We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Mesmear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mesmear
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Totally perfect holiday cottages. Highly recommend. Peaceful location, spacious luxurious accommodation, lots to do and walks on your doorstep, everything we needed and more was provided. We particularly loved the log burner, coffee machine, DVD collection and collecting eggs form the chickens for our breakfast....totally amazing! I could go on. Nick has thought of everything. So much more than self catering. Run by the most lovely welcoming family that have clearly put so much thought into every aspect of each of the properties. I'm booking to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserFam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just spent two weeks staying at the Barn. The accommodation is luxurious and the setting is great- very quiet and peaceful but only a few minutes drive to Polzeath or Rock. There was plenty of space for the four of us in the cottage and the children loved playing in the garden, feeding the chickens and using the zipwire. The outdoor pool is heated so I was able to go for a swim in the evening after the children were asleep. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just returned from a week at "The Barn". We had previously stayed at the Calf House 4 years ago and were really looking forward to another week at this lovely group of properties. We were not disappointed.
The Barn is tastefully decorated with comfy beds and sofas. It has everything you'd need for a weeks self catering and more. And a nespresso machine and a gas fired Weber BBQ. The owners have thought of everything you'd need for a luxury week away. The kids loved the pool, feeding the chickens and getting eggs, the zip-wire, and hot tub. Not to mention the air hockey in the games room! We didn't need to use the gymn as had fairly good weather when we were staying.
The highlight of our stay was getting our 8 year old around the 37 miles of the Camel trail followed by Fish and Chips in Padstow. But we also all enjoyed body boarding in the surf at Polzeath Beach about 2 minutes drive away.
We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the lake district
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here in the Calf's House which is ideal for a small family, we took our 1 year old and it was perfect for him. On arrival, Vicki was there, putting in flowers, eggs, wine and she spent some time with us telling us about the area, unpacked, and Nick showed the other half around the site which is very well equipped, with pool, hot tub, games room, chickens, zip wire. The cottage itself had everything in it you could wish for, very well laid out even though it is not huge.
Really good walks in the area, loads to do, Polzeath beach is half an hour walk away which is stunning. It mostly rained whilst we were there but it was ok, we managed to keep occupied. On the last night we had a delicious home made fish pie which was really good.
You can tell that they are putting everything into making your stay spot on and it was...I would recommend it highly to anyone and especially to families with children and babies.
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittenmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

This is right up there as one of the best places to stay I have ever come across. The accommodation is stunning and beautifully finished, combining original Cornish character with tastefully chic decor and furnishings, whilst providing you with every modern convenience you could need. I can see anyone being happy here - families with children, groups of friends, couples looking for that romantic getaway... ;) Glorious in the sunshine, but delightfully cosy if it's more inclement - with lovely fires and comfy corners to curl up in. The owners have thought of everything and their attention to detail is amazing - but if you can possibly imagine anything else they can and will help arrange it. Which is pretty brilliant for self catered accommodation! I loved the little touches such as milk, butter, fresh bread, homemade jam and wine awaiting your arrival. If you give them enough warning they may even cook you something divine for dinner! They have handy links with a local surf business - where boards await your arrival at the beach, but if you prefer to stay at home (to be honest it was hard to leave) there is always the hot tub and heated pool. Oh, and the zip wire... ;) It is also a great location - close to all the places you'd want to visit around the beautiful Camel Estuary, whilst remaining a peaceful secluded oasis. I wish I could live here always! Stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Thanks for a perfect stay. We loved the cottage (super attention to detail, v. high spec), the pool and hot tub, the proximity to the beach, and the fact that all the surfing/coasteering was organised for us. The weather was perfect, but there was a ton of stuff to keep us busy on a rainy day. Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: The Mill is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaPetiteEuropeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The only bad thing about Cornwall for me is that it is so far from London and we don't get there often enough.
This time I was lucky enough to be one of a group staying at Mesmear Cottages, St Minver, near to Polzeath.
'Cottages' hardly describes the most beautifully appointed and spacious accommodation which Mesmear comprises.
Mesmear manages to feel airy and cosy at the same time with high ceilings and light rooms, underfloor heating and wood burning stoves, plus a much better equipped kitchen than mine at home. Luxurious bathrooms, fresh hens eggs, flowers in vases and a feeling of care is what makes this property stand out. There is masses to do whether the sun shines or not. I recommend the cycle ride along the Camel Trail and then a dip in the hot tub. Enjoy, we did.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Minver
1.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.4 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesmear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesmear

Property: Mesmear
Address: Treglines Lane | Mesmear, St Minver, Wadebridge PL27 6RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Minver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in St Minver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mesmear,set in 160 acres of farmland is just 1 mile inland from the sandy beaches and breath-taking coastline of north Cornwall. Three chic properties that sleep 4 - 10 guests with an outdoor pool and indoor games room this is an ideal location for either a winter break or summer holiday. Great for families, parties or a quiet retreat. With a private chef on site, coffee machines, fluffy bathrobes and iPod docking stations the three properties at Mesmear are full of stylish features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mesmear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesmear St Minver, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing