We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A world apart”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic House B & B
Ranked #1 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Davids, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A world apart”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This obscure house on a country road at the periphery of a tiny village provides lovely rooms, helpful and friendly hosts, and views that could not be found elsewhere at many times the price. Across the road, horses and ponies graze in a pasture, while gazing out of the bay windows reveals the sea roiling at the bottom of a high, rocky cliff; and, If the day is foggy, the reduced view is supplemented by the plaintive cries of a soulful foghorn emanating from the lighthouse lying just beyond the pasture, stirring the poet's soul that sleeps within our hearts. There's a warm and friendly pub about a ten minute walk down the road (torches supplied).

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank noah203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi noah203
Many thanks for such lovely comments and that you loved the views across the fields to the sea. The ponies have now been joined by 2 very handsome horses and it is great fun to see them interact.

Many thanks P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
180
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from a wonderful 3 night stay. Philip and Jayne greeted us and showed us to our beautiful room (pentreath) with fabulous views. Everything you could possibly wish for was supplied, great bathroom products, tea, coffee and so much more, and still managing to feel warm and homely. At breakfast, which was out of this world, Phil was able to provide us with his wealth of local knowledge as we planed our days ahead. If 6 stars could be awarded, atlantic house would be the first to acheive it. We would recommend it for any occasion. Thanks so much Jayne and Philip, you should be very proud of your fabulous guest house.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Hi Joanne W
Thank you for a fabulous review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the Pentreath room and our breakfasts and that you still felt it had a homely feel and you would recommend us. We have been very fortunate again this year,to have had such lovely guests come and stay and hope we will see you again next year.
Thank you again.
Best wishes P & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Atlantic House is in an ideal location for anyone wanting to walk the many coastal footpaths around the Lizard Point. Jayne and Phil are excellent hosts, the rooms are comfortable and clean with all the little luxuries you could wish for. Thank you for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi Tiggaroo
Your right, step out side the front gate and turn left or right and there are great walks around the Lizard. We are also delighted you had a great holiday with us.
Many thanks. P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I cannot imagine a more welcoming comfortable B&B in all of Cornwall. Thanks to Jayne and Phil, the Atlantic House is the perfect place to stay while there. We just returned from spending 4 nights in the Caerthillian room. When the fog is not an issue, the views from this room are of the sea and cute crazing ponies. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi Tracey F
You both came along way to stay and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.It would be great to see you again.
Many thanks.
P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I plus her parents stayed here way back in June. It was one of the most memorable and pleasant places we have ever experienced. The accommodations were top notch and the breakfast was spectacular. Jayne and Phil were so kind. Lizard point should be on everyone's bucket list. And when in Lizard stay at the Atlantic house. There's no place else like it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi Cady s
Thank you for a great review and so pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts! The Lizard and surrounding area's should as you say, be on everyone's bucket list.
Thank you again. P & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apples, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent four nights at the Atlantic house in August and that was great. The view on the sea is uninterrupted and the room so cosy you would forget you aren't actually at home. 5 star-breakfast in order to give you enough energy to hike along the cliffs. Jayne and Phil are the best guests you may hope for....in fact, nobody would write a review on tripadvisor so they could keep the place for themselves! See you soon guys! Fabienne & François

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abfab70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Abfab70
Thank you for a fantastic review. We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the Lizard area. We very much appreciate all our Tripadvisor reviews, but we do have the Lizard more to our selves in the winter!
Thank you F & F and hope we see you again. Best wishes P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We love visiting the Lizard and staying at Atlantic House, which is ideally located near to the sea. This is our second visit, having stayed before in 2011, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Again, the service was fantastic, with an imaginative breakfast menu, supplemented by daily specials. It is the ideal holiday venue, with extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms and amazing views of the sea and surrounding countryside. Each room has its own fridge with daily bottles of water and soft drinks, tea making facilities, wine glasses, corkscrew etc, etc. It goes without saying there is also a TV, DVD and radio provided. Phil and Jayne are very friendly and welcoming hosts, with nothing being too much trouble. Thanks for another lovely holiday - I have no doubt we will be back again in the near future!

Room Tip: The most luxurious room is the Pentreath with its huge bathroom, which is where we stayed on our ini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enaj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Enaj57
It was great to see you both again and we were very pleased everything was still the same as your last stay with us. Thank you for all your kind words and we hope to welcome you both back again.
Best wishes P & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.6 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
545 reviews
4.2 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
207 reviews
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in The Lizard
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House B & B

Property: Atlantic House B & B
Address: Atlantic House Pentreath Lane, The Lizard TR12 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This idyllic, luxurious bed and breakfast aspires to a five star level of comfort and service. For discerning travellers seeking tranquility, quality and a fine time. Situated in an area of outstanding beauty amidst National Trust land with stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. This is near the South West coastal path and very near village amenities with good places to wine and dine. Special offers are often available in the outer seasons. All rooms have the same level of luxury with comfortable pocket sprung beds and superb bed linen, towels and toiletries. For arrivals between 4 to 5pm we serve a complimentary Cornish cream tea or a slice of homemade cake. We are particularly known for our wonderful, freshly cooked breakfasts with home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic House B & B The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing