We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and peaceful escape from reality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mesmear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mesmear
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and peaceful escape from reality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in the Barn over New Year, and even with the terrible weather the amazing location, wonderful nearby walks and sheer peace and tranquillity of Mesmear itself meant we headed back home infinitely more relaxed and refreshed than we had been! We've stayed here before both as a couple and with friends, and as ever it was like coming back to your own second home: albeit one which is gorgeously decorated and always immaculate, unlike most people's own homes! Looking forward to booking our next visit: next time will be with a small baby but I can think of nowhere better to recuperate from the stresses of early parenthood, and I can't wait until our baby is old enough to collect eggs from the hens!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipandpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have been at Mesmear Farm twice (2013, 2012) and stayed at The Barn. We absolutely loved it as it is spacious, the living room/kitchen is well laid-out, so are the bedrooms. It's tastefully furnished and decorated. The Barn has everything we need for a family with two babies/toddlers. . The service mentality and friendliness of the owner family is excellent. There is plenty of space outdoors too. Although one does need a car for everything outside the Mesmear Farm (shopping, beach etc), our 2 year-olds loved the chicken, running around in the garden and using the swimming pool. For us, it's a great alternative to owning our own holiday home.

Room Tip: If you're a family with toddlers or young children, The Barn is ideal as plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011TheHfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Totally perfect holiday cottages. Highly recommend. Peaceful location, spacious luxurious accommodation, lots to do and walks on your doorstep, everything we needed and more was provided. We particularly loved the log burner, coffee machine, DVD collection and collecting eggs form the chickens for our breakfast....totally amazing! I could go on. Nick has thought of everything. So much more than self catering. Run by the most lovely welcoming family that have clearly put so much thought into every aspect of each of the properties. I'm booking to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserFam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just spent two weeks staying at the Barn. The accommodation is luxurious and the setting is great- very quiet and peaceful but only a few minutes drive to Polzeath or Rock. There was plenty of space for the four of us in the cottage and the children loved playing in the garden, feeding the chickens and using the zipwire. The outdoor pool is heated so I was able to go for a swim in the evening after the children were asleep. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just returned from a week at "The Barn". We had previously stayed at the Calf House 4 years ago and were really looking forward to another week at this lovely group of properties. We were not disappointed.
The Barn is tastefully decorated with comfy beds and sofas. It has everything you'd need for a weeks self catering and more. And a nespresso machine and a gas fired Weber BBQ. The owners have thought of everything you'd need for a luxury week away. The kids loved the pool, feeding the chickens and getting eggs, the zip-wire, and hot tub. Not to mention the air hockey in the games room! We didn't need to use the gymn as had fairly good weather when we were staying.
The highlight of our stay was getting our 8 year old around the 37 miles of the Camel trail followed by Fish and Chips in Padstow. But we also all enjoyed body boarding in the surf at Polzeath Beach about 2 minutes drive away.
We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the lake district
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here in the Calf's House which is ideal for a small family, we took our 1 year old and it was perfect for him. On arrival, Vicki was there, putting in flowers, eggs, wine and she spent some time with us telling us about the area, unpacked, and Nick showed the other half around the site which is very well equipped, with pool, hot tub, games room, chickens, zip wire. The cottage itself had everything in it you could wish for, very well laid out even though it is not huge.
Really good walks in the area, loads to do, Polzeath beach is half an hour walk away which is stunning. It mostly rained whilst we were there but it was ok, we managed to keep occupied. On the last night we had a delicious home made fish pie which was really good.
You can tell that they are putting everything into making your stay spot on and it was...I would recommend it highly to anyone and especially to families with children and babies.
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittenmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

This is right up there as one of the best places to stay I have ever come across. The accommodation is stunning and beautifully finished, combining original Cornish character with tastefully chic decor and furnishings, whilst providing you with every modern convenience you could need. I can see anyone being happy here - families with children, groups of friends, couples looking for that romantic getaway... ;) Glorious in the sunshine, but delightfully cosy if it's more inclement - with lovely fires and comfy corners to curl up in. The owners have thought of everything and their attention to detail is amazing - but if you can possibly imagine anything else they can and will help arrange it. Which is pretty brilliant for self catered accommodation! I loved the little touches such as milk, butter, fresh bread, homemade jam and wine awaiting your arrival. If you give them enough warning they may even cook you something divine for dinner! They have handy links with a local surf business - where boards await your arrival at the beach, but if you prefer to stay at home (to be honest it was hard to leave) there is always the hot tub and heated pool. Oh, and the zip wire... ;) It is also a great location - close to all the places you'd want to visit around the beautiful Camel Estuary, whilst remaining a peaceful secluded oasis. I wish I could live here always! Stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Minver
1.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
3.0 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.6 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesmear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesmear

Property: Mesmear
Address: Treglines Lane | Mesmear, St Minver, Wadebridge PL27 6RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Minver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in St Minver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mesmear,set in 160 acres of farmland is just 1 mile inland from the sandy beaches and breath-taking coastline of north Cornwall. Three chic properties that sleep 4 - 10 guests with an outdoor pool and indoor games room this is an ideal location for either a winter break or summer holiday. Great for families, parties or a quiet retreat. With a private chef on site, coffee machines, fluffy bathrobes and iPod docking stations the three properties at Mesmear are full of stylish features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mesmear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesmear St Minver, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing