We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfick!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic House B & B
Ranked #1 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I feel it is too good to be true if I see a review with no negatives, however in the case of the Atlantic House I have been proved wrong.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon around 1400hrs (a couple of hours early) and were greeted by Philip & Jayne. We were offered a cream tea on arrival and polished this off in the front garden sitting in the sun looking out across the Lizard, this was a lovely touch and great start to our stay.

Philip showed us to our room and explained everything we needed to know regarding the bathroom, television, radio/ipod player etc.

We had emailed, when booking, to see if we could be booked in to local restaurants for the two nights of our stay and Philip had arranged this for us which was again another nice touch.

The Room:

We stayed in the Kynance room which had views across the fields to the rear of the property.

The room was spot on, comfortable, clean, modern, well decorated (I could go on).
The shower room was modern & clean with easy to use controls on the shower which is always a Brucie bonus.

The bed was very comfortable and undoubtedly the best sleep we have ever had on our travels.

Breakfast:

You get the option on an evening to put yourself down for the morning special, we didn’t take advantage of this and both plumped for the full Cornish and weren’t disappointed. The food was great and although we will never be fully comfortable sitting at the same table as other guests it was not an issue.

I could carry on writing nice things but you will begin to think I am a relative of the owners.

Philip and Jayne make us feel very welcome and we will definitely book here again if we are visiting the area. We only wished that we had booked more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillsyGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi WillsyGrimsby

Wow what a great detailed review, very many thanks. We don't think we can add any more, except we will have to make you honorary Cousins!!!
P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
175
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I plus her parents stayed here way back in June. It was one of the most memorable and pleasant places we have ever experienced. The accommodations were top notch and the breakfast was spectacular. Jayne and Phil were so kind. Lizard point should be on everyone's bucket list. And when in Lizard stay at the Atlantic house. There's no place else like it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi Cady s
Thank you for a great review and so pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts! The Lizard and surrounding area's should as you say, be on everyone's bucket list.
Thank you again. P & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apples, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent four nights at the Atlantic house in August and that was great. The view on the sea is uninterrupted and the room so cosy you would forget you aren't actually at home. 5 star-breakfast in order to give you enough energy to hike along the cliffs. Jayne and Phil are the best guests you may hope for....in fact, nobody would write a review on tripadvisor so they could keep the place for themselves! See you soon guys! Fabienne & François

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abfab70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Abfab70
Thank you for a fantastic review. We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the Lizard area. We very much appreciate all our Tripadvisor reviews, but we do have the Lizard more to our selves in the winter!
Thank you F & F and hope we see you again. Best wishes P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We love visiting the Lizard and staying at Atlantic House, which is ideally located near to the sea. This is our second visit, having stayed before in 2011, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Again, the service was fantastic, with an imaginative breakfast menu, supplemented by daily specials. It is the ideal holiday venue, with extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms and amazing views of the sea and surrounding countryside. Each room has its own fridge with daily bottles of water and soft drinks, tea making facilities, wine glasses, corkscrew etc, etc. It goes without saying there is also a TV, DVD and radio provided. Phil and Jayne are very friendly and welcoming hosts, with nothing being too much trouble. Thanks for another lovely holiday - I have no doubt we will be back again in the near future!

Room Tip: The most luxurious room is the Pentreath with its huge bathroom, which is where we stayed on our ini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enaj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Enaj57
It was great to see you both again and we were very pleased everything was still the same as your last stay with us. Thank you for all your kind words and we hope to welcome you both back again.
Best wishes P & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Atlantic House is an amazing place to stay. Nothing is left to chance as everything has been thought about. The rooms are amazing and the choice of breakfasts fantastic you had different specials each day to choose from. Phil and Jayne take care of you from the time you arrive to the time you leave nothing is too much trouble Thank you for making it such a wonderful stay . We will visit again hopefully in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hello DonnaM
Thank you for writing the review and that you liked the rooms and choice of breakfasts, we do try and vary what is available every day, as some guests are with us for over a week. It was our pleasure to have you stay and hope we will see you again. Many thanks P & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Are you looking for a unique, high standard B&B at Cornwalls coast, book this place, we stayed in the PENTREATH room, and the room was delicious and the bathroom was beatuiful. This is a place where you will relax, calming and balsam for your Soul. We could not Get enough of the view from the two chairs by the Windows. Magic! We will never forget the creem tea you served us,and the delicate breakfasts. The Walks and the natur and the coast were Amazing.
We stayed only two nights here, but next time we will make the stay here longer.this was perfect! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetteM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi MetteM
What a wonderful review, thank you. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Pentreath room, the views are quite superb and glad you enjoyed the breakfasts.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes P & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and i returned from a three night stay at Atlantic House last Sunday. This was our third visit in the last three years.
Upon arrival we were met by Jayne and Phil who provided us with a welcome cream tea in our room overlooking open fields and views of the sea and Lizard Point. The standard of the rooms, and fittings is second to none and the service and advise and recommendations provided by Jayne and Phil are welcome and very informative. One of the highlights of the day is the breakfast which i would say is the best that i have had in this country.
Cornwall is one of the most beautiful and interesting places that we have visited in the UK. We hope to visit again, and when we do we will hope to stay at Atlantic House. A wonderful place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: If available choose one of the two larger rooms with wonderful views overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hello D&M

Thank you for yet another great review and as always, it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. The weather was perfect and the views from the Pentreath & Caerthillian rooms are fantastic.
It would be great to see you both again.
Best wishes Phil & Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.6 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
9.3 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in The Lizard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House B & B

Property: Atlantic House B & B
Address: Atlantic House Pentreath Lane, The Lizard TR12 7NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This idyllic, luxurious bed and breakfast aspires to a five star level of comfort and service. For discerning travellers seeking tranquility, quality and a fine time. Situated in an area of outstanding beauty amidst National Trust land with stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. This is near the South West coastal path and very near village amenities with good places to wine and dine. Special offers are often available in the outer seasons. All rooms have the same level of luxury with comfortable pocket sprung beds and superb bed linen, towels and toiletries. For arrivals between 4 to 5pm we serve a complimentary Cornish cream tea or a slice of homemade cake. We are particularly known for our wonderful, freshly cooked breakfasts with home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic House B & B The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing