
I would definitely recommend this places as an ideal spot to relax, recharge and make the most of the local area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your generous and extensive comments following your recent stay at Palm Cottage.
My wife and I are pleased that you had an enjoyable week and that you found the cottage such a delight. We must endeavour to improve on the photos, however!
We love Cornwall, especially the Lizard peninsula, and our cottage which is to us our second home rather than simply a holiday-let and it is our pleasure to share it with other like-minded people as yourself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsumme...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful property in a lovely part of the country”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a fab property this is. The site photos do not do it justice. The cottage is spacious,very comfortable, well equipped, decorated/lit tastefully and very homely. Palm Cottage is ideally located enabling us to do our favourite walks around the Lizard and Roseland peninsula's. The pub across the road is very nice with an amazing garden. The food/service was great and is definitely worth a visit. The owner (Mike) was very responsive to any requests. We would love to return if in the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How homely the property is
Liked least: Parking in the driveway was tight but passable
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay at Palm Cottage whilst visiting old haunts.
The whole of the South-West Coastal footpath is most beautiful, but particularly we consider that part around the Lizard Peninsula and I wonder if you managed to walk down nearby Frenchmen's Creek, our personal favourite?
Almost a year ago we employed a semi-professional photographer to replace the images of the cottage that I had taken and whilst they are vastly superior I still feel that the reality is far better. I'd prefer it to be like that however rather than the alternative, like those of so many estate agents!
Pleased that you enjoyed the Prince of Wales pub, a grade-2 listed building by the way, which is not only so convenient but hospitable and good value.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda732...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had A wounderfull time and will definitely be staying there again.
There was even tea,coffee,sugar,milk and biscuits what a thoughtful touch.
Many thanks amanda

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The age of the cottage and location
Liked least: Nothing it was all amazing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased that you all had an enjoyable holiday.
The welcome tray of tea/coffee and biscuits on arrival, often following a fairly long journey, is certainly appreciated by most of our guests. We look forward to you taking another holiday at Palm Cottage in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensi0ner...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal Holiday Accommodation”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a few days break where we stayed at Palm Cottage. It was beautifully kept
and had everything that was required for a home from home stay. On arrival there was milk in the fridge and biscuits on the tray so after a long journey we could have a cup of tea immediately.

The bedrooms were beautifully decorated and beds very comfortable. It is certainly a place that we would consider visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel
Liked least: The bathroom being on the ground floor
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thank you for your most kind comments about your recent few days at Palm Cottage.
We are pleased that you were warm and comfortable and hope that you may return, perhaps during the summer months when you can enjoy the garden and barbecue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing