We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
152
4
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
4
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews b and b attention to detail atlantic room fruit salad warm welcome fantastic views cooked breakfast south west coast path walk drawing room wonderful weekend full english short walk to the village bank holiday weekend great bathroom lizard village breakfast room days walking
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I can find no fault with our stay at Penmenner house at all.
We stayed in the Sunset room which was small but impeccably clean and certainly big enough for our needs (not only was it clean, it smelled amazing too). There was a great selection of drinks in the room (black tea, flavoured teas, instant coffee, fresh coffee and hot chocolate) along with a couple of shortbreads when we arrived and a bottle of mineral water!
Sheila was a lovely hostess and couldn't do enough to please - everything from offering us beers one afternoon when we were sitting in the living room playing cards through to customising the breakfast menu according to another guest's picky eating habits, nothing seemed to much to ensure her guests are happy.
The breakfasts were filling and delicious and (as other guests have commented) the big bowl of fresh fruit was particularly good. There was a selection of 4 (I think) cooked breakfasts and a excellent range of cereals, pastries and the fruit bowl were available for all to supplement the hot food.
The house is in a perfect location. For 2 of our days there we barely touched the car (only going places for dinner in the evening) just taking amazing walks around the nearby cliffs and beaches.
The final touch of class was getting our bill on the back of a beautiful post card of the Lizard - attention to detail and going the extra mile seem to be the natural way of things for Sheila and Penmenner House and we can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed at Penmenner House for 4 nights on a short break. We stayed in the Atlantic Room, from where the view out to sea was amazing. You could lay in bed and watch the moon shining on the water at night - blissful!
Sheila is just lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts were fantastic, especially the huge bowl of fresh fruit on offer every morning.
The decor of the whole house is amazing and very quirky and it feels like a home from home. Perfect location for the very short walk into the Lizard Village and for the fantastic walks around the coast.
The only slight negative would be the very small bathroom in the Atlantic Room; however, it is perfectly usable and certainly would not stop me staying there again.

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room has a great view (although bathroom is tiny!)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Penmenner House is a large Victorian House on the southern edge of Lizard village, with generous rooms, overlooking the lighthouse and coast a short distance, maybe 500 metres, away. Sheila is a helpful hostess, serving sumptuous breakfasts, beautifully presented, particularly delicious fruit salads and cooked breakfasts. The house has been decorated with a strong eastern theme and fragrance and has a splendid hall, with original tiles at the entrance (I assume) and a striking stained glass window on the landing. Some may find some of the colour schemes strong, but the house is very clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachhouseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We originally went for 3 days but enjoyed our stay so much we ended up staying 5!From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Sheila.We stayed in the Atlantic Room for 3 days and the Lighthouse Room for the other two, both were excellent with fantastic views.The breakfasts were superb and set you up for the day.It was our first visit to the Lizard and Penmenner house and it certainly wont be the last.I would recommend this b and b to anyone.

Room Tip: The ensuite in the Atlantic was slightly small but more than adequate
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you don't care about wi-fi and debit/credit cards, then this is the place for you! The house is absolutely outstanding! It's clean and tastefully decorated. The lounge is a real gem. We spent two nights in the Atlantic Room and really, the picture on the website doesn't even look like it: the reality is much better. It's nicely decorated, with towels matching the room's theme and two comfy chairs where you can relax drinking a cup of tea and looking at the ocean. Breakfast was very good. In addition to a full English breakfast, Sheila offers you the possibility to choose between salmon and eggs and fruit, a selection of cheese and croissant. When she found out that I'm Coeliac and I needed to eat gluten free, Sheila even bought me some GF muesli. Rates are not the cheapest, but the service is excellent and worth the price.

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room is perfect for a couple.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilla_s_Lalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews