We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another sun holiday let down”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Minver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another sun holiday let down”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I think we may have been spoilt by the first sun holiday we did to Great Yarmouth where we had a great caravan and a great park and great entertainment (maybe something in the name?)!
Anyway on to ParkDean St Minver......
On arrival we are given a Chalet (was expecting a van? we do both here. ok), as we drive up to chalets hmmm not to great looking and look very small (reminiscent of a prison camp!). We park not able to get car near chalet not happy about that. Then we go in the door is not quite fitting peoperly so needs a good firm hand to open and close (not good for kids as will hit them in the face if they try to open!), The chalet seems quite clean however is in a bad state of repair (as it seems is the manor house and the crazy golf) there are cracks every where, we also being in the end chalet seem to have the water heater for the 4 chalets in our row! (not sure about that but it is in the master bedroom and kept fireing up when we where not using water, so asume we heat everyones water. Also on night 2 the boiler developed the noise of a dripping tap! Which was nice! There is free crazy golf! however the holes are in suk bad repair if you get anything in youve flooked it!
So to the shop we go who have very very limited stock (very small shop), it is a "Nisa Local" I was under the impresion Nisa was like Aldi and Lidl, you know cheap! this one is anything but! We did find a Tesco 6.1 miles away in Wadebridge which seemed to be the nearest proper supermarket, which was ok.
We paid £99 for this 3 night stay including service charges and entertainment passes, don't think we really got our monies worth, we did not use the entertainment passes as we looked at the entertainment area and was not impressed, the whole bar area and show area was smaller than a 5 a side football pitch, (this is sold as a big park?) the "Manor house" as they call it is also very taty and needs a make over (the floors are uneven and get worse if you go upstairs), the only bit that look modern is the "resturant" as someone else says looks like a staff canteen not some where to enjoy a meal, we looked the the venue and the menu and gave that a wide birth.
The reception, the resturant, the manaor house and shop all seemed to have random opening hours (unless we missed all the signs).
Can we find any positives..... Yes, There is a childrens playground (that can get very busy) but was loved by grand daughter, she also loved the square of grass betwwen the chalets as we sat on the chalet step with a glass of wine, listerning to the birds. The peace and tranquility of cornwall makes the place and calms the sole, we did not complain but thinking back the reception staff really are not interested in anything.
Would we go back? to Cornwall? Yes, to a ParkDean park? NO!
We did not try the swiming pool so can't comment.
If £99 for 3 nights in not to great not to awful accommodation is ok for you, go here it is not terrible, just not fabulous!
Cheers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiny_clanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    137
    46
    30
    17
See reviews for
203
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The caravan was like being at home. We had a long walk to the entertainment from the caravan. The entertainment was really good for the kids but it was ok for the adult. The arcade is really small. I did not like the food in the restaurant. The caravan site was in the middle of no where.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Our lodge was relatively clean and today and shaved well away from the other properties, I wouldn't Jane wanted to be in a caravan as these were very close together.

Poor restaurant, felt like canteen food. Bar area lacked atmosphere.

Location is lovely loads of family friendly activities around.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkelly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our first sun holiday.. Arrived at the park check in was fairly painless to be given a caravan next to swimming pool. On walking into the caravan a smell hit us that can only be described as a rotting smell! On looking the caravan was extremely dirty with stains all over, cobwebs and dirt everywhere. What pushed it over the edge was on the sofa a dirty pair of ladies underwear! Needless to say I went straight to reception to get the response of 'oh well what do you want me to do!!!' I was given a choice of 2 other caravans which were of a similar state with the 3rd one the best choice. Or so we thought until the swimming pool fan was on constantly! Facilities on site very basic and food in manor house average. Drinks expensive !! In all honesty in future I'd avoid parkdean and not pay an upgrade fee!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We visited st minver 26th may- 30th, staying in church view caravan 36, the accommodation was excellent , bright and airy, nice decking area , the site was very nice, set in woodland , plenty of wildlife, the manor house was very nice too, shop was ok, plenty of stock, ideal base for visiting port Isaac, polzeth , padstow , rock , day mer bay!! Would come back again , all staff very nice!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been coming to st. Minver for over 10yrs now and have found it slowly declining over the years. We stay in one of the lodges and although fitted out beautifully there are still a lot of issues. Cleanliness seems to be a constant issue year after year with huge cobwebs all around the lodge and a lot of dust on top of units TVs etc. next are the beds and for the 3rd year running we have had a mattress which has been like sleeping on a bed of pure metal springs so much so we actually woke with the imprint of them on our backs after attempting to have a nights sleep on it and when we complained we were told they didn't have any spare mattresses but they would put a duvet under the sheet to help alleviate it!!!!! To me this is NOT Acceptable after paying well over £1000 for this weeks holiday the least I can expect is a decent nights sleep!! Next are the facilities and although the pool area and play park and restaurant have over the past 10yrs in bits and bobs been updated a little the site is still very dated. The entertainment room being particularly grubby it's like entering a 70s workingmens club and stinks like one too!! There is a tiny children's soft play area which could do with being expanded in line with the number of extra caravans and lodges they've added over the years. The arcade has just about the same games and machines it did when we started going and although it's not something we use often when we do most things are broken!! All in all I'm not sure after 10 or more years visiting this particular site that we will be back again due to the dated facilities and lack of customer care and attention. Sorry parkdean but I think it's time you invested some money into st minver as it has the potential to be the most desirable site in Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

we stayed at St Minver 11th May for 5 day break in one of the lodges in the Glade, No 44, there were 5 adults, and never once did we get under each other feet,it was just perfect. Every thing we needed,have been to this holiday park several times,and shall definatley return again,we used the club every night for a couple of drinks,the staff were very friendly. The day we arrived we were given the keys to the lodge well before 4pm. The weather was fabulous,but we couldn't sit out on the patio for long as there was a pussy willow not far and it was like a snow storm at times,which was a shame. but other than that PERFECT.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Minver
2.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
2.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
3.2 mi away
Molesworth Arms Hotel
Molesworth Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wadebridge
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
21.9 mi away
Killigarth Manor Holiday Park
18.1 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park
Address: Near Rock | Wadebridge, St Minver, Wadebridge PL27 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Minver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in St Minver
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock up at Rock Beach...Nothing comes close to feeling the sand between your toes and breathing in the fresh sea air. So it's great to know that our woodland holiday park at St Minver is nearto three beautiful beaches - Polzeath, Rock and Daymer Bay. And if you enjoy visiting villages when you're not busy building sandcastles, you're only a short drive from the quaint fishing posrts of Padstow and Port Isaac.* It's set in the grounds of an old manor house * Woodland walk and path to St Minver village * Close to quaint fishing ports and beaches * Heated indoor pool with toddlers' pool * Fun with Sid & Lizzie's kid's club ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Minver Holiday Park Hotel St Minver
Parkdean - St Minver Holiday Park Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing