We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
150
4
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
4
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb and battention to detailatlantic roomfruit saladwarm welcomefantastic viewscooked breakfastsouth west coast path walkdrawing roomwonderful weekendfull englishshort walk to the villagebank holiday weekendgreat bathroomlizard villagebreakfast roomdays walking
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed three nights at penmenner house the hospitality was excellent , Sheila
arranged transport to & from the B&B ,we were greeted with tea & cake . Then shown to our room ,We stayed in the very comfortable Marconi room with excellent views of the sea & lighthouse . There was a wide range of breakfast ,the full English was second to none . We look forward to our next visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed here for a night while walking the South West Coast Path. The house is just a few hundred yards from the path and has views over the Lizard and the sea. Our host, Sheila, was kindness itself, arranging a taxi for the station the next day and providing tea and cake. My room was the 'Sunset Room' and was comfortable and clean with ensuite. The rooms are decorated in an eclectic mix of bright colours and with a strong eastern theme. Breakfast was a choice of full english or salmon with scrambled eggs - I chose the latter. There is a large sitting room for guests to use and a very friendly cat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Made us feel at home in this lovely big old house. Provided gluten free breakfast (on request). Perfect staging post for South West Coast path walk. Host happy to drive to Helford to pick up ferry in morning for those on the SW coast path walk for a charge (for fuel).

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My partner and stayed at Penmenner House for two nights, and we had such a fantastic experience there. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite, which was just beautiful - incredible views of the sea, the most comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and living room area. We chose to stay there whilst attending a wedding near the lighthouse (a short walk away), and the B&B was the cherry on top of an amazing weekend. Sheila, the owner, was so welcoming and friendly, and went out of her way to make our stay extra special. Since a few of her guests had attended the same wedding, she even served breakfast (which was delicious) later than usual the following morning as she thought we might all need a lie-in! The whole house is gorgeous, and there was real attention to detail in our room - including mineral water, an excellent selection of hot drinks and big fluffy towels (which, along with the bedding, smelt so lovely that I had to ask what she had used to wash them!) We loved our stay here and we can't recommend it highly enough. We'll certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Penmenner House for 2 nights in order to attend a wedding celebration at the nearby lighthouse. After a long day on the road travelling down we were welcomed by a very friendly Sheila with a pot of tea and cake, served in the very comfortable lounge.

We stayed in the Atlantic room with a view out over some fields and on to the coast. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Some may find the en-suite bathroom a little compact, but we had no issues. A range of teas, coffees and hot chocolate were provided in the room, along with a large bottle of mineral water. An extra blanket was in the wardrobe if required. Everything was also spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was delicious and a great start to the day (or to aid recovery the night after the wedding). Fruit salad and cereal was available whilst breakfast was being cooked. Tea and coffee was delivered fresh to the table. For those wanting a lighter option, there is the opportunity to request a lighter start to the day (eg smoked salmon and scrambled eggs) the evening before.

It would be remiss to write any review without highlighting and thanking Sheila for making us feel so welcome in our stay. As well as running a brilliant B&B, she also went out of her way to look after us and be helpful - even offering a late breakfast for us the morning after the wedding in case we felt a little fragile!

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Cornwall whether - make it here, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews