We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linhay Heaven!”
Review of Moyles Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Minver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moyles Farm
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Linhay Heaven!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed in the beautiful Linhay over Halloween (woooooo!) and had a wonderful time. The open plan design is perfect for a couple, with the wooden floors and wood burning stove making it both stylish and cosy all at once. Amanda was a friendly, helpful and welcoming host who had thought of everything we needed for a relaxing stay. We were happy to stay in during the rainy evenings (although we ventured out to a couple of pubs too) - cooking stews and having cheese and wine in front of the fire and tv. We ate in some great places during the daytimes - in Polzeath, Padstow, Rock, Port Isaac. The local area is wonderful and our lazy nights were urged on by the demanding but mind blowing coastal walks around this part of the north cornish coastline. We did the circular walk from Port Quin to Port Isaac and it tests your thighs with it's nickname of the 'rollercoaster'! The feather soft cotton of the bed was bliss. Moyles Farm offers everything you could ask for - peace, all mod cons, character and comfort. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a stylish, affordable home from home whilst exploring this beautiful part of the UK.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNorthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfing5, Owner at Moyles Farm, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you both for your wonderful review. Hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed at Sheperds Hut, it's a kind of camping instalation, with all that you may need. We wake listening birds, sleep with tranquility, total peace, the barbecue outside is amazing specially if you buy a fresh fish in the villages nearby, the wood oven gave the difference, becoming really cosy place to sleep.

Te surrounding areas are breathtaking as well.
We want to go back many times!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Stayed for a week at Moyle's Farm, the biggest of the small group of converted mill/farm buildings. Not completely private - but certainly ok. You do feel a bit exposed when eating outside, because another property overlooks. Owners live in a farm next door, but were away when we visited. Extremely nicely converted with excellent quality of everything: furniture, furnishings. The bedding was to die for. Seriously. We have never had such a comfortable night's sleep. It was like sleeping on a cloud... Wireless provided but absolutely hopeless because of the remote location. Same for the mobile phone signal: couldn't be helped, so we just decided to do no checking up on work! Very relaxing holiday resulted. Exceptionally clean, and that is worth a mention. Our family is allergic to everything, and hence dreads going away on holiday, but the mill house was spotless and we had nary a sniff. The place is down a long, narrow track from the main road. We were in a 4 x 4 but cars might find it a bit punishing. Very close to Polzeath which is just down the hill. The beach is small and pretty with some of the best surfing in Cornwall, and just enough going on: shops, cafes etc. Moyles is perfectly situated for touring most parts of Cornwall. We loved nearby St Isaacs. And fashionable Rock is the next beach down the coast. Padstow is a quick ferry ride away. It's all good. One day we got up early and decided to do St Just's rock pools, down south. It was a lovely trip and we were there and back, with fun inbetween, in time for tea. Highly recommended for families. More banisters would make the mill accessible to a greater number of people. Our elderly friend struggled a bit. But overall, fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alijazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Just a quick note to wholeheartedly recomend a stay at Shepherds Hut on Moyles Farm. It was charming, cosy and well-situated. We stayed for four nights and wanted to stay for another two weeks. The coastal walks you can take from there are some of the finest in Cornwall. Amanda and Mark are excellent hosts as well.

Rob

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We have just returned from our third visit to Mynford, the cottage at Moyles Farm. Our last visit was 18 months ago, and I had perhaps forgotten some of the reasons this place is so perfect. The second we opened the door I remembered. Here they are.
1. Location. It really is true that the only sound you hear is birdsong. You never tire of the view across the fields towards St Minver church. Yet the beach and shops are 5 minutes drive away.
2. The cottage itself. It is beautifully designed; the detail is immaculate.Amanda has a great eye for design, and it is very apparent here. The main room and bedroom are very spacious, with bags of storage. Many holiday cottages are cramped; not this one.
3. But at the same time it is simple, very comfortable, and easy to keep looking good. You can curl up on the sofa, the dog can pad in and out. It somehow combines great style with comfort .
4. Amanda really has thought of everything you could possibly need. If you need a garlic presser, there it is! If you forgot some of the beach stuff in the rush to pack up, you will find buckets, spades, wetsuits and surfboards in the shed. Since our last visit, the crockery, cutlery, glasses, and even the sofas, are all new. There was nothing wrong with the original ones. But Amanda is a perfectionist, and it shows.
This was the only week we were able to go, and sadly it coincided with Amanda and Mark's (richly deserved) holiday. One of our favourite parts of going to Mynford is catching up with them, and we missed them. But it is a tribute to their creation that, even in their absence, everything was still beautifully organised, and as perfect as ever.Over the years we have rented various cottages, but none comes even close to Mynford.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3057London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Myself and my fiancee stayed at the Linhay, Moyles Farm last month. We found Amanda and Mark very accomodating and helpful. The Linhay was a lovely building (open plan - self catering) and we had an amazing time in the comfortale surroundings it provided. I was especially fond of the log-burner too! (It's a man thing...) As the other accomodations were not in use, we took the opportunity to be nosy and have a look through the windows - they were all equally lovely in their own ways and very nicely decked out.

We found it suitably close to Polzeath and Rock (and a short ferry ride away from Padstow - for the Rick Stein fans) and it was also a suitable distance to pop and visit the Eden Project too.

The only thing I didn't like about our stay was that it was too short and we would have loved to have stayed longer! It was very peaceful, quiet and just lovely.

Although we were aiming to get away from work, it was great to have a strong wifi broadband connection, as we were able to catch up with some social networking in the evenings! The mobile phone signal at the Farm is weak, you can get a signal outside at times, but this was a good thing in our case as it mean that we didn't have to worry about taking work-related calls!

We were pleased to be able to take our puppy, although I understand that dogs are accepted on a case-by-case basis. (I guess it depends on time of year and how busy the farm is) She had a great time being able to run free in the fields!

We are raving about our stay to all our friends and are really hoping to go back next year for another bit of R&R.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onniemonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2009

What a fantastic place to stay - absolutely perfect.

The location is stunning, the quality of the accommodation is first class and Mark & Amanda are perfect hosts.

Whether you're looking for somewhere to take a short break during the school holidays with friends and family or a romantic hideaway Moyles Farm fits the bill.

We loved our stay and we'll definitely be going back soon:-)

Ade & Kaye

  • Liked — The quality of the accommodation and the welcome we received from mark & Amanda.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marchioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Minver
2.1 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
1.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mesmear
Mesmear
#2 of 5 in St Minver
56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Treweens Bed & Breakfast
Treweens Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in St Minver
56 reviews
3.1 mi away
Trewornan Manor
Trewornan Manor
#1 of 3 in St Minver
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moyles Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moyles Farm

Property: Moyles Farm
Address: Moyles Farm Polzeath | Wadebridge, St Minver, Wadebridge PL27 6QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Minver
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in St Minver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property lies hidden away in an idyllic and private location nestling in open farmland and yet is situated only 1.5 miles from the surf at Polzeath. With Rock and the ferry to Padstow only 5 minutes away and the rugged North Coast- South West Coastal path nearby you will not need to travel far to enjoy some of the most sought-after spots in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moyles Farm St Minver, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing