We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Lizard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic House B & B
Ranked #1 of 12 The Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose the Atlantic House due to the glowing reviews here and were not disappolnted. From the warm welcome on arrival by Phil and Jayne to leaving after 5 wonderful nights, we couldn't have wished for a more relaxing stay. We stayed in the Caerthillion room, which was immaculate, had stunning sea views, along with a massive range of teas and coffee's, wine glasses and corkscrew (just in case!!).
The breakfasts were superb and nothing too much trouble, especially from our point of view, their knowledge of the local area and places to visit.
All in all we didn't want to come home. Thank you Jayne snd Phil for everything. Hopefully, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonniebigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi jonniebigdog
Thank you for taking the time to post this great review of Atlantic House and we are really pleased you had a great time with us and at the Lizard. The Caerthillian room is a very large room, with wonderful sea views and we very much appreciate your comments, thank you.

Looking forward to seeing you next year.

Best wishes Phil & Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
173
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Atlantic House and are already missing it !

What a truly special place. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the two front rooms have the most stunning sea views. We had to change rooms for our last night as our room had already been pre-booked. We knew this when we booked and as it was for one night it wasn't a problem. The Kynance room, although much much smaller with no sea view, was just as comfy and clean so it's perfect if you are on a slightly tighter budget.

Yes, you eat breakfast on a table with the other guests which I know some people are not sure about but we met a lovely couple and enjoyed chatting with them at breakfast in the morning and, as they were relatively local, they gave us some great tips about other places to visit in Cornwall for the future which was great. On our last morning we were then able to share what walks we had done with the new arrivals and give them some directions etc which they appreciated too.

What makes this B&B so special however are Phil and Jayne who run it. They are one of the loveliest couples we have ever met. Phil was always so cheery and always smiling and Jayne makes THE best breakfast we've ever had!! They both work very hard and it shows - they have created a very special place which is just like a home away from home. I even shed a tear saying goodbye!!!

If you are thinking about staying in The Lizard don't think to stay anywhere else but Atlantic House - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rsm10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi rsm10021
Hi R &S, thank you for your lovely review and you know it means a very great deal to us both. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your room hopping! It was great fun for us as well, having you stay. looking forward to seeing you both again.
Best wishes Phil & Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just spent three days at Atlantic House. Faultless service, outstanding breakfasts and a really lovely location with fantastic views from our room. Jayne and Phil are very warm and welcoming, so much so that we didn't feel we were staying in a commercial establishment, more as informal house guests. Among the countless extra touches, we enjoyed the fresh flowers everywhere, the very well equipped and spotless en-suite bedroom - oh, and the cream tea on arrival! A perfect start to a very comfortable and relaxing break.

Room Tip: The Pentreath room is spacious, light and airy, and may well have the best sea views. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogandTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi RogandTrish.

Thank you for a great review and pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts and the Pentreath room. we try to make it a home from home and we are delighted it felt like it.
Hope to see you both again in the future.
Best wishes P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

we stayed in pentreath for 3 nights in march as a belated wedding anniversary trip we had a fab time hosts Jayne and Philip were great wonderful views of sea and pony fields, lovely cream tea on arrival, great breakfasts have recommended to several people.
All the best for the future Jayne and Philip. mick and janet d.

Room Tip: go for sea view rooms at front of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotteDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi charlotteDevon

Thank you for your kind words and very pleased you enjoyed your time at the Lizard and at Atlantic House. The Pentreath and Caerthillian rooms do have stunning sea views and glad you liked them.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Many thanks P& J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Davids, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This obscure house on a country road at the periphery of a tiny village provides lovely rooms, helpful and friendly hosts, and views that could not be found elsewhere at many times the price. Across the road, horses and ponies graze in a pasture, while gazing out of the bay windows reveals the sea roiling at the bottom of a high, rocky cliff; and, If the day is foggy, the reduced view is supplemented by the plaintive cries of a soulful foghorn emanating from the lighthouse lying just beyond the pasture, stirring the poet's soul that sleeps within our hearts. There's a warm and friendly pub about a ten minute walk down the road (torches supplied).

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank noah203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi noah203
Many thanks for such lovely comments and that you loved the views across the fields to the sea. The ponies have now been joined by 2 very handsome horses and it is great fun to see them interact.

Many thanks P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from a wonderful 3 night stay. Philip and Jayne greeted us and showed us to our beautiful room (pentreath) with fabulous views. Everything you could possibly wish for was supplied, great bathroom products, tea, coffee and so much more, and still managing to feel warm and homely. At breakfast, which was out of this world, Phil was able to provide us with his wealth of local knowledge as we planed our days ahead. If 6 stars could be awarded, atlantic house would be the first to acheive it. We would recommend it for any occasion. Thanks so much Jayne and Philip, you should be very proud of your fabulous guest house.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Hi Joanne W
Thank you for a fabulous review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the Pentreath room and our breakfasts and that you still felt it had a homely feel and you would recommend us. We have been very fortunate again this year,to have had such lovely guests come and stay and hope we will see you again next year.
Thank you again.
Best wishes P & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Atlantic House is in an ideal location for anyone wanting to walk the many coastal footpaths around the Lizard Point. Jayne and Phil are excellent hosts, the rooms are comfortable and clean with all the little luxuries you could wish for. Thank you for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLJEH, Owner at Atlantic House B & B, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hi Tiggaroo
Your right, step out side the front gate and turn left or right and there are great walks around the Lizard. We are also delighted you had a great holiday with us.
Many thanks. P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.6 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
9.3 mi away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Top House
The Top House
#3 of 12 in The Lizard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House B & B

Property: Atlantic House B & B
Address: Atlantic House Pentreath Lane, The Lizard TR12 7NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in The Lizard
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This idyllic, luxurious bed and breakfast aspires to a five star level of comfort and service. For discerning travellers seeking tranquility, quality and a fine time. Situated in an area of outstanding beauty amidst National Trust land with stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. This is near the South West coastal path and very near village amenities with good places to wine and dine. Special offers are often available in the outer seasons. All rooms have the same level of luxury with comfortable pocket sprung beds and superb bed linen, towels and toiletries. For arrivals between 4 to 5pm we serve a complimentary Cornish cream tea or a slice of homemade cake. We are particularly known for our wonderful, freshly cooked breakfasts with home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic House B & B The Lizard, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing