We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 St Keverne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cornish Perfection”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This lovely friendly home from home B&B where nothing is too much trouble for owners Alicia and Clive certainly lives up to everything that other reviewers have already reported. Would challenge anyone to find fault with anything - beautiful location set against wooded hillside overlooking tiny picturesque Cornish fishing cove far from teh madding crowd; extremely clean well-equipped rooms - we had one at the front with a magnificent view over the sea - a wealth of useful information in room some of which is written with a lovely sense of humour; in-room tea and coffee making facilities available - even hot water bottles if you wanted one! Breakfast - wow - try to find something that's not included or that Clive is not willing to cook - great selection including vegetarian, and perfect poached eggs - always a test of just how good a cook is. Fresh Bodum coffee with as many refills as you want. The upstairs well equipped lounge complete with balcony has huge picture windows with the best views in the house so even if the weather is bad or you have a room at the back of the house, this would be the perfect place to hang out. Local Five Pilchards pub is a short walk down the hill and has a great local atmosphere, outside tables and good food. If you book B&B direct with owners, it's cheaper than booking through one of the booking websites. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have great views but lounge has too so nothing to lose out on. Save money and book d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
27
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Ali my friend and I had A super duper Stay here and cannot wait to come back! Clive and Alicia are a lovely couple and work hard to make your stay a Fabulous one !!
Even had a lovely chat with them in the Local Pub. A stunning house with lovely rooms and a great choice of Breakfast too. Best eggs I'd had in ages!! Great view down to the Cove of Porthallow too and so peaceful and quiet :)
I hope to bring my Black Lab next time I go :) Really cannot wait to be there again THANKYOU !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed a couple of days at Gallen Treath recently. The setting is great, the room was brilliant and Clive and Alicia were warm and friendly hosts. Breafast was ace and Clive got up specially early to deliver it (sorry!). Would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights while scuba diving off Porthkerris beach - four ladies in the family room. The family room is actually two interconnected rooms, with plenty of space and an en-suite bathroom with a glorious hot shower which was just what we needed after a day of UK diving. Beds were very comfy - again, just what we needed. The rest of our group were camping at the beach in the rain!

Breakfast was huge, fresh and delicious, and the owner went out of his way to make sure we had everything we wanted. He baked gluten free bread for our gluten intolerant member, and a birthday cake for a chap from another group who were staying there.

When we couldn't get a taxi to take us to the beach for an evening barbecue he uncomplainingly piled all four of us into his battered 2 door Peugeot 106 and drove us over himself.

I would heartily recommend this place. It's friendly, clean and helpful, but not too posh, so you feel right at home even if you are diving or walking with the consequent scruffy clothes, mud and seaweed! He even has a hosepipe set up by the garage for washing the dive kit.

Room Tip: The family room at the back is great value, but the views from the front bedrooms are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Gallen-treath is 20th century building overlooking the little village of Porthallow. It is well-located for walkers on the Coast Path (Porthallow is halfway i.e. 315 miles). Our room was pleasantly decorated with a good shower ensuite. We didn't have the cooked breakfast: the cold breakfast was traditional including a range of branded (Kelloggs) cereals, muesli, toast, fresh fruit and orange juice. There was no wifi on our visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have used this guest house a couple of times and find the rooms very clean and comfortable, anything you require...ask...and often it can be sorted for you.
Beds very comfortable and with all the fresh air you sleep exceptionally well, very nice pub within a couple of minutes walk where food is available and local beers to try with a warm welcome thrown in. Local beach at Porthfallow covegreat for swimming in the right weather as it shelves down slowly and it is dog friendly. We took our two dogs with us who are also very welcome and also alowed in the local pub. Well recommended as a quiet place to stay and in easy reach of much of Cornwall.
Breakfast is served full English plus much variety of other breakfast and anything you fancy, within reason, can be catered for. A breakfast to set you up for your day whatever your plans.

Room Tip: All rooms of similar standard but upper floor rooms get slightly better views but all rooms have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Big rooms and all perfect. Very friendly and supportive owners. Wonderful and fresh breakfast !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Keverne
8.2 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
3.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.6 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Old Temperance House
Old Temperance House
#1 of 7 in St Keverne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
10.5 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallen-Treath Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallen-Treath Guest House

Property: Gallen-Treath Guest House
Address: Porthallow | St Keverne, St Keverne, Helston TR12 6PL , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > St Keverne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Keverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gallen-Treath Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, friendly and relaxed accommodation set in a peaceful Cornish village on the Lizard peninsula. Guest lounge and patio area for complete relaxation. All diets catered for. Near South West Coastpath, diving and boating facilities shingle beach. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gallen-Treath Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallen-Treath Guest House St Keverne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing