We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and really comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gallen-Treath Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 St Keverne B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly and really comfortable”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with friends while diving at Porthkerris. We were given room 3; what a fantastic view. Plenty of room with en suite shower room. Comfy bed and a well stocked tea/coffee/hot choc tray were particularly welcome.
The breakfast was fantastic. Freshly cooked and much of it locally sourced the full English kept me going untill dinner time!
Thanks to Clive and Alicia for making us so welcome and comfortable. We'll be back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
27
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Gallen-Treath for one night while walking the coast path. The room was clean and comfortable and had some very nice touches such as tea service and cookies. There was a very nice guest lounge with a telescope and great views of the ocean and harbor. Owners Clive and Alicia very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really nice, and the view from the breakfast room window is fabulous. I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHgyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here with friends while on a diving break at Porthkerris. Clive and Alicia are very welcoming, the breakfast is excellent ( enough to feed an army!). The views are stunning, and if you like tranquillity, this is the place for you. Room very clean and comfortable. Nice guest lounge, with balcony and a fantastic view. two minutes walk to the local pub. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this B&B for a night due to working in the area. This is an absolutely delightful little place!

I got the much coveted room 1 with breathtaking views out to the sea. The welcome was great and I was told about the local amenities (which aren't much) and made to feel very at home. My room was very clean and comfy although I did keep banging my head due to the room being right up in the eaves of the building! Very comfy bed.

I had a nice walk down to the sea front which was stunning. It's not a sandy beach. Very stony / rocky but this actually makes it the little paradise that it is. It's such a beautiful quiet area. Only one pub but again, was perfect for the village. The food was excellent and a great atmosphere. Dog friendly as well.

All in all, I would recommend Gallen-Treath to anyone. The only negative I can put on it is the actual journey too and from the property. Extremely narrow, windy roads leading in and out of Porthallow and any wide vehicles will struggle. My Merc was a bit too wide for many of the roads which meant an extremely slow and nervous few miles!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nick_grimsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Visited this guest house again as staying in Cornwall and found previous visits so enjoyable we returned for another break. Dog friendly beach and local pub does exceptionally good meals and friendly atmosphere and views from the guest house which defie all expectations from memory, definately recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms we have used have been brilliant and of the highest quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

If your staying here choose room 1 at the top but in our opinion the best room.
We were met warmly and with a laid back attitude by Clive & Alicia who are a very interesting couple when you get to know them and just looking round the lounge will explain all.
The beach is a couple of mins down the hill and the local food outlets caters for most tastes.
Or perhaps you would like to eat in.

Room Tip: Room 1 looks down the valley onto the beach. All rooms offer a quiet nights rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Ives
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Phoned at about 2100 looking for a B&B and they offered me a room. I had some distance to travel and arrived after 2230 and they gave me a lovely welcome, I felt at home! Lovely breakfast and Alicia and Clive were very pleasant. I would definitely recommend this place as a friendly stop on the wonderful Cornish coast path.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_and_A_at_St_Ives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Keverne
8.3 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
8.6 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
497 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Temperance House
Old Temperance House
#1 of 7 in St Keverne
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Harbour Inn
Harbour Inn
#1 of 8 in Porthleven
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
78 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Paris Hotel
The Paris Hotel
#2 of 7 in Coverack
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallen-Treath Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallen-Treath Guest House

Property: Gallen-Treath Guest House
Address: Porthallow | St Keverne, St Keverne, Helston TR12 6PL , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > St Keverne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Keverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gallen-Treath Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, friendly and relaxed accommodation set in a peaceful Cornish village on the Lizard peninsula. Guest lounge and patio area for complete relaxation. All diets catered for. Near South West Coastpath, diving and boating facilities shingle beach. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gallen-Treath Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallen-Treath Guest House St Keverne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing