We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
150
4
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
4
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb and battention to detailatlantic roomfruit saladwarm welcomefantastic viewscooked breakfastsouth west coast path walkdrawing roomwonderful weekendfull englishshort walk to the villagebank holiday weekendgreat bathroomlizard villagebreakfast roomdays walking
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Big thanks to Sheila for a wonderful weekend 27-29 Sept. Looked forward to so much for my 50th birthday, my husband could not have chosen a more perfect place. Sheila's beautiful home offered comfort along with friendly, helpful service and great cat:) The food was delicious; I can't praise enough. Now just got to sort out when we can go again. I love The Lizard anyway and our stay at Penmenner just adds to my great memories. Thanks Sheila.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butlerboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a perfect place to stay and great value for money. The room décor was tasteful and the view into the ocean was even better. Surprised that this B&B was dog friendly as it was so clean and tidy. The owner was very welcoming and met our every need. The breakfast was extremely filling due to so much choice, good quality and most importantly delicious. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetOffTheBandwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We haven't even finished our two night stay at Penmenner House yet, but I really feel the need to leave a review. After a week driving around Devon and Cornwall, Penmenner House is by far the best place we've stayed at. Rooms are cosy and clean with spectacular views over Lizard Point and the sea, breakfast is absolutely brilliant and even include gluten free sausages and cereals. Still, the best part is Sheila, the hostess, whose friendly and welcoming manner made us decide to stay for two nights rather than the intended one night.
Johanna & Joe, September 2013

Room Tip: Go for the "Atlantic Room" if available. A double room with spectacular views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeOrJoakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I can find no fault with our stay at Penmenner house at all.
We stayed in the Sunset room which was small but impeccably clean and certainly big enough for our needs (not only was it clean, it smelled amazing too). There was a great selection of drinks in the room (black tea, flavoured teas, instant coffee, fresh coffee and hot chocolate) along with a couple of shortbreads when we arrived and a bottle of mineral water!
Sheila was a lovely hostess and couldn't do enough to please - everything from offering us beers one afternoon when we were sitting in the living room playing cards through to customising the breakfast menu according to another guest's picky eating habits, nothing seemed to much to ensure her guests are happy.
The breakfasts were filling and delicious and (as other guests have commented) the big bowl of fresh fruit was particularly good. There was a selection of 4 (I think) cooked breakfasts and a excellent range of cereals, pastries and the fruit bowl were available for all to supplement the hot food.
The house is in a perfect location. For 2 of our days there we barely touched the car (only going places for dinner in the evening) just taking amazing walks around the nearby cliffs and beaches.
The final touch of class was getting our bill on the back of a beautiful post card of the Lizard - attention to detail and going the extra mile seem to be the natural way of things for Sheila and Penmenner House and we can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyfranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed at Penmenner House for 4 nights on a short break. We stayed in the Atlantic Room, from where the view out to sea was amazing. You could lay in bed and watch the moon shining on the water at night - blissful!
Sheila is just lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts were fantastic, especially the huge bowl of fresh fruit on offer every morning.
The decor of the whole house is amazing and very quirky and it feels like a home from home. Perfect location for the very short walk into the Lizard Village and for the fantastic walks around the coast.
The only slight negative would be the very small bathroom in the Atlantic Room; however, it is perfectly usable and certainly would not stop me staying there again.

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room has a great view (although bathroom is tiny!)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews